We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANY REVIEW OVER "1" IS POSTED BY THE OWNER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South to your Saves list
America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“ANY REVIEW OVER "1" IS POSTED BY THE OWNER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I frequently stay at discount hotels and for the most part are happy. This hotel is the worst I have ever satyed in. The smoke alarm was removed with hot wires exposed. The shhets had blood on them and we couldn't identify the other bodily fluids. There was mold on the shower floor and the bathroom fixtures had rust built up on them. The air conditioner was thru the wall with a towel stuffed in to occupy the space.

We prepaid, but the owner refused to refund our money. We had to call the fire department to come out and tell us we couldn't stay in the room. Since he didn't have an extra room, he said we had to leave. We spent the night in the airport, but I felt much safer and cleaner in the terminal.

Don't do it! Don't STAY HERE.

Room Tip: We stayed at a Super 8 close to the airport on way down. Should have stayed at same place on way ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    15
    15
    11
    21
See reviews for
13
32
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

if yur looking for a room for 1 night, very close to FLL this is it, nothing fancy, seemed clean(?) was only there for overnight hours & 5 min drive to airport, a bit hard to find as there was no sign.only problem was room reserved w/credit card-when we arrived tired & lost I paid w/cash, during confusion did not get receipt (my fault) the next month rec. credit card statement & room charge was listed, called owner (Chris) several times after no credit ever appeared on acct. he kept assuring me he had taken care of refund the 1st time i called-still 3 months later & no refund even tho he remembered us & after 3rd call to him i have given up, thought he was a stand up guy, guess not so we paid twice for a somewhat Bates Motel type of place,not sure if i wud stay there again-neighborhood a bit sketchy, really don't like being ripped off, but as i said my own fault for no receipt-had every other one for entire 10 day vacation!!!

Room Tip: nothing to say other than location was great for an early flight from FLL
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

The good things, it is really close to the airport and the manager was very nice. We came in at the happy hour and got a free drink. What else? The room was quite damaged and dirty. There was long hairs in the shower and drops did come out of the shower all night, we could not fix it.

So, for a short sleep before flying back home, it is okay. But not for more.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I just needed a basic place to sleep so i could catch an early flight the next morning and this was the most affordable motel in Fort Lauderdale via hotels.com. I expected it to be.. well.. average. What i discovered was a small, independent, American-owned motel that had tons of charm and whose owners obviously cared a great deal about their business.

The rooms had little decorating touches that you truly don't see too often in the cookie-cutter world of discount motels. It wasn't fancy, but everything was clean and freshly painted. The bed was SUPER comfy. The owners host a 'happy hour' around 6pm on the patio in front of the hotel, and i had one of the most relaxing evenings in a long time. Great conversation with the complimentary happy hour drinks :) When's the last time you did that at a Motel 6 or Comfort Suites?

I will definitely stay here again and will recommend it to my friends who want a budget-friendly place to stay in Fort Lauderdale.

Regards,
Andrew Walker, CEO
Traffic Brick Networks

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife booked this motel based upon "value". There were three couples staying here in preparation for going on a "once in a life time" cruise. The rooms were hot, the AC didn't cool, we had to clean off the AC filters of about 1/2 inch of dirt, the carpet was dirty, the bathtub and showers were worse than the ones i used in the bush of Africa last month, the sheets had yellow stains, need I say more? The owner assured my wife they had been remodeling the place. Hmmm! I guess they had not started that process yet! They sure need to get started though. The only UP SIDE was the staff. He was very nice! We arrived in Ft Lauderdale at 11:00 PM and finally found a great hotel a block away for $50 more. IT was well worth the money. I lost my payment for two rooms for that night but we GLADLY spent more money for a room we could actually feel comfortable about staying in.

Room Tip: Go to the Crown Plaza instead of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Stayed for just one night, before flying out the next day. Found hotel from Hotels.com and although was a bit skeptical decided to try it. The location is fine but the hotel itself is easy to miss, I drove right past it.
Check-in was a snap and the owner was very friendly. Got to the room and was surprised at how small it was but could see that they'd tried to do some updates. The carpet is pretty nasty though so make sure to keep your shoes on. Bathroom is tiny too, but this building was built in the late 30's so the size is understandable.
All in all the motel is fine, but I wouldn't stay for longer than one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I travel a lot and stay more than 250 nights a year in Hotels, i booked this room for $ 51,50 upon arrivel they showed me a smelly room terrible, this Hotel is a $ 20 usd hotel not more , or change and make it into a Dog Hotel! i left and lost money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South

Address: 3001 SE 6th Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 (Formerly "Carolina Court Motel")
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Best Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Best Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn Ft. Lauderdale - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.