We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just About Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Just About Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Can't say enough positive things about this wonderful resort hotel. Our accommodations were beautiful, the outdoor breakfasts delicious, and the staff wonderful. Two of the doormen/valets (I wish I knew their names!) even helped us with the tricky convertible top of our rental car, all the while displaying patience and a great sense of humor.

I can't thing of another hotel where I'd rather stay in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    462
    160
    51
    30
    13
See reviews for
156
317
30
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was there with a friend who had won the room on some competition for 3 days. I cannot testify about the price or something, however everything else was amazing. We had a room with an ocean view, and a view of the pool/jacuzzi area. It was amazing. Even though the pool is closed in the late night hours, we managed to get in, and enjoyed a midnight hot tub and pool swim since it is always hot in Florida. It was like a dream. Thank you

Room Tip: Ocean view above the pool level floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Here for a company meeting. All I an say is solid! Service from the beginning was fantastic. Ms Cisneros checked me in and went above and beyond to set me up, let me know where my meetings were, walked me to the elevator, pointed out where to get coffee, etc. the room, ocean view on the 8th floor was huge. Bed, very comfortable. The mini bar is impressive. All in all A+. I will be letting my company know that we need to make this hotel and location a regular event.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avalon1025
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My 5th stay at this very nice hotel, pre-cruise for one night. Service, room and overall whole hotel was as lovely as always. Definately my preferred hotel in Ft Lauderdale. Great hotel bar as well as restaurant. See you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale from April 4th to 7th, hoping to enjoy a fine hotel a few days before joining our western caribe cruise. Arriving at the hotel just before 10PM we were astonished that there was no one manning the front entrance, no bell staff or doorman. Later during our stay we did see that they had doorman on duty, however when we arrived... no one there. Hauling our heavy luggage up the steps by ourselves, we entered the lobby... as there were only steps... we had to literally "haul" our luggage to get up the 4 stairs, there were staff in the lobby, staring at us... however no one offered to help or even approached us. Not a big deal... however, in a 5 star Ritz Carlton where I am paying $550/night... I have expectations that my wife and I won't be personally handling our baggage to our room. Upon arriving at the front desk we were well greeted and our reservation quickly processed... keys in hand the front desk lady came out from behind the desk (where she couldn't have helped but see our huge bags) and she pointed at the distant elevator... again... no helped offered. In fairness we did not ask either... at this point we knew the hotel we were staying at was called a "Ritz" but it certainly did not seem to be one. Example; we stayed a the Ritz Carlton in SanFrancisco... when we arrived our bags were handled with literal "white gloved service"... warm towels greeted us there and you truly felt like being at a Ritz... not here though. The hotel, lounge, pool and restaurants were all okay... good service... okay food etc... however again nothing that stands out. Decor was dated, tired looking. The room was okay, nothing fantastic, just an okay room, the carpet and some of the cloth furniture had visible stains... but again, not terrible... but not great either. We splurged for a beach front deluxe room... and when we opened the balcony door we were greeted by two things 1) a great view... probably one of the best 2) jet-engine level noise coming from the air-conditioner several floors below coming from the Ritz Lounge. At first... we thought we tripped some sort of fan or something... the noise was startling! I have an app on my phone that measures decibles and it was over 100DB.... 24 hours a day... when you closed the balcony you couldn't hear it... but the sound was such that... well... we didn't enjoy the view from the balcony at all. This isn't a bad hotel.... however it is just bland... like any other regular chain... it shouldn't be called a Ritz and considering what we paid... we probably should've stayed somewhere else. Best way to sum this one up is "meh"...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West River, MD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We moved to the Ritz after two nights in another hotel. Long story, not satisfied at the other place, especially when they closed off beach access. Just let me say the room was beautiful. Nicely decorated, large balcony, very large bathroom with sunken tub and separate tiled shower. The service was impecable. They remembered our names and treated us very well.

The beach and pool service was wonderful. Staff would set up your chairs and towels and bring you water upon request. The beds were so comfortbale. My husband and I both have back issues and we never were in pain the morning which is uncommon when staying in a hotel. We never ate at the hotel, but the food I did view looked very good. We had an intercoastal view room and the view was gorgeous, especially at night. With an ocean front the view is gone as soon as the sun goes down.

The fitness facilty was also very nice, We used it daily. I would return to this hotel again and would be willing to pay the extra money to stay in other Ritz Carlton's if the rooms and service are just as nice as in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodbury,CT
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a short, relaxing stay at this beautiful hotel. The room is gorgeous and the view was beautiful from our balcony. Only problem was the height of the bathtub for shower was too high for a 5' person, needed a step, otherwise the room was perfect. The pool was lovely as was the service and food poolside. We really enjoyed the ease of getting to the beach via the street bridge. We were there during spring break and there was a lot of "chugchug" yelling from the bar next door but Ft. Lauderdale has gotten their act together and the noise stopped by 9:00PM. We also ate in the dining room in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and the experience and food was very good. My husband really enjoyed an excellent massage at the spa but felt the facilities were a little lacking,no steam room, hot tub outside and not working. Very nice and close to airport! We arrived at midnight an accomadating desk staff and valet, Robert, even at that hour!

Room Tip: Higher floor with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.