We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 134 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We only had one night at this lovely hotel, stayed here with our two older daughters, we all agreed that we wish we had more time.
Maggie was very accommodating as our flight did arrive early and we did linger a little on check out. It was just too nice to leave.
Would recommend it for many reasons. Location, Friendly Staff, Great Room Amenities, Cleanliness and very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    112
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
144
222
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Just back from a week's stay in the Aqua, and loved every minute of it. Hotel is sparkling clean, modern and well-equipped rooms, and two great pools. As someone who normally goes for the big-hotel experience, I wasn't sure if the Aqua would suit me, but it was wonderful! I was staying in a regular room for three nights and a suite for the remaining four, and the changeover was a piece of cake, thanks to the very helpful Maggie. Hotel is very well located, only a block from the beach and a few minutes from bars, restaurants, etc, but is like an oasis of seclusion - this was my first visit to Fort Lauderdale, but when I come back I'll definitely return to the Aqua!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

great find. did not want to do the large monster hotel experience but still wanted nice amenities close to the beach.

Pros:
* large spaces (we had a 1-bedroom) - true 1 bed with kitchen
* fantastic decorations - the place was very recently renovated with all the furniture and amenities in like new condition
* size - the place is a 50s motel fully renovated to modern standards, but still has that small property feel
* 2 pools with beach chairs and soothing musing - really cool just to hang out.
* location - one block away from the beach and 10 min away from the strip with all the bars & restaurants (although the w hotel and hilton restaurants are 5 min away)

negatives:
* none really, given the price range

Given the price i would return to this property hands down every time i am back in ft lauderdale. We did not have a car but apparently the parking is free at this hotel as well.

Room Tip: we stayed in a 2nd floor room - 1 bedroom which was tremendously spacious with a sofa bed if needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Comfortable, Swedish owners, attentive to detail, roomy and mini kitchen, two queen beds comfortable, sparkly decorated via Ikea, white, light, and sea close, a short walk to the beach, nice places for meals nearby.

Room Tip: 2nd. floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Suzanne B,
Your review was perfect for Aqua. The decor is sleek and modern and yet the feel is relaxed and comfortable. It's a great place. We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can come to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at the Aqua for a long weekend while visiting my husband's son. Since we like to socialize with my stepson and his friends we prefer to have a suite. The Aqua is not only all-suite, but the rooms are enormous with lots of room to entertain in the kitchen/sitting room area. The bedroom is also quite sizable and the bed was very comfortable. The only part of the room that was less than ideal was the bathroom (sufficient, clean, updated but very small and basic).
The hotel's 2 pools are lovely with comfortable seating and delightful floats and towels available for guest's use. Those looking for an adult-only experience should expect to encounter many families, children at the pools as the property apparently caters to families traveling to and from the cruise ships. We were not at all bothered by sharing the pool with a number of well-mannered children, but just wanted to alert those that prefer to avoid such.
The hotel is a short walk to the beach, restaurants and shopping. Great value - we will definitely stay her again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
scmRichmond,
We're so happy that we could be a part of your reunion with your stepson. We have a variety of room types and even have some with connecting doors, allowing plenty of room for visitors! We work hard to offer the best value and are so happy that you noticed. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My two sisters and I stayed at The Aqua Hotel for just one night before we went on a cruise. I wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is all white and turquoise and spotlessly clean and crisp and fresh and bright.

The staff was wonderful. Helpful and kind. Maggie, in particular, was very special. All three of us would go back to stay longer.

We also felt it was a real value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
LoveToTravel4Fun199,
Thanks so much for your review. We hope that you can stay for longer next time. We now have a shuttle service so just call us and let us pick you up from your next cruise....Maggie can be your 4th sister:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aland Island, Finland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel with my family of 2 adults and two kids (8 years / 9 months). We had booked an apartment with one bedroom and got a room facing the pool with fresh water on the ground floor.

Our flight was delayed and luggage went missing so I called the hotel in advance telling them we'd be late and arriving around midnight. There was staff waiting for us when we finally got to the hotel. Staff was friendly and our room was great. It was located on the ground floor, which was fortunate for us as we had a baby in a stroller. There are no elevators to the second or third floors.

What I found a bit strange was that the crib was not made ready before our arrival. They'd just put a crib in the livingroom with a mattress, blanket, pillow and linen in a plastic bag on the floor. It would've been nice to just put the baby in bed after a 15 hour travel at that time of the day instead of starting to make the bed for him.

The rooms were nice, there was coffee pouches left for us every day, there was washing-up liquid in the kitchen etc... And even to TVs! One in the livingroom and one in the bedroom! Aircon worked well. WiFi was free of charge and worked well too.

Our patio was not the nicest facing the street and parked cars, but we really didn't spend too much time there anyway! If you intend to spend time in room or patio / balcony, ask for a room in a higher floor! There are sunbeds by the pools too and they seemed to be enough for all. Pools are heated, which was nice!

The beach is just around the corner and was great! The surroundings are quiet at night as the hotel's located one block from the main street. Sometimes at night we could hear our neighbours upstairs walking around, but they weren't making any noise.

As we were traveling without a car, we found the walk to the supermarket and restaurants a bit long. It's OK to walk around and look for places to dine at, but when you notice in the evening that you're missing something for breakfast it's not nice to walk 30 minutes to get it. That's basically the only minus we can say after our trip.

Staff is friendly and will help you with everything you need. They even have a shuttle to the airport and another shuttle service they can book for other needs. We had to use the shuttle to get around as the taxis wouldn't drive us while we had an infant with us but didn't have a child seat of our own!

I would recommend this hotel for my friends as long as they're aware of the walk to the supermarkets and restaurants.

Room Tip: Go for the higher floors if you can walk the stairs, the balcony's nice and you won't hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
YouOnlyLiveOnce,
We hope that you and your family will be back soon to visit us. Thanks a lot for your feedback. We love hearing from our guest and will definitely look into the items you mentioned. In fact, our cafe The Plaza Bistro, has started serving breakfast. Next time you can save yourself a walk and grab something there! Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.