We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise..!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Scottsdale
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived this afternoon at the Aqua Motel to be greeted by a very friendly and pleasant manager.., Maggie who welcomed my wife and I as if we had been friends..., a great start to a very enjoyable stay. The Aqua is one of the cleanest hotels we have found. It is 2 blocks off the beach and close to many of the Lauderdale attractions. We would highly recommend the Aqua Hotel, especially for couples looking for the best..!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
hgenekoch,
It's always nice to be pleasantly surprised isn't it? We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Aqua. Thanks for recommending this hotel, especially for couples. We are always happy to help create that romantic getaway that all couples deserve. Oh and once you meet Maggie, you really are family! So come back soon and visit your family:) Thanks so much for your review, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    112
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
149
225
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We choose this hotel for an overnight prior to taking a cruise, while a bit out of the way from where we needed to be, it was worth it. We were warmly welcomed by Maggie Martino, escorted to our suite, which was very comfortable and the pool was just below us. Maggie made us feel immediately at home. While they have no on-site restaurant, there are several within waling distance. We would definitely stay again and add a couple more nights. We can recommend it without reservation!!

Room Tip: Pick a room near the back pool away from the office area, they have two. We had the use of the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Kit E,
We hope that you had a wonderful time on your cruise and are happy that you were able to spend a little time with us at Aqua. As you mentioned, the location is great. Shops, restaurants and the ocean are all within walking distance! Thanks so much for your review and recommendation. Can't wait to see you again! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northen Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
Very clean and modern
Friendly staff
Close to beach
Multiple things to do...

Cons:
Pricey
Maybe too modern looking?

This place looks like 2013, as 2013 would be viewed in a 1960's science fiction movie. The decor is part beach theme, part white on white minimalist, part "what's on sale at Ikea". Pretty cool overall, though.

The staff was Uber friendly, so kudos for that. However, when I asked about a late check out since our cruise didn't board til 1:30 and check out was 11:00 am, I was told nope, but I could hang out by the pool with my luggage until time to go to the cruise. No thanks, but luckily the cruise ship boards early.

I might stay here again if I was staying for a week or so. But for just a place to flop for the night, this is not that place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
JimboBauer,
We appreciate your feedback, thank you. The great thing about North Beach Village is that we have a hotel for every taste and budget. We truly do have something for everyone! Please give us a call next time you are in the area, and we would be very happy to help find that place to "flop for the night" Thanks so much for your review. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We really like this hotel. Traveling with small children. Stopped by the hotel quite late at night as it was an unplanned overnight stop. Manager on duty that night was very accommodating. Luckily there was a room available. Pleasantly surprised on how clean and fresh looking the rooms were. We checked out quite early the next day.
I would like stay here again, before I give it the full rating. I would recommend this hotel to families and friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
IsRazak,
We know that traveling can be hectic and are happy that you were able to find some relief at Aqua. With multiple hotels in North Beach Village, we can always help to find our guests that perfect spot for their taste and budget. We hope that you can visit us again soon for a longer stay. Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Loved this hotel was a little weary booking it on-line site unseen but it worked out perfectly. My husband and I are very particular about cleanliness and we were impressed. The staff was very friendly Maggie particularly so. The pools were clean, warm and beautiful. The rooms were spotless and I loved the retro feel. They could use an extra shelf in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable, pillows great. More than enough room. Location was awesome we walked everywhere. Beach was a block, restaurants very close, some shopping but that's not what we were there for. Also loved the distance from the airport. I would love to stay again. I would try an upstairs room though as we kept the curtains drawn as the windows look out onto the parking lot and we had little kids running around upstairs in the morning

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
allycliff,
We are pleased that Aqua lived up to your expectations. We know that booking via the internet can be a little scary and want our guests to always feel comfortable while booking a North Beach Village hotel. Give us a call next time you're in town, we'll keep an upstairs room ready for you! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a charming, clean, chic, comfortable, original little hotel!
The reason I'm only giving the administrative staff 4 stars is because I feel Maggie, the manager, failed greatly in the customer service department the last day of our stay. Let me explain: and please, Maggie, take this as constructive criticism...
Our stay at this special place began on Tuesday, December 10th;
On the Eve of our checkout, the 13th, I called reception and asked about the possibilities of a late check-out since our flight back to PR was not until 8:00pm and my daughter and I were traveling with her three small children. At this time I was told by the nigh staff that they could offer me a 3:00 pm check out time at an added cost of $25.00. I was delighted to hear this and planned my evening and subsequent morning accordingly.
Saturday morning, just as we are setting out to have brunch with the kids' 92 year old great grandma at Peter Pan, the housekeeper asks us if we will be returning; I tell her we have arranged a late check out and proceed with our plans. Maggie, the hotel manager runs out and tells us she knows nothing of our late check out plans and tells us she's fully booked ( Boat Show) and "she'll have to see if she can allow us to stay...". Although bothered by this ineptitude, I forge on and have brunch with Great Grandma. Upon our return, we find ourselves locked out of our room even though all our belongings were still inside. I go to the office and inform Maggie of this, she re-keys my card, and I asked her "well, do we have our promised late check out???
She curtly replies: "Come see me later..." She had a couple in the office with her, I'm assuming they were registering guests...
By this time I'm annoyed and proceed to mobilize the troops to get out and off premises ASAP.
As we are leaving, Maggie comes up, all peaches and cream, "but I was going to allow you to stay until 1:00 pm at no cost! By this time, it was too little, too late...
This could have and SHOULD HAVE been handled in a different manner.
Now that I have vented, I DO recommend this hotel!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Celi W,
You are 100% correct and we apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We are going to make sure to improve on the communication between the staff to ensure that this type of thing doesn't happen in the future. You are extremely kind to recommend Aqua considering your experience, and we really hope that you'll give us a chance to redeem ourselves next time you're in Ft.Lauderdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Aqua Hotel is part of the North Beach Village Resort, a group that is buying up older properties and bringing them to life again, better than ever. To look at the Aqua you think 50's apartment or motel but in great shape. The original designs of the hotels in "Where the Boys Are" movie are coming back to life in the Village. The hotel is all white with a touch of Aqua as in its name. The artwork is fun, black and white beach prints again with a touch of Aqua: bathing suits etc. We had a white leather couch in the living room with a fluffy throw in aqua, a modern white table and chairs, surfboard on the wall, a kitchen which was fully equipped, a huge closet with a safe, and a beautiful comfy king size bed in the bedroom. Everything was very modern and very clean. The bathroom had a lovely aqua glass sink but the bathroom was on the small size. The towels were plush and staying here was delightful. The office staff were all very friendly and helpful, basically they would do anything for you. The Aqua Hotel is located about a block from the Fort Lauderdale Beach. (No hotels are actually on this long stretch of beach) Parking and wifi are both free. I love what the North Beach Village Group is doing. Rather than building new and letting the old become an eyesore they are bringing this area back to life and that is great. The Aqua has two pools: a fresh water one and a salt water pool, a beautiful garden are where you can barbecue. They also have bikes with helmets and iPads that you can rent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#19 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.