We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Morrison, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were heading out on a cruise and needed a place to stay for two nights beforehand. We picked this place because it is our style - small, family-owned, and good value. The Trip Advisor reviews were good, so we gave it a chance. We arrived very late (1 AM) after a late flight and sure enough, the keys were where the owner said they would be, no problem that the office was closed. We stayed in a 1-bedroom suite, it had plenty of room for my wife and I and two kids. The location was great, especially for the price. Two block to the beach and not much farther to several good restaurants, a small store, and everything else we were looking for. The style is a little older, nothing fancy, but very clean, functional, and comfortable. The kids loved the pool. I would definitely consider staying here again if we come back to Ft. Lauderdale. One word of caution - the taxi driver from the airport did not know where it was. Between having the address and GPS on my phone, I got us there, no thanks to the driver.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    55
    20
    8
    4
See reviews for
57
72
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We discovered this quiet Little motel last year. It is 1/2 way between the ICW & the beach & w/i a short bus ride or drive of the Galleria. Rooms are small but efficient & the suites are almost apartment sized.There are modest cooking facilities. A combo coffee pot & toaster oven - the 1 st I've ever seen. Plus a tiny microwave. & a fridge with a freezer (that desperately calls for defrosting !). All for $77 including tax - in spendy Fort Lauderdale.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I recently spent my only night in Fort Lauderdale at this small, family run hotel a couple blocks from the beach. We arrived late after the front desk closed and, as promised, the room key had been left by the front door. Their attractive patio, with pool and palm trees, was well lit and we easily found our way to our upstairs room. There was a verandah around the second floor rooms with tables and chairs outside each room, which added a "homey" touch. The room which had two queen sized beds and a flat screen TV was quite large, and we were surprised to find was equipped with small fridge, hot plate and microwave. Room and bathroom were clean and there was even a basket of books for our reading pleasure. Next morning, we were able to chat with the owners and get their recommendation for a nearby restaurant overlooking the beach, where we had breakfast. As well as their very reasonable nightly charge, there is also a weekly rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

October 5th – October 6th

I found this gem in the Fort Lauderdale area on tripadvisor.com. This hotel lived up to the reviews that I read before I booked our stay.

The room:
We were in room 103 which is a suite on the first floor. The suite featured a good-sized living room with 32” flat panel TV, couch, chair, coffee table, with a table and chairs for dining. It has a compact kitchen with stove, sink and good-size refrigerator. The bedroom had two beds and a TV. Both rooms have room air conditions that functioned well and were not noisy. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo. Our accommodations were both clean and comfortable. There is free wireless internet which I was able to access with no problem.

The amenities:
This property includes a center garden area with a pool, gazebos with chairs and a barbeque. The grounds are nicely kept up. There is free on-site parking.

The location:
Vistamar is located just off the A1A north of the airport. It is located just two short blocks to the beach. This is important because other hotels in this price range along the A1A are across the street for mega-hotels that are on the beach so beach access can be a problem.

The staff:
As I mentioned in previous reviews, the staff can either make or break the experience. John and Mary are the owners and immediately give you that comfy and folksy feeling beginning at check in. I remember back in the 1960’s, staying at a “mom and pop” hotels and getting that individual treatment and “can-do” attitude. The age of mega-chain hotels drove these quaint operations into extinction. I found there is one of these places left and that is the Vistamar. John and Mary are the ultimate hosts. If you need restaurant recommendations, directions or football scores they will get you what you need. Before Shelly and I went to dinner, I asked John if he had the score for the University of Oregon (Ducks) – Colorado game. When we came back from dinner, he had placed a “post-it” note on our door with the score (see pic). No mega-hotel will do that for you.

Hotels are just buildings. It's the people that make the difference. John and Mary go that extra mile for their guests.

When we return to Fort Lauderdale, we will be back at the Vistamar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We haven’t been to Fort Lauderdale for about 5 years and were surprised to see how hotel prices have gone up. So were pleasantly surprised to find the Vistamar Villa a couple of blocks from the beach and quite reasonably priced. We had a large suite which was really like an apartment at a considerably lower rate than some other nearby places were charging just for a room. Owners were very attentive. Rooms were clean and well kept. Quiet courtyard with Gazebos, seating areas and barbeques. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valleyview, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our group of 11 stayed at the Vistamar Villa 3 days prior to a cruise and 2 days after. This facility was ideal for accommodating our needs.
The location is very good, on a quiet street a couple of blocks from the beach, a short walk from some interesting corner shops and restaurants, and not that much longer of a walk to the Galleria Mall. We rented a vehicle, and we found Vistamar centrally located to either head north, south, or west (15 minutes straight west to the Saw Grass Mall, a must see for shoppers).
The rooms are very large, and even the non-suite rooms have fridges. They are cleaned to the highest standards. The pool area is a real treat: protected from the wind, full of greenery (much more than neighbouring places), a large pool, and lots of seating.
The owners take great pride and care. We will be back when we have the opportunity to return to Fort Lauderdale.

Room Tip: If you need more than one room, consider booking at least one suite to take advantage of the extra l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

very nice tropical resort clean non smoking rooms giant swimming pool palm trees coconut trees excellent landscaping makes it beautiful all the accessories you need for your vacation to paradise very close walk to the beach the owners are very nice people rooms are big lots of space all your needs are in the rooms I come here every year prices are very reasonable 100% guarantee to have fun thank you vistamar villa from tony

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#44 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.