We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great! Not disappointed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
The Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 136 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence
ma.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great! Not disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Loved this hotel was a little weary booking it on-line site unseen but it worked out perfectly. My husband and I are very particular about cleanliness and we were impressed. The staff was very friendly Maggie particularly so. The pools were clean, warm and beautiful. The rooms were spotless and I loved the retro feel. They could use an extra shelf in the bathroom. The beds were comfortable, pillows great. More than enough room. Location was awesome we walked everywhere. Beach was a block, restaurants very close, some shopping but that's not what we were there for. Also loved the distance from the airport. I would love to stay again. I would try an upstairs room though as we kept the curtains drawn as the windows look out onto the parking lot and we had little kids running around upstairs in the morning

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthBeachVillage, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
allycliff,
We are pleased that Aqua lived up to your expectations. We know that booking via the internet can be a little scary and want our guests to always feel comfortable while booking a North Beach Village hotel. Give us a call next time you're in town, we'll keep an upstairs room ready for you! Take care, NBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    174
    21
    12
    5
See reviews for
216
322
40
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Aqua Hotel is part of the North Beach Village Resort, a group that is buying up older properties and bringing them to life again, better than ever. To look at the Aqua you think 50's apartment or motel but in great shape. The original designs of the hotels in "Where the Boys Are" movie are coming back to life in the Village. The hotel is all white with a touch of Aqua as in its name. The artwork is fun, black and white beach prints again with a touch of Aqua: bathing suits etc. We had a white leather couch in the living room with a fluffy throw in aqua, a modern white table and chairs, surfboard on the wall, a kitchen which was fully equipped, a huge closet with a safe, and a beautiful comfy king size bed in the bedroom. Everything was very modern and very clean. The bathroom had a lovely aqua glass sink but the bathroom was on the small size. The towels were plush and staying here was delightful. The office staff were all very friendly and helpful, basically they would do anything for you. The Aqua Hotel is located about a block from the Fort Lauderdale Beach. (No hotels are actually on this long stretch of beach) Parking and wifi are both free. I love what the North Beach Village Group is doing. Rather than building new and letting the old become an eyesore they are bringing this area back to life and that is great. The Aqua has two pools: a fresh water one and a salt water pool, a beautiful garden are where you can barbecue. They also have bikes with helmets and iPads that you can rent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sthlm
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

stayed 2 nights in the beginning of our trip, we used this location as a base for our fort lauderdale stay. The beach is just 1 block away. Parking is free, we went to sawgrass for shopping.
It is possible to walk back and forth to the beach strip of fort lauderdale.

For that kind of money, it is almost impossible to get anything close to similar in that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I am a very honest reviewer. You can see from my profile I've traveled extensively. Prior to writing about our experiences with trip advisor, I was a travel agent and spent many years on the road. This hotel is a great find,tucked one block away from the beach. It's very clean, fresh, and the pool areas are very nice.
The room is updated with modern furnishings, You have a nice size area with a table and four chairs sofa ,TV,kitchen area. There are many choices on the beach with the high-end hotels and I would most definitely pick this over any of those high end hotels. But, if you're looking for action, a bar and a restaurant in your lobby then you won't find it here. I will definitely be back on my next trip to Fort Lauderdale. I am partial to Clearwater Beach. That is where I live and enjoy Gulf Coast beaches and a lower key atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains
Level Contributor
197 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel aqua is a boutique hotel 2 blocks from the Ft lauderdale beach and 7 miles from the airport. It is also very close to the Galleria mall. The rooms are quite comfortable and offer kitchenettes with cook top, toasters and others conveniences. The property offers 2 pools in addition to its close proximity to the beach. The only reason I did not score it a 5 is that they have no one in reception after midnite and if you arrive late, as we did, it is a bit of a hassle to check in. Secondly, the folks upstairs from us decided to move furniture at 3 I the morning....but there is nothing the management can do about that,except remind their guests to be mindful of their neighbors...a crap shoot in any hotel and lastly, the air conditioning system is very loud, and should be reviewed by management.
The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We took the suite upstairs with full kitchenette for 1 night, very nice,
clean, neat and welcoming.
Booked through the internet in advance on Aqua's website.
One of the outlets in the kitchen wasn't working, so the lady manager on
duty gave us an extension to plug appliance in to another outlet;
my nephew was twirling in a leather chair (can twirl 360 degrees) and
she saw him doing this and she said if he breaks it, we'll have to replace it or pay for it --- my
nephew said : ohhh ok i'm so sorry. I was shocked.
ahhhh okkkkkkk --- won't be going back there. He wasn't being rough at all.. just slow motion
twirling in the chair. my nephew has a deep respect for other peoples' valuables.
But that was just 1 manager - I met 2 others at the desk (younger) they were great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here for a week post cruise and really enjoyed our time at the Aqua. The location is ideal being just a couple blocks from the beach and all the beachside activities and is far enough away from the strip to be quiet in the evenings. You can just park your car and relax taking in all Ft Lauderdale has to offer. There is a Starbucks across the street in the Hilton resort (and one further down the street in the Westin) which is handy for a daily fix of your beverage of choice.

The staff are friendly and very helpful and always on hand with suggestions and advice. Room was always clean and ready when we needed it and it was nice to have beach towels in the room.

We originally booked a one room king but on seeing the one bedroom and full kitchen rooms upgraded to one of these for our stay. Its well worth it if you are there for more than a day or two. Had to change rooms after a day since the wifi was non existent in our first room (Room 2210 on the outside corner) and we moved to room 1207 nearer the office and the wifi was fine if slow. If wifi is important to you check the reception before committing to the room.

TIP: Room 1207 and its neighbor have a nice balcony with table, chairs and sun loungers and we found this to be a great additional living space to have breakfast etc and watch the world go by below.

Couple of other little things we noticed. The TV does not receive CNN even although it says it does--not a big deal but when you want to watch the news its a bit disappointing. There are a number of little things needing repaired in the room: several lamps have base parts missing, the glass shelves in the bathroom are ready to fall off the wall. I think the hotel needs on ongoing repair plan to sort these things out before they break.

All in all a great find and we will stay here agin when in Ft Lauderdale.

Room Tip: Room 1207 and its neighbor have a nice balcony with table, chairs and sun loungers and we found this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Lauderdale hotels
Victoria Park
The Victoria Park Hotel
The Victoria Park Hotel
#5 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Residence Inn By Marriott Fort L...
#12 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Central Beach
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
Sonesta Fort Lauderdale
#39 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.0 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Beach
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
B Ocean Resort Fort Lauderdale
#61 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
3.5 of 5 stars 2,047 reviews
Central Beach
W Fort Lauderdale
W Fort Lauderdale
#15 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 2,892 reviews
The Pillars Hotel Fort Lauderdal...
#4 of 136 in Fort Lauderdale
4.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#32 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.