We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Expected More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am a Ritz Carlton fan. However, I was less than impressed with the Ritz in Fort Lauderdale. The quality of serivce you come to expect at all Ritz properties was inconsistent. It began with a less than enthusiastic bellman as we arrived. We traveled with another couple and we arrived at different times yet when we discussed our arrival we both had the same experience with the same bellman. My check-in however, was very pleasant. We paid for an ocean front/view room and requested a high floor, which we recieved. When we got into the room I sat on the bed only to find out that the duvet and insert was wet, not damp, but wet. My husband called the front desk and they informed him someone would be up immediately. After unpacking and waiting 30 minutes, I called the front desk again and was told a manager was on her way. The manager arrived five minuted later with a duvet cover in hand. When we further inspected the duvet she realized it was completely wet and needed to be replaced. Fifteen minutes later someone else showed up to change the bedding. I had also requested slippers from the manager and was told they only provide them if the guest ask. What and why! This is the Ritz and it's a guest expectation that the room have robes and slippers. Did I say I was paying $600 per night. Our view was great however, the furniture showed visible signs of wear and tear i.e. scarring on the furniture. Additionally, the bathroom only had one sink and it was small. There was a separate water closet however, the shower and tub were not separate. To access the shower was extremely ackward. To reach and turn the shower on you got wet in the process because of the design. Additionally, the little knob to pull the shower on was completely rusted. I shared with the hotel before we arrived that we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday. After dinner when we arrived in the room it had been turned down and waiting for us was a bottle of champagne and chocolate cake. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in! The next morning we went to the Via Luna restaurant for breakfast and unfortunately, the inconsistent service continued. The restaurant was not crowded however, we waited 10 minutes after being seated before we were offered coffee. Additionally, I had to get up and share this frustration with the hostess before we even recieved the coffee. After another 15 minute wait they delivered a plate of fruit and yogurt as an apology for the long wait. Our total time in the restaurant for breakfast was an hour and twenty minutes. The coffee and food once it arrived was great. The evening concierge was very friendly and helpful in suggesting restaurants and making reservations. Two times we called ahead for our car that was valet parked (as recommended by the bell staff) and both times had to wait considering we called ahead and there were no other guests waiting.The attendants at the beach were very helpful with lounge chairs, towels and water. Wish there was bar service at the beach. We did witness non Ritz guest paying the attendants in cash for lounge chairs. I don't know if this is the policy. What if paying Ritz guests wanted seats yet there weren't any because they were given to non Ritz guests. This seemed like they were taking bribes for seats. Our breakfast service on the second and third days were exceptional. Very prompt and friendly and exactly what one expects from the Ritz staff. Water was offered each time we retrieved our car. Overall, this was not a bad experience, just not as special as I had wished and have come to expect and experience at the Ritz chain. I don't know if I will stay at this property if I travel back to Fort Lauderdale. The price just didn't match the overall experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    210
    65
    35
    17
See reviews for
205
391
36
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I recently enjoyed a 4 night stay at the Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton for a business trip. The accommodations were exquisite and the staff was friendly and accommodating. The location was perfect to restaurants and transportation. The bar was a perfect hang out for a few friends or a large crowd. The wait staff was excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, AL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staff and management at this hotel understand the meaning of quality and service. From the valet team, desk staff, bar tenders and restaurant staff, everyone was polite, efficient and professional. The property was beautifully maintained and conveniently located. if you get an opportunity to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We travelled to the Ritz Carlton for my sister's 40th birthday party. The staff at the Ritz did everything to make the weekend memorable.
We had adjoining oceanfront rooms (thank you Ritz!)- simply breathtaking.
This hotel has its own pedestrian bridge for beach access which made going to the beach a breeze.
We ate breakfast daily at their restaurant overlooking the ocean. It was simply delicious

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I love the Ritz. We have stayed in a variety of Ritz properties, and this one was just not up to what we expect. From check in, where instead of a professional greeting, we got a woman more interested in adjusting her pony tail, to the poor service and less than terrific food at the poolside restaurant, this property was not up to snuff. This is the only Ritz where I have been charged for Internet access. The rooms were fine, but nothing special. All in all, while I will continue to patronize the chain, I will not go back to the Ft. Lauderdale Ritz.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I am the lucky bridesmaid of a bride getting married in June and she treated all of her bridesmaids to a night at this Ritz for a girls' night to celebrate her birthday. We had two rooms for the 5 of us. The rooms were massive and the view overlooking the pool and the beach was amazing. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were everything a girl could dream for. We enjoyed tea and coffee in the morning on the amazing balcony. Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is in the heart of Fort Lauderdale. The service, food and rooms were all what you would expect of a Ritz property. I would not stay anywhere else on this strip. The concierge led us to great restaurants. The pool is very nice and service exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#9 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.