We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crumbs in the bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Save Saved
You added America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Crumbs in the bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

outrageously overpriced and very very small. No amenities and there was a hole in the ceiling and crumbs in the bed. Gross. The owner was neat, but for the outrageous price and the horrible room no amount of service could make up for it.

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless you absolutely must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    15
    15
    11
    20
See reviews for
13
31
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I booked this hotel through Expedia unpublished rates, knowing I was booking a 2 star equivalent to days inn. After I purchased the room and the hotel was revealed, I was skeptical, but figured if Expedia has a partnership with this hotel then it should be fine. After all, it was in a great location close to airport and port everglades, and it was just for one night. So I arrived in Fort Lauderdale and called the motel. They did agree to early check in which was nice. Enroute, stopped at a diner for breakfast that was 2 blocks away from the motel. No one working there had heard of it, which set off some alarms for me. Upon arrival to the motel, it was In a sketchy area and looked run down. I attended the room and the door to enter was weathered and did not appear secure. As soon as I entered the room I felt itchy. The room was small, dents in the walls, humid, bathroom small with wet Kleenex stuffed into cracks in walls. I checked the mattress and sheets and observed translucent bugs. That was enough for me, I attempted to use the free wifi to look for another hotel, but the password did not work. I then got out the phone book in the room and noticed the same bugs on the counter and in the phone book. Tried to use the phone, but it didn't work. Ended up leaving as fast as I could. Spoke with the manager, who was friendly but refused refund. When I complained about the bugs, he apologized and advised he has the room sprayed monthly. The manager then assisted me by looking online for a better hotel and called me a cab. I ended up at the crowne plaza hotel down the road, which is much nicer. Had to pay $269 for the night but well worth it.

Stay away from Americas best inn! It looks like a motel that rents by the hour, and I wouldn't be surprised if they did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA LUZ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Made this reservation on the internet and it seemed to be a moderate priced (for FL) inn centrally located to the airport and cruise ship port. Arriving late at night, the exterior was frightning. Having no where else to go we spent the night. Built in 1920-30 I dont believe much of anything has ever been done to the place since. Bathroom is nothing more than a converted closet. Holes in the wall, rotted base boards, leaking faucets, just deployable condition. Feeling insecure I tied the door shut with parachute cord to preclude unwanted entry. Unfortunately, because of lack of availablity we had to stay a second night but in a different room. I have stayed in nicer places for one third the money. Driving by, I would not voluntarily stop to stay rather elect to sleep in the car.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Convenient, cozy. Someone's putting some effort into this motel (keep it up!), most convenient to the port and to the FLL-Hollywood airport as well as highly convenient to beaches and other attractions. Most efficient check-in I've experienced in a good long while.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

OH MY ... we checked in late on Christmas night. Our room did not even have a working shower! Of course when I looked in the shower, there would have been NO way since it belonged in a junk yard! The sink barely drained and there was only 1 working lightbulb in the bathroom. Never had a worst night of sleeping ... couldn't wait to check out in the morning!

I will definitely be reading reviews before I let my husband book another hotel! We have sent a complaint to Expedia - this hotel needs a major renovation!

Room Tip: Wouldn't care to check out anything at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here 1 night before flying out of Ft. Lauderdale airport. One of the worst motels we have ever stayed. The faucet in the shower leaked constantly into the rust stained bath tub. One of the faucet handles was falling off. The carpet was old and very thin. The mattress was soft and the bed base was unsturdy.
I would not recommend this place and would never stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We also stayed here 1 night before boarding our cruise. The place is a real dump. First sign of this was there is no sign of the "hotel" on the building, just a small sandwich board on the sidewalk in front. The rooms are in terrible condition. Mold growing in the clothes closet (wouldn't dare hang any clothes in it!!). Floors were filthy .. do NOT walk on them barefoot!! Phone connection had been ripped out of the wall so no phone. Bathroom looked quite disgusting. Nothing appeared to have ever been thoroughly cleaned.
Granted, the AC worked as well as the plumbing.
The manager was very friendly and gave us somewhat of an explanation to all this. He bought the property to replace it with a new multi-level hotel next year. But who know when "next year" will be.

So, if all you want is a bed for a night, it's got it. But don't expect any creature comforts. It's definitely lower than the 2 stars we've stayed at in Mexico.

Room Tip: Add a few bucks and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Address: 3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.