We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birch patio. A perfect little getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Birch Patio Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Birch Patio Motel to your Saves list
Birch Patio Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   617 N. Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birch patio. A perfect little getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just had 4 nights at Birch Patio , on our Southern Florida Holiday. We came by this hotel by chance, just driving around in the neighborhood. We stayed for 4 days, even though we only meant to do 2. Lovely swimming pools, clean rooms and good space for 3 persons, or even 4 .
Angela is a extremely friendly host , and she even found some of our clothes we forgot our first 2 days here. The only little thing to put a finger on in the refrigerator, its pretty loud in the night for some reason. And the wifi is a little unstable. But all in all, we are for sure coming back here.

Room Tip: Choose the Efficieny room. Full kitchen , and a bbq nearby, so you can cook for the family. and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    49
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
70
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockholm, sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great place with excellent location! Nice little poolarea and just a few minutes to the beach. Basic rooms but very good value for your money. And Angela was really helpful and nice. We had breakfast at the Deckbar closeby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the Motel for four days. Angela was great she let us stay without charging us for 3 extra hours to be able to catch our plane that took off later that night and she let us print off our boarding passes. The place is not the Ritz's or Waldorf Astoria but it is a home away from home if you like laid back and just relax. The rooms are basic no hair dryer but they are clean and friendly. Our room had a kitchen. This Motel is great for people on a budget. The rooms do not have a safe but there is plenty of security walking around all the time. I never seen one person just entering the motel just to hang out. I will in deed go back again. The ocean is only 2 blocks away the room we had you could see straight down the road to the ocean and didn't have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
479 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

For a relaxing day or two stay near the beach in Ft. Lauderdale we end up Birch Patio Motel after inquiring about rates at a few other hotels in the area.

Located just a few blocks walk from the beach, Birch Patio turns out to be a nice find in a quiet area of Ft. Lauderdale within easy reach of all the beach activities.

This property has an old fashioned deep end swimming pool, free Wi-Fi and our room although simple was very clean and had a microwave, toaster and full size refrigerator.

We will definitely be back to Birch Patio as the room rates and accommodations makes for a nice affordable beach escape in Ft. Lauderdale.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Overall it was a fair experience. My cousin and I stayed here last week; we booked it based on price and its good reviews on TripAdvisor. However, our experience hasn't quite lived up to what other reviewers have been saying about Birch. It was cheap (which was why we chose it), but you definitely get what you pay for; it's a "no frills" type of establishment.

Good points:
- Free wifi in addition to use of the "office" (where you can print off your boarding pass).
- Fairly clean rooms.
- Cheap room rates.
- Great location - 4 minute walk to Fort Lauderdale beach.
- Use of a small pool.
- Great customer service from the ladies at the reception office.

Bad points:
- Our bathroom window did not have a lock/latch which was unnerving during the night time.
- The rooms are not supplied with a safe for visitor's valuables.
- General lack of security of the entire motel; anybody can walk into the motel's courtyard and wander around.
- The place is shabby and outdated.

It was a good experience and I would stay here again. I'm just not sure how it's had so many "excellent" reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We are a young couple who trusts Tripadvisor for a lot of our hotel decisions, and were pretty disappointed when we spent a night at the Birch Patio, following the numerous five star reviews.

The location was pretty good, and the price was fair, however the units were really unimpressive.

The one positive note is that they were very large - if you are travelling with a big group and looking for great value (i.e. 4 people in one room for under 25$ each), then this place might be for you. Otherwise I wouldn't recommend it.

1) The decor is outdated and tacky, even for an inexpensive motel
2) The furniture was old, smelled a bit, and had stains on it

Don't get me wrong, the place wasn't the worst ever, I just have no idea how it has so many excellent reviews. It is an average motel in a good location. There is nothing else to it. Definitely not worthy of all the great reviews, but certainly not a horrible place if you can take advantage of the value by sleeping more per room and/or using the kitchen area that comes in the units.

Angela, who checked us in at the neighbouring office at the Napoli hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Well Angela thanks again for hooking me up with a clean and quiet room. Now that I know where the hotel is and my way around town more this trip was perfect. I love the huge rooms with closet, fridge nice working shower.Cleanliness is great. I just feel so comfortable at this Family owned hotel. Super close to the beach and also a supermarket nearby on Sunrise Blvd. Very convenient to the Airport and restaurants on the strip. This is my go to place to stay in Ft Lauderdale

Room Tip: Talk to Angela beforehand since there are upper, lower, and poolside locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Central Beach
Premiere Hotel
Premiere Hotel
#3 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,363 reviews
The Aqua Hotel
#8 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 733 reviews
Casitas Coral Ridge
#11 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#5 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Inn
#52 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Central Beach
Napoli Belmar Resort
Napoli Belmar Resort
#20 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birch Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birch Patio Motel

Address: 617 N. Birch Road, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Birch Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little paradise in the heart of Fort Lauderdale. Surround yourself with tropical trees and the sounds of cascading waterfalls. Minutes from the Famous Las Olas Boulevard. Two short blocks from the warm ocean waters. Come see why the Birch Patio Motel is a favorite vacation retreat among its repeat guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Birch Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birch Patio Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Birch Patio Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birch Patio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.