We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
London, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked for 3 nights before leaving for a cruise. On arriving at the hotel, we were welcomed by Maggie, the manager, and quickly registered. Our room was not quite ready, so we were invited to sit by the pool, and offered a glass of wine. We were also given suggestions for restaurants in the area. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel has been recently remodelled, including new plumbing. Unfortunately, a small leak in the bathtub drain in the room above us had leaked water into the ceiling of our room over time, and a portion of the ceiling collapsed int our room. Maintenance and repair people were immediately arranged for. Maggie went to great lengths to ensure we were not inconvenienced, and within 2 hours she arranged for an upgraded room in a nearby hotel, as there were no other vacant rooms at the Aqua. On leaving the next day, Maggie adjusted our bill to compensate for any inconvenience and presented us with a bottle of wine. On our next trip to fort Lauderdale, the Aqua will be our first choice of hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    116
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
153
229
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of January. Maggie upgraded us to a one bedroom suite on the second floor. Brilliant having a separate kitchen and the facilities were excellent. Unfortunately the pipes in the bathroom rattled extremely loudly for a few hours every day: no idea what caused it but it was always around 10am so never at a time that would bother us.

Nice bathroom with lots of towels and robes a d great toiletries, including conditioner (important for anyone with long hair).

We loved the pool which was never packed and lots of seats and lots of sun. Just a 5 min walk to the beach.

Only downside was that is a bit of a walk to the restaurants and activities, which could be a bit annoying after a long night out!

Overall though I'd say definitely stay here if you like smart rooms and great service.

One note to owners - a welcome pack/room guide would be really handy (restaurant tips, local info,wifi code).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have stayed at several hotels in the area and from now on it is Aqua all the way. This is a recently renovated motel with a modern and hip vibe. My studio room was fine but very small and next time will spring for a larger room. This is a boutique style motel and doesnt have all the ameneties of a larger resort such as valet parking or bell hops. If you are looking for this then the Hilton or the W is better suited for you. Maggie who greeted me upon check in was thorough and made me laugh after my road trip, so refreshing after dealing with some of the corporate robots at other hotels. I love the location of this hotel. One block west off A1A. Location is ideal and safe. Pretty quiet and very little road noise. Night life is just a couple of long blocks away but just a block and a half from the W which has a great restaurant and fun night life. Parking is around the perimeter of the building and spaces were always available close to my room. My only complaint is I thought the HVAC was a noisey but not enough to warrant a complaint. Water taxi is 4-5 blocks away and taxis are always around the hilton or W.

I don't care for their cancellation policy, be sure to inquire about this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed two nights on our way to cruise on the last week of January. The hotel certainly deserved the high ranking by the Tripadvisor. It was very clean with a lot of little details, and located conviniently from beach, stores & restaurant. The best part was Maggie's hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

we visited Florida during 2 weeks mid January, starting in Miami, going to the Keys, Everglades, Napels and Sorasota. The end of our holidays was in FL. Honestly, from all the hotels we did, and as a Tripadvisor user, I must honestly say that The Aqua hotel is the best of all the hotels we did in Florida. The hotel has the perfect size,not too small to be boring, not too big to be unpersonal. The service is great and Maddy is the most welcoming lady I ever met. The rooms are great, big and clean, the pools are very relaxing and the location is perfect. Without any doubt, this is my number 1 htotel of Florida !!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is the first time that Tripadvisor's advice left me very disappointed. The Aqua Hotel is a 1950's motel with no amenities whatsoever, painted white. Very white. Just a little aqua accent in the room but white, white, white. Some flowers in the pathetic couryard might have been nice. White is a very unforgiving color. All the water stains and slight imperfections stand out. But that was not the problem. People who design and decorate a hotel should be made to stay in the room for a few days with luggage.
I could say that the people were nice but it seemed to be just lip service, The 'welcome' aka check in was a series of forms and recommendations of places owned by the same company. Everyone working there always said a friendly 'hi'. The good = great bed and nice bedding.
The bad. Their parking is on the street. It is not a lot but just some head-in spots outside the hotel that the tag you get allows you to park in. We were blocked in by folks who parked parallel to the curb at times. No help whatsoever with luggage; not even an available cart. Our first room (big window overlooking the pool) was flooded within 15 minutes of checking in. The staff immediately responded with a room of the same level. This room was under the stairs with one tiny window looking at the other building. People chained their bicycles to the stairs and left their strollers under the stairs. We were disturbed by their retrieval.
Let's talk about the room. First of all there is no comfortable chair, just something out of A Clockwork Orange and a cafe table. There is no place to put luggage, not even a fold out stand. We lived out of our luggage on the floor for 4 nights. There is little light in the room. The bathroom was tiny, the shower had a wall dispenser for soap so there were no products provided. The sink was poorly designed. The trendy faucet was set too far back of the fancy recepticle sink so unless the water was full on it ran onto the counter, which had bare plumbing underneath. My favorite was a simple problem. Because the bathroom was so small the only place that a waste basket could fit was next to the toilet under the toilet paper holder. Because the toilet paper holder did not secure the roll (open on one side), everytime you took some toilet paper the roll would fall into the waste basket.
And now, the housekeeping. Towels and the bath mat were a daily adventure. We were only 2 people and were given only 2 sets, including 2 large pool towels. Every day only some of what we used were replaced. We often had to go chasing after towels in the evening. This was EVERY DAY. When we checked in there were hairs in the tub. A lightbulb blew so we unscrewed it and left it for the housekeeper to replace. No replacement and dead bulb still sitting under the lamp. We mentioned something everyday to the person taking care of the hotel but never really complained. On the last day that person told us that our room was being kept by a new housekeeper so she must not be that good. Well, since the only thing that this hotel provides is a clean room to sleep in the head housekeeper should have checked rooms serviced by the new employee, no?
The hotel costs just enough and gives so little that care should be given to the little they give. I would not ordinarily call this place expensive for a beach hotel (1 1/2 blocks away but in a quiet place) but, for me, it boiled down to a bad value. I just do not get what other TA reviewers loved about the Aqua Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked this hotel off of reviews from trip advisor. I was not disappointed. We checked in and met Maggie! She was so nice and very helpful! We checked into our room which was right in front next to the pool. If I had one complaint that might be the only thing. We could hear the cleaning people as early as 8 AM outside our door. It did wake us up but we were able to go back to sleep! We loved the hotel overall! We booked a room with a kitchen so we went to the store and bought stuff for breakfast and lunch which helped keep costs down. We also picked up some alcohol that we enjoyed by the pool every afternoon! It was 80 and sunny everyday and the hotel is only a block and a half from the beach. It is so close to everything, we had a car but you did not really need one expect to get to the grocery store! They have a few beach chairs that they allow you to borrow as well and bikes you can rent! They also even have a grill outside for people to use if you want to grill dinner up! We LOVED this hotel and really hope to stay again in the future!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean so you don't hear the cleaning staff in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#37 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.