We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Save Saved
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth the stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

No your not at a 5 star hotel, but what a comfortable place to stay. I went with my daughter and we not only LOVED it but felt very safe since we are two women. I will stay here again. This hotel made my trip! You can walk to town or drive and you can walk to the beach! I loved staying here and plan to come back very soon!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    51
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
50
63
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thorold, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are enjoying our fourth winter get away here at Vistamar. Great as aways!

People have commented on the squirl monkeys and here are some pics taken this morning.

They have visited almost every morning for the last 3 week s.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at Vistamar Villa and are already planning our return next year.
Vistamar Villa is owner run and managed. John and Mary are welcoming and friendly and take time for leisurely conversations with their guests, as well as giving advice about local attractions and dining spots. The setting is informal and private: an L-shaped two storey building surrounding a very private courtyard, with pool and palm tree shaded gazebos, barbeque and cozy sitting areas.
Our suite, each stay, was spacious, very clean and well kept. Fresh dish cloths & towels daily in the well equipped (toaster, kettle coffee maker, pots, pans cutlery etc) kitchen with stove, oven, microwave and full size fridge/freezer. A dining table, sofa and armchair, flat screen TV and bookshelf (with books) furnished the living room. The bedroom had two queen sized beds, plenty of storage space including a mirrored dressing table - and a TV. The bathroom had a combined bath and shower and a window - it was cleaned and towels were replaced every day. Air conditioning units run quietly and there were ultra quiet ceiling fans if preferred.
Each suite has a table and two chairs outside the door, which was perfect for breakfast overlooking the pool and courtyard.
Vistamar Villa is a short 5 minute walk from the beach, but has none of the noise and traffic of the places directly on the A1A. It is very reasonably priced making a longer stay affordable.
We took a risk last year, having found Vistamar Villa on the internet, and were delighted at our find. This year we knew we were going to a special place. We would not want to stay anywhere else in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Vistamar Villa before a cruise and one day between our second cruise. Very nice place and the best price ($99 for small room) in Fort Lauderdale. You can walk to all the eaing places and the ocean. Nothing fancy. Very clean room and the folks that own it are great. It is a small place with a nice courtyard pool. If you are between cruises like we were, they also have laundry so you can wash your dirty duds. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

There is no doubt this is a two star establishment and a little frayed around the edges and, there is no doubt that I do not do two star.
So imagine my surprise when I realised it was two star; I was not really happy but it was booked and done so, to late, live with it.
What a surprise the welcome could not have been better the room was spotlessly clean, it was light and airy and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and towels were very clean.
This place has no pretensions, and why should it; it does what it should do and it does it particularly well.
Thank you for a lovely stay D&D...

Room Tip: Look past the rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

While this place was close to the beach and the owners were very nice, but we kind of thought the place was dumpy-old bedspreads, coffee machine didn't work and the fridge somehow turned off through the night-we were only there one night, but I really think this place is in need of an overhaul

Room Tip: For only $100+ I would hope you could find something a little more updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvilla, Owner at Vistamar Villa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are sorry that we were not up to this guest’s expectations. Please read our web site where we state that we are not the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a spacious and comfortable environment. If you are looking for contemporary modernity we can direct you to other hostelries in the area but they will be priced considerably above us.

Our bedspreads are regularly replaced and cleaned. Coffee makers will fail but we keep a stock of fresh appliances available. You need only to advise us that one has failed. As for the mysterious fridge failure in the night, we are at a loss for an explanation as we have not had any reports of any fridge failures recently. Guests need only to tell us about these easily remedied problems instead of saving them for negative reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed an evening at Vistamar Villa along with my girlfriend. The location is great and the price was very fair especially in comparison to the other expensive properties off the beach strip. The staff was friendly and even recommended a couple good restaurants for us that turned out to be good recommendations.

As some other reviews have pointed out the building and pool is older and is a bit worn. This wasn't an issue for us though and we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of our room and the size of our room. For a quick stay or a few nights Vistamar Villa was a friendly albeit rustic stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#17 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.