We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare” 1 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South to your Saves list
America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Owings Mills, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nightmare”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here 1 night before flying out of Ft. Lauderdale airport. One of the worst motels we have ever stayed. The faucet in the shower leaked constantly into the rust stained bath tub. One of the faucet handles was falling off. The carpet was old and very thin. The mattress was soft and the bed base was unsturdy.
I would not recommend this place and would never stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    20
    11
    22
See reviews for
15
42
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We also stayed here 1 night before boarding our cruise. The place is a real dump. First sign of this was there is no sign of the "hotel" on the building, just a small sandwich board on the sidewalk in front. The rooms are in terrible condition. Mold growing in the clothes closet (wouldn't dare hang any clothes in it!!). Floors were filthy .. do NOT walk on them barefoot!! Phone connection had been ripped out of the wall so no phone. Bathroom looked quite disgusting. Nothing appeared to have ever been thoroughly cleaned.
Granted, the AC worked as well as the plumbing.
The manager was very friendly and gave us somewhat of an explanation to all this. He bought the property to replace it with a new multi-level hotel next year. But who know when "next year" will be.

So, if all you want is a bed for a night, it's got it. But don't expect any creature comforts. It's definitely lower than the 2 stars we've stayed at in Mexico.

Room Tip: Add a few bucks and find a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I frequently stay at discount hotels and for the most part are happy. This hotel is the worst I have ever satyed in. The smoke alarm was removed with hot wires exposed. The shhets had blood on them and we couldn't identify the other bodily fluids. There was mold on the shower floor and the bathroom fixtures had rust built up on them. The air conditioner was thru the wall with a towel stuffed in to occupy the space.

We prepaid, but the owner refused to refund our money. We had to call the fire department to come out and tell us we couldn't stay in the room. Since he didn't have an extra room, he said we had to leave. We spent the night in the airport, but I felt much safer and cleaner in the terminal.

Don't do it! Don't STAY HERE.

Room Tip: We stayed at a Super 8 close to the airport on way down. Should have stayed at same place on way ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

if yur looking for a room for 1 night, very close to FLL this is it, nothing fancy, seemed clean(?) was only there for overnight hours & 5 min drive to airport, a bit hard to find as there was no sign.only problem was room reserved w/credit card-when we arrived tired & lost I paid w/cash, during confusion did not get receipt (my fault) the next month rec. credit card statement & room charge was listed, called owner (Chris) several times after no credit ever appeared on acct. he kept assuring me he had taken care of refund the 1st time i called-still 3 months later & no refund even tho he remembered us & after 3rd call to him i have given up, thought he was a stand up guy, guess not so we paid twice for a somewhat Bates Motel type of place,not sure if i wud stay there again-neighborhood a bit sketchy, really don't like being ripped off, but as i said my own fault for no receipt-had every other one for entire 10 day vacation!!!

Room Tip: nothing to say other than location was great for an early flight from FLL
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

The good things, it is really close to the airport and the manager was very nice. We came in at the happy hour and got a free drink. What else? The room was quite damaged and dirty. There was long hairs in the shower and drops did come out of the shower all night, we could not fix it.

So, for a short sleep before flying back home, it is okay. But not for more.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I just needed a basic place to sleep so i could catch an early flight the next morning and this was the most affordable motel in Fort Lauderdale via hotels.com. I expected it to be.. well.. average. What i discovered was a small, independent, American-owned motel that had tons of charm and whose owners obviously cared a great deal about their business.

The rooms had little decorating touches that you truly don't see too often in the cookie-cutter world of discount motels. It wasn't fancy, but everything was clean and freshly painted. The bed was SUPER comfy. The owners host a 'happy hour' around 6pm on the patio in front of the hotel, and i had one of the most relaxing evenings in a long time. Great conversation with the complimentary happy hour drinks :) When's the last time you did that at a Motel 6 or Comfort Suites?

I will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to my friends who want a budget-friendly place to stay in Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,
Andrew Walker, CEO
Traffic Brick Networks

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife booked this motel based upon "value". There were three couples staying here in preparation for going on a "once in a life time" cruise. The rooms were hot, the AC didn't cool, we had to clean off the AC filters of about 1/2 inch of dirt, the carpet was dirty, the bathtub and showers were worse than the ones i used in the bush of Africa last month, the sheets had yellow stains, need I say more? The owner assured my wife they had been remodeling the place. Hmmm! I guess they had not started that process yet! They sure need to get started though. The only UP SIDE was the staff. He was very nice! We arrived in Ft Lauderdale at 11:00 PM and finally found a great hotel a block away for $50 more. IT was well worth the money. I lost my payment for two rooms for that night but we GLADLY spent more money for a room we could actually feel comfortable about staying in.

Room Tip: Go to the Crown Plaza instead of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Address: 3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.