We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch on the porch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lunch on the porch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Visiting long time friends in Ft. Lauderdale last weekend and my host suggested lunch at the Ritz Carlton. "I often go to the beach on Saturday's and come across the street here to relax, watch people and enjoy lunch." Parking was a challenge and after circling for awhile, we pulled into the portico and were delighted to use the valet parking for hotel guests, we thought $7 was a great deal and much easier than the hassle of trolling for an empty parking space. My companion enjoyed the lobster sandwich and i greatly enjoyed the chicken, provolone and bacon on brioche. Instead fries, a lovely fruit dish with blackberries, blueberries, melon, and pineapple was offered and I ate every bit. We sat and visited with each other, enjoying lunch, and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    176
    55
    32
    13
See reviews for
171
342
31
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is one of the nicest hotels in Fort Lauderdale, but compared to the 9 other Ritz Carlton properties I've stayed at, this one ranks last. For the money you're spending here, it just ought to be better than it is.

The biggest issue is noise - the walls between rooms and to the hallway are paper thin. If the people next door are just talking at a normal volume, you can hear it like they're in your room. Never mind if there is a crying baby (one night) or a loud talker (a different night) next door. Our bed also had the feeling of being old - body-sized impressions well worn in. Air conditioning was also hard to get right... it was rather humid in our room even when it didn't seem humid outside.

We loved the pool area, and the service there was great, but one day it closed at 4pm for a private event with no warning which we didn't appreciate. The beach service is also really nice, though the sun sets behind the hotel so after 3:30ish you're in the shade.

We paid for club access for one day and the service there was INCREDIBLE. It's pricey, but if you take advantage of the breakfast and the drinks it's well worth it.

CVS next door is very handy - has to be one of the biggest I've ever seen and they even have some reasonably-priced wine which you can get to drink on your balcony.

Front desk staff was accommodating, if not quite as friendly as I've experienced elsewhere.

The gym is fine, but nothing great. If you're a runner the sidewalk along the beach is the better way to go, and about a mile north there's a great park with a 2-mile loop that we LOVED.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana L, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear RunningRog,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent visit on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed the first class service provided by our staff on the Club Level. At the same time, we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please know that we have completed a full replacement of all matresses and are currently underway with a project that will improve noise disruption to be completed by October 2014. We would be most grateful for the opportunity to personally speak to you about this experience. Please contact the Executive Office at (954) 465-2300, at your convenience, should you wish to further discuss.

Warm Regards,


Greg Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We had breakfast there on Monday morning on the veranda. We both worked for the ritz Carlton before and we thought everything was top notch. The food, the view, the service!! It was superb. There were four of us plus our 2 year old daughter. It was heaven. Gerson, our waiter, was superb!! He was friendly, personable, and, of course, greeted us by our family name. Thank you Gerson for giving us an amazing memory! We had a wonderful time! Thank you!!!

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a well maintained, upscale hotel (probably best in town) with top notch service from desk staff. Negatives - Housekeeping was inconsistent with turn down inexplicably missed on a few nights - no coffeemaker in room or complimentary coffee in lobby - oceanfront rooms are over outdoor pool with loud bass/music that is extremely bothersome in afternoon and early evening. Can not recommend and will not return until issues are addressed (particularly disturbing pool music).

Room Tip: While oceanfront is beautiful, those room are over noisy pool area and ruin ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Escape to The Miami/FLL area every third week during the winter months. My third stay at The Ritz Fort Lauderdale. The pro's - easy access/15 minutes to and from FLL airport, laid back alternative to the hustle and bustle of South Beach, modern, beautifully appointed large rooms/suites, solid spa. The con's - grossly understaffed for a supposed 5 star, had to call numerous times to get anything done. No turn down, late room cleaning, 45 minute wait for ice, extentions not picking up, etc., No direct beach access, you have to cross the street, no true fine dining in the area. Not at all a value for the money. Acqualina a far better choice.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. Request floor 7 which has direct access to the pool. Spa is also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christine c, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Good Day Ms. Elizabeth,

Thank you for sharing your review of our property. Feedback is extremaly important to us and I appreciate all the wonderful comments and also the cons. We learn by guest experience and I appreciate your comments, please feel free to contact me directly at 954-2465-2300 , at your convenience, should you wish to discuss your stay further.
Thank you.

Greg Cook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale, FL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous views, lovely amenities, considerate and gracious staff. The rooms are spacious with attention to detail. A fabulous place for a romantic getaway, or to hold a memorable event. In addition, you are steps from the beach and a host of restaurants, nightlife, shops, etc.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I took this mini vacation to get relax, and thats exactly what we did. Our intentions were to get sun, eat and drink and just veg. out. Staying at this hotel reminded me of why we work hard all week, yes you get what you pay for and it is so worth it. Our room was very clean, spacious and a view to die for, we had a room on the 12th floor. Bathroom is just too much..lol. Wow! We purchased the club pass because we knew we were not going anywhere and it was soooo worth it. Open bar all day they will make you any drink you want, you may bring it to the pool or have them order you another at the pool so it is ready for you when you get there. Yes by the end I was having a grand old time. Breakfast, snacks, lunch, and light dinner apps coffee or dessert in the evening are all yours all day just take a break from the sun and go to the club..its that simple. Its 125 per person per day. We purchased one day it totally saved us a bunch. ;) think about it. I woke up early every day and reserved my chairs a the pool. Tip: The chairs closest to the beach are the ones that have sun from 8 am -4 especially the ones at the end closer to the elevators. All the staff members were extremely sociable and wanted to please no matter what. Our club attendent Stephanie is sweet and welcoming, Scott at poolside was so nice and easy to talk to. The pool attendents work hard, I watched them the three days we were there and they literally don't stop working all day. Ebony if you are lucky enough to have her check you in is such a sweet staff member and aims to please. So yes it is a little expensive but thats what makes a great vacation! I was very pleased with everything. I will stay again if in the Ft. Lauderdale area.

Room Tip: I choose the 12th floor past the palm trees so the view is clear, I would request a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.