We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Aqua Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Aqua Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Aqua Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very, very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a really nice hotel! Modern, clean and close to the beach.
The staff was very helpful and nice. Only happy faces!
Highly recommended! I have already booked my second stay at The Aqua Hotel!

/O

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    112
    16
    7
    5
See reviews for
143
222
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Spacious, clean, nicely decorated rooms. The most friendly and helpful staff we have ever experienced. We stayed with our 1-year old daughter in a one bedroom suite and the extra space and self catering facilities were really helpful. Good location, just a one block to the beach, a short walk to bars/restaurants and a 5 minute drive to the mall. All the little extras really made things perfect - the loan of beach chairs, well equipped kitchen, discount at Plaza Bistro (restaurant owned by the same grip, just up the road, well worth a visit) etc. Our only complaint was the pools were not heated so were a little chilly but I'm sure that would be welcome on a hot Florida day! Would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Found the Aqua Hotel just off A1A within view of the ocean. A great "Retro" South Florida hotel that almost reminded me of a place I stayed in in Greece. Rooms are nice and very clean. LCDs, WiFi, everything you need... even some Coronas! Very small but quiet. Our host was the fun loving and always smiling Maggie. We had a great stay and will be back! Thanks again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Aqua Hotel and staff is a rare and wonderful find. Newly renovated in the spring of 2012, The Aqua Hotel revives the glory art deco days of sun and surf Fort Lauderdale style with a refreshingly modern facelift. Just steps (1 block) from the beach made famous in the 1960 classic film, Where the Boys Are, The Aqua offers easy access to the beach, shopping, entertainment and outstanding restaurants Fort Lauderdale has to offer.

My family and I were treated by the property managers, Maggie, Lucy, Christine and rest of the staff like long lost friends welcoming us in with open arms, warm smiles and a nice glass of wine.

The private tour of the property by Maggie left us stunned at the beauty and attention to every single detail lovingly crafted into this remarkably soothing environment. The full kitchen including flatware, plates and glasses was a very pleasant surprise.

Ditch the Ritz and go first class with The Aqua Hotel, just one of the amazing properties owned by the North Beach Village Community.

Room Tip: We stayed in the deluxe double queen suite in room 1203. Fantastic room with a kitchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We are a family of four, with a nearly teenager and a ten year old. We have travelled frequently to the USA, but have always flown into Orlando. This year we flew into Miami, and decided to stay in a hotel and drive up the next day to our villa.
After searching for many hours, we found the Aqua Hotel. We read the reviews and looked through the photos, and couldn't understand why it was so cheap for what we required (we didn't want the kids in the same bedroom space), so we took a chance and booked it, thinking if it wasn't what it stated we hadn't lost a lot of money.
Well, the Aqua didn't disappoint us. The location was amazing, hidden behind the main strip. The staff on duty was very helpful and processed us quickly (sorry, I can't remember her name). The room was ground floor, with a little kitchen, main bedroom, shower and toilet room and a sitting area with a sofa bed. It was perfect for us, and we will hopefully return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is fantastic! The room was large and very comfortable, and the grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. Maggie and Rick, who checked me in (and gave me a glass of wine right off the bat), were very welcoming! Claire the guest services manager is great too, eager who help you with anything you need. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just what you need if you're looking for a friendly, easy, uber clean, bright, modern, central place to stay in Fort Lauderdale.

Maggie and her excellent staff have got it all covered, and if you need something extra they are quick to help.

We stayed here for 10 days during the FL Boat Show with our three year old. It was a new experience for us having previously always stayed in one of the big name hotels on the beach. The Aqua Hotel is much more unique and special, especially since it has had a complete face lift and now looks like a totally hip hotel.

Our daughter loved the two family-friendly pools, enclosed garden area and our spacious, bright studio room.

Get ready for our next visit Maggie because you guys made us feel so welcome and we loved your hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 1108 and it was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aqua Hotel

Address: 3016 Windamar St., Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Formerly Angela's Beach Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#18 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aqua Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why are AQUA’s reviews so excellent? Is it that North Beach Village’s boutique hotels are located in an extraordinary area of Fort Lauderdale beach that’s perfect for kids and fun-loving adults? Or is it that AQUA’s concierge-like services ensure happiness? Could it be our sandy beaches a few minutes’ walk away or how our heated pools induce laughter? Maybe it’s our incredibly reasonable rates for modernized suites with flat-screens, kitchens and Wi-Fi included? Yes – families revisit us for these details and many more! From golden beaches and turquoise waters to the winding Intracoastal Waterways – AQUA’s at the heart of a lush barrier island. Our tropical ambiance and 322 days of Caribbean sunshine also adds to AQUA’s success – plus we’re minutes from Fort Lauderdale’s world-class airport, cruises, shops, nightlife, entertainment and restaurants. Imagine – rejuvenating family beach picnics, water taxi rides to chic Las Olas or thrilling watersport adventures!AQUA’s 39 spacious rooms – studios, suites and penthouses – have a refreshing, beachy décor. We never charge resort fees, or for coffee or beach views. Recharge your inner holiday and book AQUA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angela`s Beach Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Angelas Beach Hotel
Hotel Angelas Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aqua Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.