We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“fabulous place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We loved staying at the Aqua, so much that we came back for a second night! Great location, great service (special mention to Maggie!) best beds and good recommendations for dinner nearby. Maggie even lent us 4 towels for our swim with dolphins at Key Largo, when we weren't expected back for a week....very quiet and clean, close to the beach & good shopping mall. Would love to go back, and thank you Maggie & staff for 2 fabulous stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
tallymacfly,
We'd love to have you back soon and for more than 2 nights next time! Whenever you are visiting Fort Lauderdale, know that you have a large family at Aqua and in the entire North Beach Village!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    112
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
143
222
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel is awesome! 1 block from beach and walking distance to restaurants and shopping. I stayed in room 1301 and it was huge and very new and clean. Modern decor is clean and fresh. Large bedroom and large shower. The private balcony was huge with 4 chaise lounges and 2 tables. The best part of everything was the service and staff. Maggie/manager is very friendly and helpful - she truly enjoys her job and is always smiling. I have never met anyone so sincere in this type of business. Luci/office staff was very helpful and friendly. My phone was stolen on the second day I was in Ft. Lauderdale and she let me use her personal phone to make several calls to phone company and family. She also got online and looked up address to nearest phone company and called taxi to pick me up. What a staff and hotel!!!! When I return to Ft. Lauderdale i will stay no where but the Aqua and I have passed the word to all my friends and family. The Aqua was the best part of my trip. Many thanks to Maggie and Luci.

Room Tip: room 1301 is great and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
bhamgirl100,
We would like to extend many thanks to you! Your review was so kind, thanks very much. All of our Guest Service Managers, ilike Lucie and Maggie, are great at turning a bad situation into something more positive, just like you mentioned with your phone. Thanks so much for staying with us and we are already looking forward to your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here a few days ago and truly liked it as it is just a few meters away from the great Fort Lauderdale beach! The room is spacious, clean and the beds are comfy. Walk-in shower; so no need to climb into the bath first. my kind of shower! WIFI is free, though a bit slow. No charge for parking. Reception staff (Maggie) is lovely. She is more than willing to assist you whenever she can.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Info1000, Owner at The Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Duckles,
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Aqua. The rooms have elegant decor but are also very comfortable. Who says you can't have style, comfort and convenience all at the same time? Thanks so much for your review, we always love to hear from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The pristine room is decorated in white, aqua, and gray and features a big-screen TV, aqua glass bowl sink, fridge and microwave, and lightweight bathrobes. Maggie, the front desk staffer, was gracious and welcoming. A quick walk and you're at spacious Fort Lauderdale beach and many restaurants. It is a great alternative to the chain hotels near the airport if you are flying out of FLL and the drive to the airport was only 20 minutes. A few very minor items--I couldn't figure out the shampoo dispenser in the shower, there were no plastic cups for the bathroom, and the room didn't have any guest info about TV channels and nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you are looking for a quiet, intimate, high-style hotel just steps from Fort Lauderdale’s sandy beach with easy off-street parking right near the beach, you will find your home-away-from-home at The Aqua, one of Fort Lauderdale’s newest boutique hotels.

Tucked away on quiet Windamar Street right off FL A1A, 20 minutes from Fort Lauderdale International Airport, The Aqua is recently renovated in fresh white with aqua accents, with an Art Deco look to rival Miami. In the center of the action of North Fort Lauderdale’s gorgeous public beach, The Aqua is one of a cluster of small boutique hotels that comprise North Beach Village, an area undergoing revitalization in North Fort Lauderdale, adjacent to Bonnet House Museum and Garden,.

I stayed in one-bedroom unit 1207 with large living area, large screen TV, spacious bedroom, hip bathroom, balcony and nicely appointed kitchen. The white interior, gray stone floor tiles, with aqua accents is cool and refreshing, with fun retro and surfer beach art on the walls. Soft cotton robes and large bath sheets are provided for pool towels. I indulged in a birthday massage in the small Spa just steps from my room and enjoyed an early morning pre-sunrise dip in one of the two pools that are open 24 hours. Intimate seating areas in the grassy courtyard invite a late evening glass of wine, stargazing and quiet reading nooks.

If you want a change from large impersonal hotels (The Aqua is near several 5 star major hotels such as The Ritz, The Westin and Hilton, and a lively night scene) yet desire great personal service, spa treatments and a relaxed high-style atmosphere, look no further than The Aqua.

The only thing that could have improved my stay would be down pillows and more accessible electrical outlets in the bedroom to charge my devices. The bathroom would be a bit small for a family and could use towel hooks. I will be back to enjoy the beach and fabulous fresh seafood restaurants around the corner in North Beach Village.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I also stayed due to Trip Advisor as well as a recommendation from a friend. This is a brand new property just 1.5 blocks from the ocean. The manager (Maggie) was very friendly and came out to the parking area to greet me. I would give it a 5 star, but the room I had (studio) was very small. The other rooms appeared to be much more spacious. I did not try the pool, but the location is terrific. I would stay here again in a larger room.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is a true find! The exceptional service starts at check-in and never falters. The friendly and engaging staff are delightful. One block from the ocean and the great beaches of Fort Lauderdale, everything is within a short walk. The room is spacious and has amenities you won't find in most franchise hotels such as a kitchen. The property has 2 pools and quiet outdoor sitting areas. A perfect place to relax and de-stress.

Room Tip: The first floor pool side rooms are very convenient
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.