We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible receptionist, hotel good only for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2440 West State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #61 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Horrible receptionist, hotel good only for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Me and my husband spent in this hotel only one night. We arrived around 8pm. on second day of Christmas so we realised that over Christmas people are not working normally. We booked our room 4 months in advance. Receptionist (not extremaly nice) told us that she does not have a pre-booked room for us because room service is not working that day. Instead of upgrading our room for free which is a normal procedure in such situation, she told us that for a better room with need to pay additionally, which we did not want. So she gave us worse room. Room was very basic, just to survive one night. Floor was horrible in the bathroom. However, parking and Internet is for free. Well, this hotel is good option if you are going to spend in it only one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    234
    266
    180
    88
    57
See reviews for
184
403
48
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We arrived at 3:00 am on December 27th due to weather delay. We just wanted to get to sleep before catching our boat the next day. As we were checking in we informed the front desk that the Emerald Princess would not begin boarding people until 2:00 pm at the earliest due to a Norovirus Outbreak. What did the hotel do about this you ask? They let us stay in our rooms until 1:00 pm with no added cost... UNHEARD OF and an extremely pleasant surprise after getting in at 3:00 am. We got a bit of sleep however were woken up the the manager organizing cruise patrons on other boats over the loud speaker .... might want to turn that down a bit in the courtyard... was still a bit sleepy but by no means was I complaining. After having our free "continental" breakfast which was NOT continental as they had a make your own waffle bar (with extremely helpful employees making sure I didn't burn the place down), fresh fruit, juices, cereal and the all important coffee we went back to our room put our bathing suits on a started our vacation on their pool deck. At 1:00pm we checked out and got on the FREE shuttle to the cruise port. It is not free after 10:30 am however they made an exception for the Emerald Princess Guests just another sign of this hotel bending over backyards for their customers.

I would just like to say the management, staff, facilities and the whole experience about staying at this hotel far exceeds their star rating on websites. I paid 70$ for 1 night here and it felt like I should have paid 130$.

Cudos to you Rodeway Inn Fort Lauderdale... I will be back.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a bit loud in the mornings as I mentioned with co-ordination of shuttle service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in advance of our cruise and our car was parked in the lot for the duration of our trip. While at sea, my wife was taken very ill and we had to leave the ship in Aruba where she was hospitalized for 12 days. It was a very stressful time for us and I was, among everything else, very concerned about having to leave the car behind for the extended time. We were flown home to Orlando and the car was in Fort Lauderdale at the Rodeway Inn. Izzy, the Manager, was very understanding and allowed us to keep the car safely parked in his lot until I could get back to pick it up. In fact, he offered to drive my car to my home in The Villages, Florida (265 miles one way) because he was going to be in this area later in the month of January attending a travel expo. This definitely goes beyond what a person expects as great customer service. Truly a professional at his best!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Rodeway Inn is a great little stay for transfers the next day - this is their core business and they do it really really well. Issy the Manager is very down to earth and has been the business for many years - he pulls it all together seamlessly. Issy co-ordinates the free shuttles to the cruise port and air ports and definitely goes the extra mile. I couldn't believe it when the airport shuttle was running a little late and he pulled out his own wallet and gave us the cab fare to cover the trip so we would miss our flight!
- The free breakfast is better then average with fresh waffles, bagels, boiled eggs, cereals, juices etc.
- Our room was clean and spacious with the only drawback being that it was a little noisy with average soundproofing - we could hear every word of a lengthy verbal argument going on between the couple in the next room however reception dealt with this efficiently when requested.
- The free pick up from the cruise port was efficient and timely - we only waited for around 10 mins. We were quite early to check-in and although our room understandably wasn't ready at 10am, Issy gave us a complimentary breakfast pass and made sure we were comfortable.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to others as a value-added, clean, affordable and efficient transfer hotel. A big Aussie thumbs up!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West New York, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Don't let the bustling, quirky little lobby put you off. The captain of this ship, a flamboyant, people-loving guy named Izzy, oversees every aspect of this place and the elements cohere! The staff is friendly and helpful, maid service is superb, tv cable channels are bountiful AND the remote is not sluggish as it is in many 4 star hotels....the story here is NOT luxury or endless amenities, it's anticipating and then fulfilling guests' basic needs .
Bravo, Izzy! You did it right!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed here three times, but this was the first one to offer the finger. What is it?? It is a big blue and white foam hand with the index finger up so that the van driver can spot you at the cruise port for pickut--Really works. Robert the driver saw us in the wrong location, and because I am handicaped he came over and helped my wife and I with all of our lugage to the van. He droped us off at our car which we had left for the seven day cruise and in all was extremely helpful for the both of us. I highly recommend geting the finger ($2) refundable--a great practical gimic.

Room Tip: get a ground floor to keep from luging bagage, and if you want a park and cruise book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The price of this hotel was just right. The staff were friendly and very helpful during the stay. The rooms were good based on the price. The cockroach we saw in the continental breakfast area was the biggest turn off of the entire stay. The cruise shuttle and airport shuttle was a great service though the morning organizer of the vans was distasteful in his approach and comments.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port

Address: 2440 West State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel near port everglades cruise port & Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL) Your Stay Includes Free Breakfast and High Speed Wi-Fi Internet with On-site Family Restaurant, Bar & Grill We also Offer Park & Cruise/Fly and Day Stay Packages with Free Shuttle. We offer tours and transportation to The world-famous Sawgrass Mills mall, Fort Lauderdale beaches, Hollywood beaches, Everglades Tours, Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Sun Life Stadium; home of the Miami Dolphins; and Las Olas Riverfront featuring a variety of restaurants, boutiques, bars and entertainment, are also located nearby.Renovated rooms and beautiful gardens and landscaping.This Fort Lauderdale, FL hotel offers shuttle service to and from the following locations:• Free shuttle to and from Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL)• Free shuttle to and from Port Everglades Cruise Port, early pre-board availableo We also can arrange for private shuttles for family and early boarding at the cruise port.• Free shuttle to and from Broward Convention Center• Shuttle service to and from Miami Cruise Ports (charge)• Shuttle service to and from Miami International Airport (MIA) (charge) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn & Suites Airport/Cruise Port Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Rodeway Inn And Suites Airport/Cruise Port
Rodeway Inn Hotel Airport
Rodeway Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdlale Airport/Cruise Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.