We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best for a quiet and worry free vacancy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vistamar Villa

Save Saved
You added Vistamar Villa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Vistamar Villa
2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best for a quiet and worry free vacancy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at Vistamar for the first time seven years ago after a random booking from Italy, and since that time we return there every year, sometime twice, when possible.
The site is quiet, clean and in the green, the apartments are comfortable and there is a swimming pool and a parking, all at reasonable rates.
Few steps and we are on the beach, some steps more and we reach the stores, some miles and we can play in the best golf courses.
The owners are great: their friendship, kindness and affability give us the feeling we live as at home and it is really difficult to leave Vistamar without thinking we have met friends, not only hosts.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    51
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
52
64
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have stayed at this friendly Hotel for at least 16 years . We are now on our second owners John and Mary S. We look forward to our visit each year which usually lasts 3 weeks or more and we bring numerous quests. Our room is always immaculate and vacuumed regularly it is tastefully decorated and kept very clean. We are pleased to be able to refer many of our friends to this Hotel (Resort). John and Mary are contnuing updating furniture, appliances etc. Ocasionally we notice something on Trip Advisor which is not complementary and we can only assume this is written by someone on behalf of a competitor. In summation we donot hesitate in recomending this Hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level give you a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The owner is a great guy! All the other guests were incredibly friendly. If you want a family run friendly experience, this is the perfect place near the beach. Anything else you need for the night, weekend or week is all around you too! This place is a diamond in the rough and the perfect place for a weekend beach getaway or pre-cruise/post-cruise night in Ft. Lauderdale. The only drawback maybe no elevator so if stairs are a problem make sure to book a first floor when you call. Oh! and BONUS entertainment of the monkeys that live at the Bonnet House which borders the back of the hotel property :)

Room Tip: 114 is the perfect overnight room for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Horrible place! The worst I have ever been to, very dirty, bugs in the kitchen, and honestly I do not think they had ever vacuumed. It is cheap, but anyway a little bit of cleaning would be a terrific idea! Before booking there, think twice.It is worth paying something extra and to stay in a decent place.

Room Tip: higher floors, definitely, caution to raccoons and bugs and other unkown animals( looks like a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vvilla, Owner at Vistamar Villa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
My first reaction was not to respond to this review as the allegations made are so extreme as to not be believable. However, they are so egregious that they must be answered. In addition, they are so off the wall that I wonder what the real motivation of this reviewer is. We have reviewed the records of our guests from Montreal in January and there were no complaints made at the time.

First of all, everyone is free to call the Dead Bug Society at 954-975-8012 who treat our rooms with preventative pest control on a monthly basis and ask for Mark, the owner, for a report of bugs or any other animals on our property.

Secondly, our rooms receive a thorough and lengthy cleaning at every checkout which includes vacuuming. In addition, our carpets are cleaned on a regular basis.

In the “Room Tips” section, it is difficult to comprehend what is being claimed as the grammar and syntax are incoherent. The implication seems to be that we are some sort of zoo. We are not. The occasional raccoon or possum may be seen on the streets in this area and on occasion one may pass through our property. This is the result of Bonnet House Museum and Gardens occupying 35 acres in the North Beach area of Fort Lauderdale, of which we are a part. Generally, this is a cause for amusement among our guests, especially when some of the Bonnet House squirrel monkeys beg for peanuts from our back fence.

Finally, if you have any problems when staying at a hotel, please advise the management at the time instead of saving it for a review. We certainly will do everything we can to rectify the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a nice central court, two story hotel that caters to both short term and longer term visits. Some of the rooms/suites have kitchens and separate living rooms. The courtyard is filled with palms and seating areas surrounding the pool. Be aware that there is no elevator to the second floor that I could find so you may have to lug your bags up (and back down) a flight. Be advised that restaurants are a few blocks away so bring snacks, drinks, breakfast stuff with you. They do provide coffee in the morning. You will smell bacon cooking in the morning but it is some of the guests preparing their own breakfasts.

We stayed the night before our Caribbean cruise and it is reasonably close to the cruise terminal as well as FLL airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The pleasant hotel, inexpensive, is well located, near a beach and restaurants, the zone of the pool and a yard was pleasant, the friendly man on reception provided us the best number, than we reserved, big, all not so new, but is pure. For the budgetary accommodation we recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This place is very nice place to stay. I felt save and wasn't worried about the neighborhood. It is only a couple blocks away from beach. John was very helpful with all the questions we had for him. Older place but still clean. We stayed here for two nights.
You get what you pay for...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vistamar Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vistamar Villa

Address: 2901 Vistamar Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-4017
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#16 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vistamar Villa offers friendly, tranquil accommodation situated two & a half blocks from the beach. It is set in tropical flora and backs on to historic Bonnet House. Please don't mistake us for the Ritz or the Trump. We are a period hotel providing a clean, spacious and comfortable environment. Our suites are over 600 sq. ft. with free wireless internet, a heated pool, barbeque and guest laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Vistamar Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vistamar Villa Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Vistamar Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vistamar Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.