We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome deal, superb location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Beach Plaza

Save Saved
You added Sea Beach Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sea Beach Plaza
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3081 Harbor Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33317 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome deal, superb location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012 via mobile

Came to Florida with my girl. Didn't know where to stay but wanted to be near the beach. My girlfriend wanted to stay at the Sheraton but the price was to high. The Sea Beach is across the street and was a great pick. The location is amazing, right across from the beach and boardwalk. The manager came to greet us and gave us a great deal which convinced us to stay a few more nights. We met some cool guests and sat around and drank by the pool. The maids don't speak English but are very good. Overall the location and service was great and made up for the age of the building. I wouldn't except anything different for $89 at a beach hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    25
    21
    10
    37
See reviews for
15
29
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012 via mobile

My second time staying here. I stayed in room 306, and paid $89. It is across from the beach and the room was clean. Sure, it's an older building but the younger owner does a great job keeping the guests happy. He was available for his guests at anytime. If your looking for a place to rest your head and enjoy Fort. Lauderdale this hotel is not a bad choice. I personally had great service both times. If you have any problems, make sure to ask for the young man who owns the property.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We needed just one night stay after returning from cruise this fit the bill for 80 bucks, nothing fancy, seemed clean to me and was very comfortable for our needs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

On day one, I checked in late ... went up to my room on 3rd floor .... it's in the corner, no natural light, 2 other rooms are adjacent, their doors open up to the window. Yuck. That's probably why the vertical blinds are drawn shut, minus quite a few vertical pleats. Wow. Not liking it so far. Anyway, there's a coffee maker, it's obviously non-functional, broken. Microwave. Fridge ... it's actually warm inside so I guess the milk I purchased can be thrown out. Checked out the wi-fi in the room ... it's sporadic. Later, it just drops off. No wi-fi.
In the morning, I complained about the wi-fi and the fridge. Was told that the wi-fi is best in certain rooms, so they move me to a room more exposed to the courtyard. Guess what. The wi-fi still doesn't work. The fridge door doesn't want to close, it's warm inside it. There's a couch in the room which I don't think I want to let touch my skin, it might have been found on the street or something, 'bugs' comes to mind. Oh, the best part, the room door won't shut. You have to slam it shut and 'wiggle' the key to get it to lock, as per the owner. I said to her, no, I won't 'wiggle' the lock, and besides, why should I slam the door shut and wake up everybody, please get it fixed.
So, I move into the 3rd room she offers, right beside the room where the door won't shut or lock. Hmmmm, going to get an earful when somebody moves into that room.
Anyway, the new room has microwave, fridge (it works). The AC has a lot of light around it, and I notice that people have shoved toilet paper and tin foil around the gaps, but there's a huge gap, so I plug it with the wrap off the toilet paper roll.
I woke up the next morning with some weird bites on my arms and around my knees, not sure if it's because of the bugs or if I got them walking about elsewhere. Who knows.
Wi-fi does not work at all. It seems to go off around 4pm when the night shift comes on, but not sure.
One day whilst lounging around the pool, I overheard the owner's son entertaining some people asking questions about the lot, the roof, parking, this/that, and the son would either answer the questions, but mostly just say you best ask my father .... sounds like they're selling the joint, or attempting to.
Overall, I'll sum it up like this ... good location, close to the beach. Really run down. So many excuses (oh, my son will get the new router for the wi-fi tonight .... that was on day two, and it's still not working 1 week later ...), oh, just wiggle the lock or the key (sorry, why should anyone have to wiggle anything to enter the room they've paid for), the rooms all have vertical blinds which have fallen apart, and according to the owner, oh, look what they do, they destroy the blinds .... ya, so what .... just put up drapes or something. NOTE: you CANNOT open your blinds, because if you do, they will fall apart. Also, the walkway to each room .... your room is exposed to all the weirdos who want to stand outside your window and smoke or drink or whatnot ... so unless you love having your blinds closed non-stop, this is not a good living arrangement.
If you book this hotel via online hotel agencies, complain that they should not be allowed to list this place. It's substandard. Actually, probably violating a lot of local bylaws.

Room Tip: The owner only appears after 11am, where she will try to move you about various rooms and give you r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
li ny
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

every one was very friendly, that is if you could find them. the room was clean, just falling apart. this place really needs some work. everything worked...sort of. the microwave timer was busted, the shower curtain rod sagged so the curtain stayed in a bunch in the middle. a bare bulb over the sideways mirror over the sink. the airconditioner was insulated with stained toilet paper, but you could still see the trees outside, and the wire for it stretched over the sink made a good towel rack. the only towel rack i might add.
it was no big deal to me, i like camping, but i'd think twice before i booked with a particular traveling companion.
it is close to the beach, very close, and the bed was comfortable, and i didn't see one roach and that's a marvel in itself for florida.
oh, and it's noisy. i guess that goes with the price. not hooker traffic, just people trying to close their doors (you have to slam them) all nite long.

Room Tip: book somewhere else till they remodle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Traveled with family (kids and mother) and needed a place to stay in Fort Lauderdale for night due a change in plans. On a budget and got booked here by hotels.com due to walking distance of the beach. What an awful mistake!

Where do I start?

1. No hot water. You need to take a chilly shower with the hot water turned all the way up. Forget taking a shower unless you can make it REALLY fast 'cause that water never gets warm. Could't give the kids a bath or shower.
2. Gap between air conditioner and wall was sealed with styrafoam. Problem was that a piece was missing and there was literally a hole in the wall for insects to come through. We plugged it up with one of the threadbare towels (after removing a piece of long black hair left behind by another guest). See picture of dead bug on bathroom floor....guess it came in through that hole in the wall!
3. Filthy, dirty bathtub grout and windowsills. Guess that's an indication of how well they keep the rooms and pool clean!
4. Rooms had patchwork all over the walls like they were ready to be painted. They were doint some work in the hotel and left stuff in the hallway that we had to step over. Unbelievable!
5. Clock and toaster in one room didn't work. If it's broke, get it outta there.
6. Weird moldy looking patch up on the ceiling.
7, Cheap blinds literally fell apart when you open them.

Ok...we made a mistake. The room with no hot water, dead bugs, dirt and a hole in the wall. Not a place fit for kids or a senior citizen. So we politely asked for our money back right after checkin. Can you guess the answer? The owner said no. Wonderful customer service....just great, thanks. Obviously, they don't care about anything other than getting your money. Tough luck that you can't take a bath or there is a hole in the wall. Not a place fit for kids or a senior citizen.

AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS! My kids we terrified of this place and are still talking about it. Look around for another hotel and we saw plenty of other choices in the area.

Room Tip: To get a good room, find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Price was good especially for a place less than 5 minutes walk from the beach, the rooms were very clean and the staff was fantastic. Super nice and always helpful. This is not the first time I have stayed here. I have seen improvement from the previous stay. Will definitely be back to visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Beach Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Beach Plaza

Also Known As:
Sea Beach Plaza Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Sea Beach Plaza Fort Lauderdale
Address: 3081 Harbor Drive, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33317
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 132 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Beach Plaza 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sea Beach Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Beach Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.