We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Save Saved
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Port Orchard, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simple and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel that is kept clean and the environment friendly. We arrived very early after an all night flight, they cleaned our room first and got us in by noon. We kept things simple to recuperate from our travels so we bought food at the grocery store and used the bbq provided in the courtyard near the pool. The room had a microwave, hot plate, dishes, and a small refrigerator. There were beach chairs and umbrella to use for a quick trip two blocks away to the beach. We would stay there again, no problem. It's not a high rise fancy spot, but it was clean and just right for us!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    51
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
64
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a great spot to stay in Ft Lauderdale. Like many other small motel / apartment rental places in the area but Vistamar stands out with their beautiful plants and shady areas to relax at the pool. Five minute walk to beautiful beach and inter coastal waterway. Bike sharing available a few blocks away and good grocery store within 15 minute walk. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farum, Denmark
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Only booked it for one night, have to return. A place where guest enjoy life, I can hear other guest sitting outside at evening enjoying life, laughing and talking, without being drunk. I can hear no aircondition and at my room I have a fan in the ceiling. It is almost as being in Spain or Italy. I am really pleasant surprise after having stayed in to many inpersonal US chain hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fort Erie, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

i find john and mary very friendly and accommodating.the villa mar is clean and well serviced.any problem i experienced during my stays at the villa were looked after in a timely manner.i like that the vista mar is close to restaurants,bars and shopping and only 1 block from the beautiful ft lauderdale beach.the pool is always sparkling clean and the water temperature is perfect.i have met some wonderful people at the vista mer .i believe the atmosphere at the vista mer makes it easy to meet others,if you like,or on the other hand you are able to enjoy your own space.this location is great for rest and relaxation with access to nightlife

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took a chance three years ago and knew we had found our nitch for a winter get-away. The owners, John and Mary, are the best and work hard every day to make their guests welcome and comfortable. This year we gave up renting a car. Most everything is within walking distance, and the public transportation is reliable and efficient. A short walk to the beach or enjoy the clean, heated pool at the resort. Get involved with the other residents, or enjoy your privacy... your choice. Once you stay at Vistama, you are hooked.

Tom & Charlene Brender from Michigan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vistamar and going on to the review page to write a review I came across the Think twice review. I have to say that one of us stayed at a different place. The Vistamar I stayed at was clean, relaxing and pleasant. I did not see any raccoons, bugs or unknown animals like skinny, hairy pigs.The owners and their son seemed to always be doing something and while I was there they had added new pool furniture and a new barbeque. I give them high marks for value and cleanliness and I had a very good stay and will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Vistamar for the first time seven years ago after a random booking from Italy, and since that time we return there every year, sometime twice, when possible.
The site is quiet, clean and in the green, the apartments are comfortable and there is a swimming pool and a parking, all at reasonable rates.
Few steps and we are on the beach, some steps more and we reach the stores, some miles and we can play in the best golf courses.
The owners are great: their friendship, kindness and affability give us the feeling we live as at home and it is really difficult to leave Vistamar without thinking we have met friends, not only hosts.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.