We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way. Top gay hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Grand Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Grand Resort and Spa
539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way. Top gay hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second time staying here and the experience could not have been any better. The room I had was a suite, with a small kitchen. It was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable. The resort is quiet, and perfect for resting/relaxing. It has many amenities: very affordable muchies in the rooms, free continental breakfast, free happy hour with drinks and excellent food, etc… It also has a great hot tub in the clothing optional area. The clientele is older and very polite. It is two blocks from the beach, in a great section that is not crowded or noisy… There are many great restaurants walking distance and even a great grocery store… All and all I can't imagine a better place to stay for a gay man on vacation.

Room Tip: They have a special part of the year where you get a fourth night for free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    36
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
2
94
48
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The grounds and rooms were very well kept. The staff was first class. A very laid back resort. Men of all ages were there. We made a lot of friends. The hot tub was eaoecially fun. The spa was very relaxing.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Visited the Grand for a four night stay in a 2 bed one bath suite with a small kitchen. Having stayed at other places I will say that this is the best place if you are looking for clean-well kept facilities. It would be hard to find anything out of place. They are on top of it. I think that for overall service it is by the book and they do deliver. I can recommend this place without reservation. I will most likely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

This has been my 4th stay at this resort during 2014, and out of all my visits to Gay Guest House in the area, this is by far the best and continues to be so. When my friends come to visit they are taken a back as to how beautiful and clean it is. The staff is phenomenal, and has been the same group of people since I started to stay there.

The varied fresh fruited water available throughout the day is thirst quenching and a nice touch. Not to mention for those early risers, breakfast and coffee is available at 6AM and coffee available throughout the day.

The jacuzzi is one that I am never afraid to use and very very clean. This place appears to attract great guest, which always makes for a good time as well.

I am also impressed as to how big the rooms were and that my WIFI never dropped once :)

Already booked my Stay for Nov, Jan and March.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This marked my fifth stay at "The Grand", as it is affectionately known. There are wonderful systems in place that keep this property humming right along! A lot of thought has gone into every aspect of your experience. I continue to be impressed with the genuinely kind and helpful staff, with the impeccably clean property, with the astoundingly top-notch spa. There's a fun blend of single gay guys and gay couples. It's a solid mix of being as chill as you want, or - if you want to get frisky, that can be had, too - and both vibes are always respected. It's two short blocks from the ocean, and an easy 5-minute stroll to the gay beach - although a vehicle is strongly recommended to get around (the gayborhood is a leisurely ten-minute drive). This is the absolute best gay resort in FLL; I'll never stay anywhere else! Love, love, LOVE! (Watch for the property's vibrant, h-u-g-e iguana! I spotted him only in the mornings, climbing up the palm tree nearest the pool and breakfast area.)

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

August 2014 marked my 8th trip to the Grand. As I've mentioned in previous reviews, each year the resort has made impressive upgrades to the property. WiFi, new outdoor couches/chairs throughout the resort, and small upgrades to the breakfast. The Spa is outstanding and a treatment (or three in my case) is a must to really help you relax. Fellow guests are friendly without being imposing. I can't say enough good things about the resort and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiet but close to the jacuzzi. It's a small property so in my opinion, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time here but not the last! This place is great, the rooms are big and clean, the pool and jacuzzi area are fantastic. Just two blocks from the beach! The staff, specially John, are so kind and ready to help.
By Ricardo

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale Beach's largest gay owned men's resort and spa. 33 updated stylish rooms and suites all with flat panel TVs and Blu Ray DVD players. Just steps to the Atlantic Ocean, we take great strides to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and carefree. You will sense an exceptional friendliness and warmth each time you visit. "The Spa at the Grand Resort" is also open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.