We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned and still a great hotel on the beach!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Returned and still a great hotel on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came back for business for 10 days. Still a great hotel. Stayed in two bedroom President suite. ROOM 1501. Nice suite with fully stocked kitchen. The bar and restaurant is very good and the front deck is lovely to eat and drink on overlooking the ocean. I like that a CVS is next door and lots of restaurants and shops. All the staff is very friendly and helpful and valet has your car ready as soon as you walk out. The girls that work in lounge are really nice and and seem to enjoy their jobs. The pool is nice and so are the people who work there. They come around and give free ice cream bars and etc...The only thing I did not like is they charged for internet service a day for every computer you have! At $1300 a night I thought this was very nit-picky. Spent $15,000 at this hotel and thought it was cheesy. IT should be free with this kind of suite! Also, housekeeping was very good and they were very prompt. The beds were not to my liking but, as soon as I told them they came up and placed a fluffy comforter underneath.

Room Tip: 1501 is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    449
    158
    51
    30
    13
See reviews for
148
309
30
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I recently I stayed here to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Philadelphia several times, but this was our first time to Ft. Lauderdale, and the famed "Ritz Carlton service" did not disappoint. NOTE: The hotel is beautiful and like an oasis in a not-so-nice area in Ft. Lauderdale. Beware that there is a party crowd at the bars along the avenue next door and the area right there around the hotel is not the most upscale (reminded me of a mix between the Atlantic City boardwalk and the Vegas Strip...). However, the hotel itself was amazing! We had a plate of delicious chocolate covered strawberries along with chilled champage (for our anniversary) waiting for us upon our arrival in our impeccably appointed suite. The little details really make a difference! Make sure to get an ocean view room - we were in an 11th floor suite with an unbelievable view of the Atlantic. It was worth every penny! The pool is great and the bartenders at the pool bar are so nice and friendly (we loved funny French-Canadian Richard)! Service at the pool is wonderful from the moment you arrive. Pool was not too crowded and was generally pretty quiet, which was just what we needed for relaxing! We were impressed by the delicious food on the pool bar menu - we had lunch there every day! And definitely check out the gorgeous lobby bar with the beautiful ocean painting as the bar backdrop. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very beautiful hotel, with white and clear lines throughout. Excellent service from helpful staff on the phone, restaurant, concierge and front desk. Lovely comfortable bed and beautifully fitted bedrooms and bathrooms - spacious and clean Good food. Nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are beautiful. However, walls between bedrooms are paper thin so it can be 'noisy' at night!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean or side view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Although the hotel was nice it wasn't as nice as other Ritz hotels. Beach across the street is a public beach with no restrooms. The area surrounding this Ritz is not nice, very spring break like atmosphere even though it wasn't spring break when our family went. I would have preferred the beach in front of the Bahia Mar since the highschool and college kids were not on that beach like they were around the Ritz. The CVS next door along with the Hooters and various bars giving out free drink tickets was causing the crowd that was there. The staff at this hotel were certainly good and the service in the hotel was very good and pleasant but I would never return to this Ritz and honestly do not understand why they put this hotel where they did. Cops had to be called for various fights going on because of drunk kids and the beach itself although they did have their own umbrellas for the Ritz didn't stop the public from being there and the sand was dirty with cigarette butts, garbage overflowing and no restroom. Tennis was also not on site, keep in mind this is a Ritz hotel not a Ritz resort. Grand Cayman has the best Ritz we have stayed at and no comparison to this area or hotel.

Room Tip: ocean view had no privacy divider between balconies, intracoastal was more private would not bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is our very first visit to the Ritz here in Fort Lauderdale; we are frequent guests of the Ritz in Cancun and Orlando. This Ritz did not disappoint and here is why:

1. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room with a balcony that is absolutely breathtaking and gorgeous! The room is large and beautifully furnished with a double sink marbled washroom, separate shower enclosure and separate toilet room. The room has a safe, slippers, robes, and a fridge where you are able to take out their mini bar items and put in your own bottles/things without needing to worry about sensors.
Our 2 double beds are very comfortable, not too soft at all which I like. I love the fact that the telephone beside the beds controls the air conditioning, the lights, the do not disturb sign--all very high tech!

2. The lobby is absolutely beautiful and airy with plates of complimentary fruit and soft drinks with ice.

3. Everyone at the hotel is friendly and helpful as I am sure their motto is, "We are here to please"
Pool attendant is right on the spot; the minute you walk on deck, Marc, was ready to help set up chairs and towels without needing us to lift one finger. Thank you so much Marc for being so attentive!

4. The beach is right there from the hotel, you take a special elevator with your room key and it will bring you right to the beach. The attendant, Reuben, will also set you up with complimentary loungers, towels, umbrella, as well as bottled water.

5. It was my son's 19th birthday and they were all very congratulatory and even sent us a bouquet of helium balloons, a bottle of Martinelli, champagne flutes, and a chocolate ganache birthday cake! How considerate and Ritz is that!!!!!

6. During our stay, the power went out for about an hour in the evening and the hotel is so generous that it treated all its guests to a breakfast buffet the next morning at the Via Luna Restaurant. Now, how generous is that?????!!!!!

7. The fitness room is extensive, huge, and clean. It is indeed a pleasure to be working out at this gym with so many stations. It is not one of those small dinky little fitness rooms. It also has a view of the intracoastal.

This Ritz property is classy and generous in all ways. They truly value their guests 200% and make you genuinely feel valued and special. We have stayed at many top notch properties like the Four Seasons, the Grand Del Mar, Peninsula, St. Regis, Fairmont, and this particular Ritz has service that exceeds many guests expectations.

Thank you, thank you, thank you everyone for making our stay a very memorable and special one and I know we will return "home" here to the Ritz Fort Lauderdale on our next visit!

Room Tip: Oceanfront above 10th floor as some rooms on the 10th floor are blocked by tall palm trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for four nights at the start of our honeymoon. The service truly was first class as everyone went out of their way to make us feel very special. For example, the hotel even surprised us with a free bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries to commemorate the occasion. Jeffrey at the front desk was AWESOME to get to know. After a little mix up, he treated us to dinner the first night for our honeymoon!! Without question, Via Luna - the hotel's restaurant - was the best dinner we had our entire trip - be sure to ask for Anthony. My wife loved the snapper and I had a killer lamb chop. We also ate a fabulous breakfast there every morning - ask for Gerson. As for amenities, the pool and gym were hard to beat. The Atlantic Ocean is right across the street. It is expensive - but we whole heartedly believe it was worth every penny! We plan to come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We just returned from a 5 day stay at the Ritz! It was wonderful! My husband and I took our 3 kids 24,17 and 13. Everyone at the hotel went out of their way to make us comfortable. We had a 3 bedroom ocean front suite. The room was truly amazing. The staff at the hotel was remarkable. My daughter and I both enjoyed pedicures at the spa. We enjoyed sitting outside at the bar in the evenings. Great in room dining! We will definately be back soon!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front is amazing! Nothing like waking up in the morning to the beautiful ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The area's newest luxury hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city’s first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940’s, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, “King Neptune and His Horses.” The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Café with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.