We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Jewel Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Birch Patio Motel to your Saves list
Birch Patio Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   617 N. Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

You will expect the most from a hotel that is not flashy nor dull! Birch Patio offers the amenities that big hotel has with prices that is better rated than less expensive hotels. The quality of service, room cleanliness, and full kitchen are by far the best rate Birch Patio offers.

I stayed for three nights at the suite. The rooms, are welcoming and inviting. Already I notices the living rooms, kitchen are immaculately clean, smells fresh... very welcoming. Please note, this is not the Fairmont, nor the Marriott. However, the style are more towards the family and couples who are more adventurist to the beach - not to say that you can enjoy the comfort of just lounging indoor watching TV, swimming at the pool, or using the recreational room - full of game and also internet.

I highly recommend to guess travel to stay a couple of nights here before going to a fancy hotel. I use to stay at the luxury hotels when I visit there, but now have a new favorite hotel stay when I want to stay longer and on budget.

Room Tip: Always try to book the suit. Only a few dollars more, you get plenty of room space and couch bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South Hadley, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

For the price, Birch Patio is *great*: for under $65, you get to stay in a big, clean room that is less than five-minute's-walk to the beach (the rooms have the typical big-white-tile beach-hotel floors). The reading room has a selection of novels in European languages, particularly Finnish, per the ownership ;) The courtyard pool is a clean, LED-lit bean that is dreamlike to swim in after dark. (Note that there are apartments in the Patio, and people who live here long-term, who are also using the courtyard for grilling and hanging out, so you might get people staring at you while you are swimming just because you are doing something novel and it gives them something to look at!). THERE IS NO COFFEE IN THE ROOMS NOR IN THE OFFICE. You have to fend for yourself. This is a bit of an issue: the front desk recommended I go to The Deck for coffee and breakfast in the morning (a seedy restaurant down the side street and directly across from the beach), and they said they would open at 7, but they didn't. I was not entirely surprised by this. But then I had to haul down Beach Street in search of my morning coffee and ended up getting it from one of the other hotel markets. So that is definitely an inconvenience you should be prepared for if you stay! (Birch Patio is in a down-at-heel section of the beachfront hotel district.)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bluecowboyyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Very quite and clean just got here today pool is very nice our room is a apartment very spacious clean centrally located beach is beautiful haven't been in the bed yet so I can't right about that over all so far very nice

Helpful?
1 Thank mallet99
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Four years and 12 trips.....this was my second stay at the Birch Patio. It's everything you need in Ft. Lauderdale! It's clean, one block from the beach, a short walk the beach area reastaurants and shops, a grocery store and the mall! Friendly owners and staff also make it a pleasant! A short bus ride, sun trolly, water taxi or taxi can get you downtown!

Thank you, Angela for YET another great stay in Ft. Lauderdale. See you in a few month.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErikaLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It's a cute little affordable motel. Kind bed with a futon. Beds are firm but still got a great sleep. Super large room. Big fridge, microwave and even plates and utensils! There's also a dining table. TV is small but has so many channels. Shower is dark meaning they could really add a light to that area. No tub, just a shower but the water pressure was good. Could definitely use black out curtains.

If you check in late, see the security guard posted outside the office and he'll escort you to your room because the front desk closes at 9pm. Also, if you stay near the laundry area, it can get noisy.

Location to the beach is two short blocks away. So while others are paying $300 a night, you'll pay A LOT less. Parking is crowded as heck if you check in at midnight like I did.

For the price, it's not seedy or sketchy. It's quite lovely.

Room Tip: Avoid the laundry area. Quieter rooms are away from the laundry and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We just had 4 nights at Birch Patio , on our Southern Florida Holiday. We came by this hotel by chance, just driving around in the neighborhood. We stayed for 4 days, even though we only meant to do 2. Lovely swimming pools, clean rooms and good space for 3 persons, or even 4 .
Angela is a extremely friendly host , and she even found some of our clothes we forgot our first 2 days here. The only little thing to put a finger on in the refrigerator, its pretty loud in the night for some reason. And the wifi is a little unstable. But all in all, we are for sure coming back here.

Room Tip: Choose the Efficieny room. Full kitchen , and a bbq nearby, so you can cook for the family. and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wilhelmsendk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm, sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great place with excellent location! Nice little poolarea and just a few minutes to the beach. Basic rooms but very good value for your money. And Angela was really helpful and nice. We had breakfast at the Deckbar closeby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marran75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#3 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,758 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#11 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#4 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
Soleado Hotel
Soleado Hotel
#7 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 37 reviews
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
#27 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Central Beach
Napoli Belmar Resort
Napoli Belmar Resort
#32 of 137 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Patio Motel

Address: 617 N. Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#20 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Birch Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little paradise in the heart of Fort Lauderdale. Surround yourself with tropical trees and the sounds of cascading waterfalls. Minutes from the Famous Las Olas Boulevard. Two short blocks from the warm ocean waters. Come see why the Birch Patio Motel is a favorite vacation retreat among its repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Birch Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Patio Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Birch Patio Fort Lauderdale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing