We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Ritz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Typical Ritz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Ritz Carlton has a great location across the street from the beach. You can go to the lobby and cross at the cross walk or take the walk way from the pool level and take the elevator down. The pool overlooks the ocean so you can lay out by the pool and see the sand and surf without getting sandy. Pool had free water and even suntan lotion - nice touch. Rooms are great and I think they all have a balcony. There are many pubs, restaurants and shops within walking distance.

My biggest complaint is that the hotel does not have free coffee or a coffee maker in the rooms. It is a little thing, but I expect coffee from my hotels. There is also a charge for the internet.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    160
    51
    30
    13
See reviews for
156
317
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived at 6pm and brought to our upgraded room with beach view by the elevator.. Ding,ding, ding, is not what I want to hear for 4 days. We asked our bellman (who was very good) if we could have another room with beach view. We got a partial view, ( if you lean over the balcony you could see the ocean)..No problem except it was filthy, FILTHY, DIRTY..The carpet had black stains on it. You certainly would not go bare foot. The chase lounge had Huge stains on it,(Looked like pee) you would not want to sit on it. We called down to have it taken out of our room or replaced. We waited for an hour, NO ONE came. We called several times nothing!! My husband finally asked for a manager. She came up and concurred the room should not be occupied. Thanks to her we were moved to another room with a full ocean view. In all the years we have traveled we have NEVER moved 3 times.. This hotel needs major renovations. If your looking for a five star hotel look somewhere else. This is not it.. GO TO THE BREAKERS.. But if you are in Toronto, Canada stay at the Ritz it's 5 star.. PS the beds here are like sleeping on a rock. I think I bruised my hip...

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel on more than a few occasions. We love the location just off the beach and close to the slips of the marina. The service staff understands quality and while the hotel could use an infusion of cash to update soft goods and furnishings, we are always glad we chose to stay with this trusted hotel property. When selecting accommodations, both the ocean front and the intracoastal rooms offer excellent views.

Room Tip: Both the ocean front and the intracoastal rooms offer excellent views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Our stay was on Jan. 3rd for 1 night. We chose the Ritz Carlton because it was my 40th birthday and was leaving on a cruise the next day. Good points:The valet, front desk and bell staff were wonderful. I left my phone in the car and the valet staff retrieved my phone and brought it to my room without hesitation. I was not expecting that whatsoever. We had an oceanview room. The view of the ocean and inter-coastal was lovely. Not so good points: The room decor was dated. The carpet was worn and dirty. Balcony chairs and table were faded and worn. Chair had a stain. The shower had a cheap shower head with basic settings. There were no handle bars in the shower. I can see getting in and out of the shower could be difficult with someone with knee or back problems. Since we were only staying one night, these were not deal breakers. Worse part: The walls are TOO THIN. You actually can hear your neighbors conversations(normal volume) in their room and bathroom.I am pretty sure they can hear ours. Since it was a Friday night, we were between rooms with people coming in late at night. It was so bad that you can hear your neighbor snoring. Unfortunately, we didn't get a good nights sleep. I been in better rooms in low costing brands. I had high hopes and was excited to stay at the Ritz for my first time. I was truly disappointed. I am sorry but I will not come back nor recommend this property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

There was no rain on our parade this visit to Ft. Lauderdale. Despite high winds and rain our stay at the Ritz was amazing. The room had an beautiful view of the ocean just over the pool. It was as super cozy and quiet and was conducive to sleeping in late. The staff in the Concierge Lounge were gracious hosts and breakfast everyday offered a great variety of delicious options for any finicky traveler. After one quick trip to the beach we made a mad dash back to the pool bar to dodge the rain. There we were able to sip on some of the best rum drinks I've had outside of Jamaica and check out the great view of a full rainbow over the ocean. Honestly, it was really difficult to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Merion, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

When I dropped my apple near the front desk and someone grabbed it before I could even get to it... When I asked for some extra shampoo and was provided extra shampoo every day without asking for it... When they saw that I was a regular customer and upgraded my room... I could go on and on. The experience of staying at the Ritz Carlton, in my opinion, justifies the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannover
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We chose to stay in Ritz Carlton before to come back to Europe. The location is perfect if you are taking a cruise. Just minutes away from Port Everglades. There is a wine cellar with a complete national and international wine list. The only blemish is the little room in the pool area for so many people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.