We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1120 West State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #45 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel pre-cruise and post-cruise. We were impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of the room and the full kitchen was a bonus. Our air conditioner was not working properly and when we brought it to the attention of Tanya on the front desk, a mechanic was sent up promptly. Tanya was very apologetic and did her best to make amends in a very professional manner. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable stay at a reasonable price and a great location near the airport and cruise port.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for the great comments on our service and Tanya. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    65
    28
    15
    18
See reviews for
61
67
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel was great! The room had a full kitchen---perfect for me since I have food allergies. They had super clean rooms, excellent and friendly staff and also a free shuttle from the airport to the hotel. I will definitely stay there again next season. It was quiet, clean and met all of my needs. It is within walking distance of a mini-mall and grocery store which worked out great with the in-room kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. We will share all your comments with our entire staff. Please come back to visit when visiting Ft Lauderdale, or going on a cruise. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our reservation got mixed up due to award miles account number and the man at the front desk went way out of his way to figure out what happened. We had our reservation number and print out but the name on the reservation was not ours, in their computer. We started to get upset, but he kept at it and found where the name had been changed when my husbands account was added to the reservation, a key stroke error caused all this. He fixed for us and we had a great stay. We highly recomend this hotel for long or short stays.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow, so take a lower floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We opted to stay at the Candlewood because they offered a hotel stay with cruise package in that we stayed at the hotel the night before we were to go on our cruise. The next morning we were driven to the cruise terminal and went on our 7-day cruise. When we returned our ride was waiting for us and took us back to the Candlewood where we were able to pick up our vehicles and be on our way. The only other expense we had was the cost of the trip back to the hotel as the hotel took care of everything else in the package.

The rooms were extremely nice and so were the personnel who checked us into the hotel and made sure we were on the first shuttle to the cruise terminal in the morning. They also provided us with a free shuttle to a local restaurant. We were pleased to no end with all of the customer service that we had never experienced before when we checked into other hotels in the area in past cruises. We will always attempt to try and book a package with this hotel in the future when we cruise again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was really impressed with this hotel. I just needed a place for one night and wasn't even there for 12 hours, but I'm glad I chose this hotel. Rooms were surprisingly nice with full kitchens and really soft beds. For the price, I was really pleased. But what made it nice was the staff. Even arriving close to 1am, the front desk person was immediately ready to help with a big smile on his face. I've arrived late at other places and have had to sit waiting for someone to even notice I was there. The free airport shuttle is great too! I highly recommend. I love when hotels actually care about customer service!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We will make sure to share your comments with our staff at our weekly staff meeting. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

In all my years of staying in hotels I have never had the pleasure of dealing with someone so pleasant and helpful, not just to us, but everyone we saw him assist. His name is Jerry. If I owned this Hotel he would be a manager. I hope you realize what you have in this young man and. Promote him
The only complaint we have is the mattress on this bed was the worst I have ever slept on. I would consider upgrading them. Other then that everything else was great thanks to Jerry

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thanks for the great comments on our service and Jerry. We will share comments with him and the staff. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to visit when visiting Ft Lauderdale, or going on a cruise. We wish you the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We needed somewhere to stay for one night prior to our cruise and selected this hotel based on its convenient location, free airport shuttle, and competitive price when compared to other hotels in the same area with similarly good reviews.

Everything worked out really well for us. Our flight landed after 11PM. I called around 11:30 once we had our bags to request the shuttle and was told where to walk to and that it would come in 15 minutes. We actually ended up waiting 30 minutes, but when the shuttle did come it was a shared vehicle for multiple hotels that had already gathered many other passengers, so I can understand why it took longer than the hotel clerk estimated and it wasn't a problem. The shuttle stopped at a few of the other hotels before dropping us off.

Check-in was quick and easy - the night attendant, Tim I believe, was extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room was very clean, tastefully decorated, and sufficiently modern. We had 1 queen bed, a desk area with 2 comfortable chairs, a kitchen (which we didn't use, but included the basic necessities plus some clean towels/dish cloths were set out) a huge closet and a nice bathroom. The bathroom towels were very high quality for a hotel - very thick and soft. There was one small problem with the toilet where if you didn't lift the handle back up after flushing the water would run and run and run, but we figured out to lift up the handle so it didn't bother us after that.

The bed was very comfortable and we never heard any hallway noise, and were not ever bothered by sounds from above/below/either side.

Since the rooms all feature kitchens, this hotel does not offer free breakfast. I overheard another guest grumble about this in the morning when we checked out but it was not a problem for us as we were about to board a cruise ship with food everywhere. There is a Winn-Dixie conveniently located across the street.

We did not use the gym or laundry facility but I looked at both and they were easily accessible and well-maintained.

In the morning we hired a taxi to take us to the cruise port. This was an extremely easy process. All we had to do was pick up the phone in our room, push the button labeled "taxi" and state our name, and a taxi was immediately dispatched to get us without us ever having to verify the location of the hotel or anything.

I would absolutely stay here again for any future trips through Fort Lauderdale and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAManagement, Manager at Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for writing about your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to the continued successful delivery of exceptional guest service. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to your future return. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport

Address: 1120 West State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#40 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Our Fort Lauderdale Airport Hotel The Candlewood Suites of Fort Lauderdale, Florida brings you the comforts of home with a convenient location. We're two miles from both Ft. Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport and the Amtrak Tri Rail Station. While lodging in Ft. Lauderdale you'll find many exciting attractions nearby. Spend a day exploring Fort Lauderdale's waterways on a water bus or JungleQueen boat tour. You'll find popular districts like Las Olas and Riverwalk Arts and Entertainment District just three miles from our extended stay hotel. Ft. Lauderdale is also home to many of Florida's sports teams.With Port Everglades Cruise Port and Broward County Convention Center two miles from our suites, Ft. Lauderdales business travelers can benefit from our location. Other nearby businesses include Marathon Ashland Oil Maritime Professional Training Bombardier Embraer Air and Jetscape. Our Fort Lauderdale, FL hotel has a 24-hour business center to meet your business needs. Unlike cheap hotels in Fort Lauderdale, our Cruise Port hotel offers complimentary amenities like laundry services, a CD and movie rental from our lending library and high-speed Internet access. Purchase snacks and necessities from the Candlewood Cupboard store relax in your suites triple-sheeted bed and cook out on the Gazebo Grill. Candlewood Suites invites you to enjoy a memorable stay in our pet friendly Ft. Lauderdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Candlewood Suites Fort Lauderdale
Candlewood Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Air/Seaport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.