We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 West State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #65 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here pre-cruise for 1 night. The neighborhood is not one you want to walk around in, but there is a decent sports bar/grill attached. Beer prices were crazy high but food was reasonable and fairly good. Service was attentive. As for the hotel, our room (overlooking the parking lot) was clean and comfortable with a small refridge and microwave plus coffee machine. AC unit was really loud and often woke me up when it cycled on, but it cooled ok. Breakfast was adequate and there was a free shuttle to the pier (sign up when you check in) but only at 10:30. Later shuttles had a $5/head charge. (Why, because they can!) Just sign up for the free shuttle, since you'll probably wait around a while listening to the manager's stand-up comedy routine before actually heading to the port. We didn't go until about noon, but since boarding for the ship didn't begin until then it was fine, and there was a big screen TV in the lobby to help pass the time. Would stay again pre- or post-cruise. Good value.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We stayed at the Rodeway twice in November. We did back to back cruises and stayed before and in between them. We were pleased with the experience. The buildings are not new, but they are maintained and clean. The pool was nice and we used the laundry between cruises.

We ate at the bar/restaurant once. It was fine. There are other places within a short drive. The second night we went to a nearby BBQ place that was good. At times traffic was heavy and navigating can be confusing the first time in the area especially the nearby interchange. The GPS was helpful. A shuttle is available.

The shuttle to and from the port was good. At check in, I was asked if I wanted the early shuttle. There was a slight fee for the early shuttle, but I would recommend it. On our return after the cruise, we saw the crowd waiting for the later free shuttle to the port. Izzy orchestrates the shuttle loading. Both weeks, he told us we would be on board for lunch and he was right. The early shuttle is worth the few bucks. After getting off the ship, we called and the wait wasn't long. I think it was less than 30-40 minutes both times.

The complimentary breakfast was typical of such breakfasts, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, danish and make your own waffles. It was good and more than enough to hold you until you hit the buffet on board.

The staff was friendly and helpful. I needed to sent a fax and there was no problem. They opened the shop when we needed something. I don't remember what it was now.

If you do the stay and park, your is right there in the hotel lot. Easy access after the shuttle brings you back. We got our bags, I got the car, we loaded and went on our way.

We thought it was a good value - hotel, breakfast, car parking for the week and round trip shuttle for what you could pay just for a hotel. If we drive to a cruise out of Ft Lauderdale again, we would definitely consider staying there again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked a stay & cruise package, & everything was great. The room was comfortable, & we had dinner attached to the hotel. The next morning we had breakfast at the hotel, & took the shuttle to Port Everglades. When got back to the port my husband called the hotel to have the shuttle pick us up. The shuttle arrived a few minutes later, & we were back at the hotel within approximately 45 minutes of calling them. We were back on the road to home by 10 am.

Room Tip: Hotel is right off I-95, but a little tricky to get to due to roadway traffic pattern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was our second time staying here. There's a decent amount of value. It's a good place to stay if you are pre or post cruise. The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Love the airport/cruise port shuttle service. Free breakfast is meh at best. If you book on line, or call in to make the reservation, MAKE SURE to print out the rate you were guaranteed, as you may have some issues at check in, as we did, to avoid any discrepancies on the rate. This caused a very long check in process and a major overcharge on my credit card. Was not pleasant to straighten out... Especially pre-cruise.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place offers hotel/motel accommodations and storage of your car while on a cruise. The hotel staff is disinterested and poorly trained. The lobby looks like a bazaar. Transit service to the cruise terminal seems to have little connection to the arrival or departure of ships.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We've been staying at this hotel for 5 or 6 years now. We cruise twice a year on average and this is our hotel of choice. The hotel has recently been renovated and they did an excellent job. The rooms are large and have been updated. They look great. All rooms have a coffee/tea maker, microwave and safe.
The pool area has lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas. The pool is nicely heated. We love what they have done to their outdoor space. Lots of pathways, beautiful trees and bushes and flowers. It is really beautiful.
They offer complimentary shuttles from and to the airport and from and to the cruise port. This is the only hotel I know of that will pick you up from your cruise ship and bring you back to the hotel.
They also offer a complimentary breakfast with assorted muffins, bagels, toast, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, assorted juices, yogurt, freshly made waffles.
Don't worry if you have forgotten to pack something. They have a very well stocked gift shop in the lobby that sells sundry items, gifts, souvenirs and snacks. We had the pleasure of meeting the young lady and young man who work in the gift shop and they were both very pleasant and helpful. I'm sorry, I don't remember their names. Also in the lobby, a nice selection of wine is available to purchase.
There is a restaurant/sports bar attached to the hotel. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Great happy hour!
There were 3 ships in port the day we boarded our ship. We have been there on previous occasions when there have been 6 ships in port. Izzy always has the shuttles to the cruise ships perfectly organized no matter how many ships are in port.
Izzy goes above and beyond to make sure his guests are happy. I also want to give kudos to Kourtney and John at the front desk. They are all exceptional.
This hotel offers a park and cruise package. It also offers a day rate of $49 for those whose flight leaves late. They will pick you up at your cruise ship and bring you back to the hotel where you can use their facilities and they will take you to the airport to catch your flight.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is a great value for your money.

Room Tip: This hotel does not have an elevator, so if you have a mobility problem or lots of luggage, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is not a good place to stay. First, let me justify why there are 2 pucks (there would be 0 otherwise) ryan at front desk and the shuttle driver. They both made our stay better by really welcoming us. They are nice people who care.

The location: nothing nearby not even a fast food. Restaurant was so dingy looking (like a really really run down version of pub meets hooters) that we had to go for a tv dinner / ice cream tub meal.

Cleanliness: hair and stains on sheets. Clean remote not cleaned.
Curtains: dirty. Mini fridge looked clean - no bugs in our room.
Carpet in good condition, but with dirty stuff on it. Hasn't met a vacuum in a while.

Overall upkeep:
Never heard a ptac unit so loud
Walls are paper thin so it is good to not hear other people's arguments...
Mattress is shot.
Room not renovated. Top of desk has screw holes, ill-performed paint job on wall and doors. Bathroom a little dingy.

Over use of pa system in morning for shuttle or upselling of wine to go. Gets to be quite annoying.

Slept, but would not recommend and at $100 was much overpaid even for a pre-cruise. Website pics are misleading.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izzy f, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port, responded to this review, 6 days ago
C'EST LA VIE. Yes we do sell Wine and liquor for our cruisers. We do thank you for staying with us and the compliment about our Staff. We see that normally all your hotel stay are somewhat disappointing and a little on the tragic side. We are sorry that you are using this forum to degrade our Service, hotel and rooms as a form of extortion. We understand traveling on a budget and try to find ways for compensation. Since you wrote the review and ask all of your party to write a negative review. We inspected your room and found no evidence of what you claim in fact the room was immaculate other than the bed and towels. We did find the a/c a little noisy but that was recalibrated. All of the rooms have been pained and new carpet installed within the last 6-9 months. Unlike other hotels we use the bio friendly remote to prevent germs and is clean every day. Our Housekeeping department cleans and dusts every room every day. We use Ecolab for our constant, never ending extermination and cleaning chemicals like the other quality resorts, Cruise Ships and attractions do. Unlike most limited over price hotels in the area. We have a restaurant and a sports bar and grill. Our hotel is surrounded by over 21 places to eat out shuttle will drive you to any one of them but you did not want to pay the $2.50 per person to go anywhere. We notice the way you were on very a tight budget. Thank God we also have a snack and gift shop onsite with frozen food for sale. No hotel in the area has shop like ours. It must be nice that we also have a microwave and refrigerator in every room. THE FUNNY GUY> The cute chubby guy, who talks on the microphone give lots of information about your cruises, port, security, shuttles and even entertains the guest while they wait to board and checking in/out. This is the number one reason we have such a high satisfaction and repeat guest. Unlike other hotels that give little to no announcements and make everybody wait in line outside for the shuttle. We have the best organize shuttle service to and from the airport cruise port and our hotel. Our Hotel Is A Budget Friendly Full Service Hotel Specializing In The Pre & Post Cruise Stay. We Recently Renovate As Such What Make Us Great Is For The Value Of A Quality Room You Get Super Location Next To The Port, Great Service And Transportation With Many Great Amenities. We Offer A Restaurants And A Sports Bar & Grill, Car Rental All Onsite, Gift And Snack Shop Onsite. Most Hotels Charge For Breakfast, WIFI, and Shuttle Service To/From Cruise Port About $10 Per Person Each Way! We Are Still Free. Please go to our web site or google and see our hotel and you can see the brand new pictures and virtual tours that google places just did just 2 months ago. please find ways to compliment than to complain,
Unfortunately it is human nature for people to go out of their way to write a negative review. Our guests are extremely happy and keep coming back year after year. Thank you for traveling and writing another retaliatory review so quickly!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port

Address: 2440 West State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel near Port Everglades Cruise Port & Fort Lauderdale Hollywood International Airport (FLL). Your Stay Includes Free Breakfast and High Speed Wi-Fi Internet with On-site Family Restaurant, Bar & Grill. We also Offer Park & Cruise Fly and Day Stay Packages with Free Shuttle. We offer tours and transportation to the world-famous Sawgrass Mills mall, Fort Lauderdale beaches, Hollywood beaches, Everglades Tours, Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Sun Life Stadium; home of the Miami Dolphins; and Las Olas Riverfront featuring a variety of restaurants, boutiques, bars and entertainment. The hotel features renovated rooms and beautiful gardens and landscaping. This Fort Lauderdale, FL hotel offers shuttle service to and from the following locations: Free shuttle to and from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL). Free shuttle to and from Port Everglades Cruise Port, early pre-board availableo We also can arrange for private shuttles for family and early boarding at the cruise port. Free shuttle to and from Broward Convention Center. Shuttle service to and from Miami Cruise Ports (charge). Shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport (MIA) (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites Airport/Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn & Suites Airport/Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Rodeway Inn Hotel Airport
Rodeway Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.