We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Thorold, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Monkey's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We are enjoying our fourth winter get away here at Vistamar. Great as aways!

People have commented on the squirl monkeys and here are some pics taken this morning.

They have visited almost every morning for the last 3 week s.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    52
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
67
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We just returned from our second stay at Vistamar Villa and are already planning our return next year.
Vistamar Villa is owner run and managed. John and Mary are welcoming and friendly and take time for leisurely conversations with their guests, as well as giving advice about local attractions and dining spots. The setting is informal and private: an L-shaped two storey building surrounding a very private courtyard, with pool and palm tree shaded gazebos, barbeque and cozy sitting areas.
Our suite, each stay, was spacious, very clean and well kept. Fresh dish cloths & towels daily in the well equipped (toaster, kettle coffee maker, pots, pans cutlery etc) kitchen with stove, oven, microwave and full size fridge/freezer. A dining table, sofa and armchair, flat screen TV and bookshelf (with books) furnished the living room. The bedroom had two queen sized beds, plenty of storage space including a mirrored dressing table - and a TV. The bathroom had a combined bath and shower and a window - it was cleaned and towels were replaced every day. Air conditioning units run quietly and there were ultra quiet ceiling fans if preferred.
Each suite has a table and two chairs outside the door, which was perfect for breakfast overlooking the pool and courtyard.
Vistamar Villa is a short 5 minute walk from the beach, but has none of the noise and traffic of the places directly on the A1A. It is very reasonably priced making a longer stay affordable.
We took a risk last year, having found Vistamar Villa on the internet, and were delighted at our find. This year we knew we were going to a special place. We would not want to stay anywhere else in Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed at the Vistamar Villa before a cruise and one day between our second cruise. Very nice place and the best price ($99 for small room) in Fort Lauderdale. You can walk to all the eaing places and the ocean. Nothing fancy. Very clean room and the folks that own it are great. It is a small place with a nice courtyard pool. If you are between cruises like we were, they also have laundry so you can wash your dirty duds. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

There is no doubt this is a two star establishment and a little frayed around the edges and, there is no doubt that I do not do two star.
So imagine my surprise when I realised it was two star; I was not really happy but it was booked and done so, to late, live with it.
What a surprise the welcome could not have been better the room was spotlessly clean, it was light and airy and spacious. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding and towels were very clean.
This place has no pretensions, and why should it; it does what it should do and it does it particularly well.
Thank you for a lovely stay D&D...

Room Tip: Look past the rating
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

While this place was close to the beach and the owners were very nice, but we kind of thought the place was dumpy-old bedspreads, coffee machine didn't work and the fridge somehow turned off through the night-we were only there one night, but I really think this place is in need of an overhaul

Room Tip: For only $100+ I would hope you could find something a little more updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvilla, Owner at Vistamar Villa, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are sorry that we were not up to this guest’s expectations. Please read our web site where we state that we are not the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a spacious and comfortable environment. If you are looking for contemporary modernity we can direct you to other hostelries in the area but they will be priced considerably above us.

Our bedspreads are regularly replaced and cleaned. Coffee makers will fail but we keep a stock of fresh appliances available. You need only to advise us that one has failed. As for the mysterious fridge failure in the night, we are at a loss for an explanation as we have not had any reports of any fridge failures recently. Guests need only to tell us about these easily remedied problems instead of saving them for negative reviews
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed an evening at Vistamar Villa along with my girlfriend. The location is great and the price was very fair especially in comparison to the other expensive properties off the beach strip. The staff was friendly and even recommended a couple good restaurants for us that turned out to be good recommendations.

As some other reviews have pointed out the building and pool is older and is a bit worn. This wasn't an issue for us though and we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of our room and the size of our room. For a quick stay or a few nights Vistamar Villa was a friendly albeit rustic stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Big mistake on this property.
I booked this property after reading the positive TA reviews and what a mistake.
We stayed three hours and had to leave, the property is run down, dirty and I'm just amazed that anyone might think it's cute and retro.
I sat in the living room in Room 101 and looked up to a filthy fan that I'm sure hasn't been cleaned or dusted in years.
Pool and deck area were dirty and in need of repair.
I would challenge the owners to spend some money and clean the property up and return my second nights money.. a $300.00 lesson on my part.

Room Tip: Inspect a property before depositing money in a place like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvilla, Owner at Vistamar Villa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The fan blades are kept clean on a daily basis but the leading edges are worn and can look as though they have not been cleaned. We are in the process of replacing worn blades. Admittedly the pool deck was not at its best and we can only plead that it had been raining and very windy for several days prior to and during this guests scheduled stay.

We have, in fact, for the last week been updating the exterior of the property with the building having just been painted, the parking lot freshly black topped and the walkways, patios and pool area are scheduled to be resurfaced or repainted.

Finally, it has to be pointed out that this guest mentioned none of these concerns to us but it now appears was less than frank with us about their reason for leaving. We were told that friends of theirs' in Miami had invited them to stay with them and could they have their money back if they left early. So, why did they really leave? If this guest had been frank with us, we would have made some accommodation regarding the price as we have in the past, but since this seemed to us to be a capricious choice on their part and we had, already turned potential guests away since we were fully booked that weekend, we did not refund their money.

It should also be pointed out that after this conversation, this guest did not indicate whether they were staying or leaving, which would have given us the opportunity to rent the room so that we could refund their money and they did not return the room key until the next day.

We have also read this guests other review of their stay earlier this year in a suite at the Hilton Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale where a suite can run up to $500 per day or about 3.5 times our price. Even there, they complained about the dirty carpets and baseboards. We do not claim to be the Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#15 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.