We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Stay Close To The Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Save Saved
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Thunder Bay, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Affordable Stay Close To The Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I recently stayed an evening at Vistamar Villa along with my girlfriend. The location is great and the price was very fair especially in comparison to the other expensive properties off the beach strip. The staff was friendly and even recommended a couple good restaurants for us that turned out to be good recommendations.

As some other reviews have pointed out the building and pool is older and is a bit worn. This wasn't an issue for us though and we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of our room and the size of our room. For a quick stay or a few nights Vistamar Villa was a friendly albeit rustic stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    51
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
49
63
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Big mistake on this property.
I booked this property after reading the positive TA reviews and what a mistake.
We stayed three hours and had to leave, the property is run down, dirty and I'm just amazed that anyone might think it's cute and retro.
I sat in the living room in Room 101 and looked up to a filthy fan that I'm sure hasn't been cleaned or dusted in years.
Pool and deck area were dirty and in need of repair.
I would challenge the owners to spend some money and clean the property up and return my second nights money.. a $300.00 lesson on my part.

Room Tip: Inspect a property before depositing money in a place like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvilla, Owner at Vistamar Villa, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
The fan blades are kept clean on a daily basis but the leading edges are worn and can look as though they have not been cleaned. We are in the process of replacing worn blades. Admittedly the pool deck was not at its best and we can only plead that it had been raining and very windy for several days prior to and during this guests scheduled stay.

We have, in fact, for the last week been updating the exterior of the property with the building having just been painted, the parking lot freshly black topped and the walkways, patios and pool area are scheduled to be resurfaced or repainted.

Finally, it has to be pointed out that this guest mentioned none of these concerns to us but it now appears was less than frank with us about their reason for leaving. We were told that friends of theirs' in Miami had invited them to stay with them and could they have their money back if they left early. So, why did they really leave? If this guest had been frank with us, we would have made some accommodation regarding the price as we have in the past, but since this seemed to us to be a capricious choice on their part and we had, already turned potential guests away since we were fully booked that weekend, we did not refund their money.

It should also be pointed out that after this conversation, this guest did not indicate whether they were staying or leaving, which would have given us the opportunity to rent the room so that we could refund their money and they did not return the room key until the next day.

We have also read this guests other review of their stay earlier this year in a suite at the Hilton Beach Resort in Fort Lauderdale where a suite can run up to $500 per day or about 3.5 times our price. Even there, they complained about the dirty carpets and baseboards. We do not claim to be the Hilton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

This place is suitable for 2-3 days sleep - no more. It is close to the beach and has its own parking. You can find a lot of restaurants and shops right on the seaside. All in all there is nothing memorable about this place. I have an impression that our apartment was gloomy and not very clean. Air conditioner was so noisy so we had to open all windows. I am wondering how it feels like staying there in summer. Kitchen reminded me of cinema of 1960s

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Valley, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

There are plenty of reviews on TripAdvisor that nearly all say the same things, and after staying here for 3 nights, I can attest they are accurate. This place is not fancy, and it is older, but it was affordable, comfortable, and very clean. We had very little interaction with the staff, but the times we did, they were very helpful and friendly. We did have a 2nd floor room with large luggage, but they had told me this when I booked rather late, and I didn't mind carrying it. If steps are an issue, ensure you have a room on the first floor.

Overall, we had a great experience, and I would definitely book here again if returning to Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This is an older property located a couple of blocks from the beach but it is well maintained and the staff really care about your comfort and satisfaction. Many regulars fill this smaller motel so book far ahead to secure a unit. We had a good-sized room with a small table, fridge and toaster oven. There is a lovely courtyard area with lots of lounge chairs, nice pool, BBQ and gazebo for outdoor dining. Many of the other units were much larger with full kitchens and several bedrooms so if large groups were staying, the noise level could be higher - we did have some late night talkers and loud early morning risers in the unit next to ours.
Would definitely stay here again as the location and value could not be beat!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The reviews for Vistamar Villa are accurate. I think one thing that is important to note is that the location backs up to the Bonnet House. This 37 acre historic refuge povides for a nice quiet sleep in the bedrooms. If you are a Fort Lauderdale regular and are looking for a quiet sleep and the kind of accomidations noted in previous reviews, you can't beat this place.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room, ask for one that back up to the Bonnet House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were heading out on a cruise and needed a place to stay for two nights beforehand. We picked this place because it is our style - small, family-owned, and good value. The Trip Advisor reviews were good, so we gave it a chance. We arrived very late (1 AM) after a late flight and sure enough, the keys were where the owner said they would be, no problem that the office was closed. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite, it had plenty of room for my wife and I and two kids. The location was great, especially for the price. Two block to the beach and not much farther to several good restaurants, a small store, and everything else we were looking for. The style is a little older, nothing fancy, but very clean, functional, and comfortable. The kids loved the pool. I would definitely consider staying here again if we come back to Ft. Lauderdale. One word of caution - the taxi driver from the airport did not know where it was. Between having the address and GPS on my phone, I got us there, no thanks to the driver.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.