We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and true hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oirschot, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location and true hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at Vistamar Villa - Fort Lauderdale with the hole family. 2 adults and 3 kids from the Netherlands in a unfamilar city. Vistamar is a beautifull place to call your home when your travelling to Fort Lauderdale. Near to beach, boulevard and restaurants. A nice place in a beautifull town.

The owners John and Mary know the meaning of the word hospitality. We loved our stay at the Vistamar Villa and like to recommend it to other visitors of the Fort Lauderdale area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    55
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
76
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed at Vistamar Villa Fort Lauderdale for two weeks. Excellent location and friendly owners. Always responded positively to any requests. Also the place is quiet as the construction is solid. You don't hear your neighbors like in most hotels/motels.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are well equipped and have good kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I booked this hotel as a mid point stop from Orlando to the Florida keys. I also figured I could checkout Ft Lauderdale while I was here. I had booked for 2 days but left after the first.

The good: the owners are friendly and knowledgable of the area. They provided a map of the area and suggested restaurants to eat at. The location is nice and close to the beach. The price is reasonable for its proximity to the beach.

If that's all you care about, great! That's probably how a place like this gets 5 stars on tripadvisor.

The bad: very old and although the grounds are beautifully kept up the rooms are very outdated. The window mounted a/c unit whirred throughout the night to try and keep the room cool. There was a vine coming from the outside from the side of the unit (housekeeping failed to notice this?). No shampoo was provided. When I returned late Saturday night I found all the parking was taken so I parked about 40 yards away on the street.

I don't understand how people rate a place like this 5 stars in every category. It's simply a cheap p room near the beach at a decent rate not a luxury hotel with premium bedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvilla, Owner at Vistamar Villa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you GoofyLV for your kind comments about us personally but…. Gee Whiz plants growing from the wall? We are in a semi tropical environment and the vines growing on our outside back wall are very prolific this time of year. When this guest left, I went in to check the room as I often do to let House Keeping (usually my wife Mary) know if there are any issues when I saw that a small vine about 10 inches long and the thickness of a piece of string had managed to find a small opening in the air conditioner frame. It hadn’t been there the day the room was made when this guest was due to check in. It took about 2 seconds to remove. It should not have been there at all but this was a completely exceptional event that had never happened before.

On the subject of noisy air conditioning, it is true that this particular room had an older air conditioner in the bedroom that was due to be replaced and has now been replaced.

With respect to “The Case of the Missing Shampoo” we have called in the authorities and they are working in shifts to get to the bottom of what happened to the shampoo. In the meantime, we do provide shampoo and if there wasn’t some in the bathroom, as with the vine in the air conditioner issue, why not just come into the office and let us know instead of saving it for a Trip Advisor expose?

On the subject of our being very outdated, I have to take some issue with this. I’m not saying we are at the cutting edge of hotel décor but we are always updating our rooms. The queen size beds have pillow top mattresses, we have 32” wide screen TVs in all rooms. The suites have updated kitchens. Most furniture was replaced a year ago. However, we do not claim to be a luxury hotel and it puzzles me why GoofyLV states we are “not a luxury hotel with premium bedding” as though somehow he had been misled. We even state on our web site:www.vistamarvilla.com :

“Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a spacious and comfortable environment.”

I can refer GoofyLV to several nearby luxury hotels including the W, the Ritz, the Pillars, the Atlantic, the Westin and the Lago Mar all at between $200 and $400 per night for a room not a suite, with parking and internet extra in some cases. In most cases, he will be lucky if his car is only 40 yards from his room and not cost him $25 per night plus valet tip.

Goofy says ours was “simply a cheap room”. In fact, he stayed in a suite with a fully equipped kitchen, a living room and a separate bedroom with televisions in both rooms at $99 per night with free internet and free parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband & I stayed in this hotel during our honeymoon. We loved it! , a perfect location , it is only 2 blocks away from the beach. The rooms are great!,comfortable and clean. The people at the front desk were really nice!. They gave us information about transportation and maps, which we really appropriate!.
We had a great time in fort Lauderdale! . I recommend this place! Wonderful!.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

this is our second visit to this motel in 2 years.It is ideally situated a couple of hundred yards from the beach in a quiet neighbourhood.You can walk to restaurants and shops from here if you don't have a car,approx 20 minute walk.This motel is run by The owners,John and Mary,who work tirelessly to ensure you have a good stay.We stayed in a suite which had everything we needed.They even provide beach towels.We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If staying more than a few days book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Nice room and suite motel. Husband and wife owned, they were very helpful with our accomidations. Pool was heated at perfect temp, no annoying bugs surrounding the place, lovely scenery surrounding the property. Rooms were spacious and clean, some outdated electrical outlets (some had only 2 prong access), air conditioners made alot of noise but did the job. Wifi was good, and so was parking. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days, so glad I did. It was clean, simple and well kept. The pool area is pretty and sheltered from the street. The suite was large and nicely furnished. Bed very comfortable. Kitchen serviceable. Walked to beach, the Bonnet House, the waterway and the state park. Air conditioners a little noisy but fans almost silent. Small table outside room overlooking the pool was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better if the stairs aren't a problem for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.