We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for relaxing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grand Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grand Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Grand Resort and Spa
539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect for relaxing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is our second visit. We had a few days in the area before a 4 day cruise. This is the PERFECT place to me for relaxing. You can sit by the pool, relax on the sun deck, read by the fountain, go to the spa or walk to the beach. The staff is always attentive and the place is always clean. After our first visit, we enjoyed the salt water pool so much, we converted our pool at home. I always look forward to coming back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    36
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
2
97
49
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was difficult to work out which gay resort to stay at from the reviews and information on the internet - so we ended up whittling it down to The Grand, especially as we could benefit from paying for three nights and getting the fourth free.

All the resorts are within a short walk to one another and a block from the beach. The Grand was amazing, firstly, the staff are so friendly and welcoming. They excel in customer service and go out of their way to assist and make you feel at home. After a walk around the property you are shown your room. Ours on the first floor overlooking the pool was spacious with a walk-in wardrobe and a small area next to the bathroom where there was the microwave and fridge along with more additional storage space. The bedroom is spacious, modern and really clean - commendations to the housekeeping services.

The resort has set a high standard for Fort Lauderdale and for gay resort accommodation worldwide. For the first time I remember I walked away from a gay accommodation feeling like they had been fair in all their prices. We didn't use the Spa but the range of options and prices were excellent. Even the in-room bar items were priced at a reasonable rate. Given that we had the special package the accommodation costs were comparable with mid-range motel chains yet here is a five-star gay resort.

The breakfast were generous and as we were at the resort on Saturday night we had the benefit of being at the resort for Happy Hour......... it was spectacular.

We are planning to return here in the future and thank the staff and owners for changing our attitude about gay resorts. In past posts, I have complained about how we get ripped-off as gay people by gay service providers - not at The Grand.

If you are planning on heading to Fort Lauderdale and looking for a great place to stay - look no further, stay at The Grand.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed for a weekend to experience The Grand for the first time, even though its been around for several years. The staff at first meeting and throughout our visit was great. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. This may seem like a small thing to some, but we've been to many other FTL resorts who DON'T have this attitude. The other guests were friendly and we had a nice time socializing. Our room was clean and comfortable but could have used some touching up, in particular, the shower floor. We saw 2 rooms during our visit and they seem to be consistent in appearence. One downfall of both of these rooms were the mattresses. They were not comfortable in the least. If you tout being a spa, you better have some great beds and linens to match. Overall, the staff, coupled with the summer special, made it a good time and a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

There was nothing about my stay here that was less than amazing. For it being my first time here I wasn't sure what to expect but was left so much more than simply satisfied. On top of the great customer service from the Grand employees Bill and Paul I got the most relaxing and worth every penny manicure and pedicure from Paula who works in the Spa at this resort. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Grand to any of my friends and family and will definitely make this a vacation destination anytime I fly down to beautiful south Florida in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We love coming to The Grand. The service is top notch and the Spa services are amazing! It tends to be an older crowd most of the time but we come for the leisure aspect. They keep the place very clean and comfortable. Again, very friendly and relaxing. That is why we keep coming back. Well, that and the great massage. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've been coming here off and on for 5 or 6 years. This place is more than a notch above most places that cater to a gay clientele. This place is about the experience of staying in nice accommodations and not at all about being sleazy. You don't see hardcore cruising going on here any time day or night. The massage in the spa doesn't come with a "happy ending". It's a place when you return people remember you. You're greeted by the staff who want to make sure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. Rooms are adequate and have a nice touch. I've had rooms with beds that were less comfortable that others. In general, the rooms in the front part of the hotel nearer to the pool are of nicer quality (and pricier). Rooms at the back of the hotel are closer to the spa and whirlpool tub. So, it depends on what you want. Here you get quality, comfort and lush surroundings along with a spa. It comes at a higher price than at some other places in Fort Lauderdale. In my mind, the Grand is worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My partner and I returned for another great stay this july, I have been going to The Grand for about 7 years and each time I go I see another new thing, they do an excellent job keeping the place first class. Herb and his staff are so well trained to see all the guests needs are met and even exceeded. This year even the breakfast was improved again! Great job! I cant wait to get back there!!

Room Tip: The courtyard is wonderful, and front you have an excellent view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grand Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Resort and Spa

Address: 539 N Birch Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Resort and Spa is Fort Lauderdale Beach's largest gay owned men's resort and spa. 33 updated stylish rooms and suites all with flat panel TVs and Blu Ray DVD players. Just steps to the Atlantic Ocean, we take great strides to ensure that your stay is enjoyable and carefree. You will sense an exceptional friendliness and warmth each time you visit. "The Spa at the Grand Resort" is also open to the public. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your The Grand Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grand Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.