We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crumbs in the bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South to your Saves list
America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Crumbs in the bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

outrageously overpriced and very very small. No amenities and there was a hole in the ceiling and crumbs in the bed. Gross. The owner was neat, but for the outrageous price and the horrible room no amount of service could make up for it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you absolutely must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    20
    11
    22
See reviews for
15
42
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked this hotel through Expedia unpublished rates, knowing I was booking a 2 star equivalent to days inn. After I purchased the room and the hotel was revealed, I was skeptical, but figured if Expedia has a partnership with this hotel then it should be fine. After all, it was in a great location close to airport and port everglades, and it was just for one night. So I arrived in Fort Lauderdale and called the motel. They did agree to early check in which was nice. Enroute, stopped at a diner for breakfast that was 2 blocks away from the motel. No one working there had heard of it, which set off some alarms for me. Upon arrival to the motel, it was In a sketchy area and looked run down. I attended the room and the door to enter was weathered and did not appear secure. As soon as I entered the room I felt itchy. The room was small, dents in the walls, humid, bathroom small with wet Kleenex stuffed into cracks in walls. I checked the mattress and sheets and observed translucent bugs. That was enough for me, I attempted to use the free wifi to look for another hotel, but the password did not work. I then got out the phone book in the room and noticed the same bugs on the counter and in the phone book. Tried to use the phone, but it didn't work. Ended up leaving as fast as I could. Spoke with the manager, who was friendly but refused refund. When I complained about the bugs, he apologized and advised he has the room sprayed monthly. The manager then assisted me by looking online for a better hotel and called me a cab. I ended up at the crowne plaza hotel down the road, which is much nicer. Had to pay $269 for the night but well worth it.

Stay away from Americas best inn! It looks like a motel that rents by the hour, and I wouldn't be surprised if they did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA LUZ
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Made this reservation on the internet and it seemed to be a moderate priced (for FL) inn centrally located to the airport and cruise ship port. Arriving late at night, the exterior was frightning. Having no where else to go we spent the night. Built in 1920-30 I dont believe much of anything has ever been done to the place since. Bathroom is nothing more than a converted closet. Holes in the wall, rotted base boards, leaking faucets, just deployable condition. Feeling insecure I tied the door shut with parachute cord to preclude unwanted entry. Unfortunately, because of lack of availablity we had to stay a second night but in a different room. I have stayed in nicer places for one third the money. Driving by, I would not voluntarily stop to stay rather elect to sleep in the car.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Convenient, cozy. Someone's putting some effort into this motel (keep it up!), most convenient to the port and to the FLL-Hollywood airport as well as highly convenient to beaches and other attractions. Most efficient check-in I've experienced in a good long while.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

OH MY ... we checked in late on Christmas night. Our room did not even have a working shower! Of course when I looked in the shower, there would have been NO way since it belonged in a junk yard! The sink barely drained and there was only 1 working lightbulb in the bathroom. Never had a worst night of sleeping ... couldn't wait to check out in the morning!

I will definitely be reading reviews before I let my husband book another hotel! We have sent a complaint to Expedia - this hotel needs a major renovation!

Room Tip: Wouldn't care to check out anything at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here 1 night before flying out of Ft. Lauderdale airport. One of the worst motels we have ever stayed. The faucet in the shower leaked constantly into the rust stained bath tub. One of the faucet handles was falling off. The carpet was old and very thin. The mattress was soft and the bed base was unsturdy.
I would not recommend this place and would never stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We also stayed here 1 night before boarding our cruise. The place is a real dump. First sign of this was there is no sign of the "hotel" on the building, just a small sandwich board on the sidewalk in front. The rooms are in terrible condition. Mold growing in the clothes closet (wouldn't dare hang any clothes in it!!). Floors were filthy .. do NOT walk on them barefoot!! Phone connection had been ripped out of the wall so no phone. Bathroom looked quite disgusting. Nothing appeared to have ever been thoroughly cleaned.
Granted, the AC worked as well as the plumbing.
The manager was very friendly and gave us somewhat of an explanation to all this. He bought the property to replace it with a new multi-level hotel next year. But who know when "next year" will be.

So, if all you want is a bed for a night, it's got it. But don't expect any creature comforts. It's definitely lower than the 2 stars we've stayed at in Mexico.

Room Tip: Add a few bucks and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Lauderdale
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#28 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauder...
#67 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
BEST WESTERN Fort Lauderdale Ai...
#46 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise Port
Comfort Suites Airport & Cruise ...
#36 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Airport / Cruise Port
Crowne Plaza Fort Lauderdale Air...
#26 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 798 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#18 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Address: 3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.