We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Loved this hotel. Just returned from a 3-day business trip. Location is great...right across the street from the beach...many restaurants and bars to walk to from here. People seem very happy to be working here. Cab ride from the airport is just over $20. Room is gorgeous...white, bright, spacious, lovely. King-sized bed was VERY comfortable. Free bottles of water in the room were a nice touch. Loved having all the controls for lights, tv, everything right on the phone. Food for the conference I attended was delicious. Loved the views on the balconies outside the meeting rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    219
    65
    36
    19
See reviews for
215
401
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter's wedding and next-day brunch could not have been more beautiful, thanks to this fabulous hotel and the service we and all of our guests received, whether the stay was one night or for some as many as four nights. From the moment you drive up the circular driveway, to the moment you drive away, you'll receive the traditional and expected "Ritz" treatment. The food, service, sleeping accommodations, location, and amenities are all 5-star! If you're looking for a luxurious experience, this hotel is for you!

Room Tip: Each room has its own special appointments, but nothing compares to one with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Loved this hotel. Great service, fantastic rooms and helpful staff. I would never go to Florida under any circumstance, with the exception of work, so having to go there and being able to stay at the Ritz made my experience enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The bed is the most important factor during a stay. Who cares about the ammenities if you're gumpy because the bed was lumpy!? Our bed was hard and misshapen, lumpy. Our bed was not even a standard king. Our bed didn't fit the frame. When I sat on the end of the bed, the head of it flipped up. I am not overweight.....Our room was hot. Room service was especially bad because our food wasn't very good. How is it possible to mess up tomato buffalo mozzarela salad? Four paper-thin slices of truck- ripened Sysco- bought mealy tomatoes with faded watecress sparingly sprinkled on top and a perfunctory drizzle of balsamic next to a heaping mound of cheese. who cares about he dinner, I don't eben remeber what it was because I ended up going across the way to a darling Italian joint. I just thought things should be better than what a Holiday Inn can offer. The staff are all pleasant. Great location. Nice room. Good view. What did I get for all that money? Nothing I couldn't get at the motel next door for $300 a night less. I won't go there again. I've been to boutique and luxury hotels on this coast. This is not the winner. The $250 pet fee was ridiculous too. They are supposed to provided a bed, treats, dish, and toy for the fee. The dog bed was just a liner, no water dish, and I had to remind them to bring it up.Too much for too little.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here in a one bedroom ocean front residential suite. The murals in the hotel's lobby are wonderful, and the level of service is exactly what I expected from a Ritz-Carlton. Very cushy room with marble bath and a half, small kitchen with granite countertops, separate bedroom, living room, and a private balcony (accessible from the living area and the bedroom) that overlooked the pool and the ocean. For hotel guests, there's a bridge that spans Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, with an attendant on the beach to set up chairs for guests. No complaints about the facilities or hotel, but I'm fed up with paying extra for WiFi at expensive hotels like the Ritz-Carlton.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,008 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband and I and 2 friends just returned from a 3 night stay in a Superior Intracoastal 2 Bedroom Suite at the Ritz Ft. Lauderdale. We had originally booked a regular intracoastal 2 bedroom suite with 2 king beds, but our friends arrived earlier and were incorrectly put in a suite with 1 king and 2 doubles. On our arrival, after a quick call to the front desk manager, we were upgraded to the superior version. That mistake was just about the only service issue we had with the hotel.

The suite was lovely and spacious, though the master bath was a bit small for a suite of this size--with just a single vanity and a reasonably small shower area. The other bedroom was a bit smaller than ours but had a slightly more spacious bath.

Our shower pressure was the only other issue we had with the suite--it wasn't impressive. The A/C, on the other hand, worked VERY well throughout the suite. The windows and balcony doors were very well insulated, as we had Hurricane Sandy winds buffeting the hotel quite forcefully but not at all heard within the rooms.

The hotel, itself, is only 5 years old but was originally a St. Regis for its first 3 years. Considering it's a newer hotel, the rooms still felt a bit outdated compared to other newer Ritz Carleton or St. Regis/Four Seasons type properties--lower ceilings, older architecture, etc. Still, for Ft. Lauderdale, this definitely seemed to be the unquestioned high end for hotels.

Otherwise, we really enjoyed our stay. Service was tremendously good--with Amanda, our guest services rep, contacting us well in advance and taking care of any number of details for us. We found the Club to be very nice, if a bit shallow ceiling making it feel a bit less impressive. But the food options, drink options, and service were always quite good.

We had drinks at the Via Luna bar twice and found service to be a bit slow but always friendly and helpful. Prices are high but this is a Ritz in Florida--to be expected.

We dined for our final dinner at Via Luna Restaurant due to the fact that there was street flooding from Hurricane Sandy, so we couldn't get a cab to our original restaurant destination, Bouillabaisse. We were pleasantly surprised and very much enjoyed our meal, though we did have a few minor service blunders. Again, in South Florida, we expect this--so we found the restaurant to be better than expected.

Overall, we really liked the hotel and would return if ever we were to be back in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, FL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went with my s/o for a meeting he was attending. This is the ultimate place to relax and recharge. Had some quiet time...went to lunch and the server (sorry I couldn't remember his name for sure, Herman?) was so professional. The food was wonderful, right on the water and service was impeccible. Originally our room faced a wall so we were moved to an amazing room on the tenth floor. Thank you, Marriott for once again providing a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#15 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,887 reviews
The Atlantic Hotel & Spa
#16 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#4 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#61 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Central Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Lauderdale Beach
Courtyard by Marriott Fort Laude...
#40 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,116 reviews
Central Beach
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Resort
Hilton Fort Lauderdale Beach Res...
#10 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 3,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale

Address: 1 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly St. Regis Resort, Fort Lauderdale)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#12 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale infuses the Gold Coast with casual luxury as the city's first and only AAA Five Diamond hotel. The 24-story, dramatically tiered and glass walled structure has sweeping curves that are reminiscent of a luxury liner. Design elements recall the 1940's, with artwork that includes playful murals inspired by French artist Jean Cocteau and a 13-foot high mural of a seascape inspired by the 1880 painting, "King Neptune and His Horses." The property features 192 guest rooms and suites; a 2,200 square foot Club Lounge, 24,000 square feet of light-filled meeting space; a 29,000 square foot oceanfront sundeck with an infinity pool and private cabanas; destination Spa with an organic and active-botanical treatment menu and a water-view fitness center. Four dining and entertainment options include the new Via Luna Italian grill with seating indoors or al fresco on an oceanfront patio, the dramatic oceanfront Via Luna Bar, a private Wine Room with a 5,000 bottle wine cellar and a seventh floor Poolside Cafe with commanding ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Ritz Carlton Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Ritz Carlton
St Regis Fort Lauderdale
St Regis Ft Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Fort Lauderdale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.