We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll always stay here (as long as Philip still works here)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“I'll always stay here (as long as Philip still works here)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

There are a million nice places to stay at Forth Lauderdale Beach. What does the Royal Palms have that nobody else does? Philip. General Managers are known to sit at their desks and poke their heads out once in awhile just to check on things. With Philip as the General Manager, he checks in guests, cleans, waits on diners, fixes issues, and makes you feel literally like you're at home. His great personality and social nature brings people to the Royal Palms, guests and visitors alike.
It is no exaggeration that he is the reason we come back, and come back often. He knows how to run a hotel, and if something isn't right, he does what most don't, takes ownership and fixes it.
As for the hotel itself, always a joy. Clean rooms, welcoming staff, good food (worth the wait), relaxing pools (still needs a hot tub).
We visit the Royal Palms 5 times a year, and as long as Philip is there, we'll keep on coming.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front side are noisier (because of the bar) Rooms in the back side are quiet, but noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    92
    26
    23
    14
See reviews for
6
242
163
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redsox
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have been to Royal Palms several times and it just keeps getting better and better. The service is outstanding from the front desk to the bar to the housekeepers. There is always someone there to help you or give you a cold towel or offer you a beverage.

It really has become a home away from home. Philip, the General Manager goes above and beyond to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable. The other guests are usually very friendly. It is a fun place to go, relax and meet new people.

The rooms are clean and modern. Very fresh and comfortable.

I would recommend this place to anyone! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Front room for more lively feel, back room for more laid back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The saying goes "You only have one chance to make a first impression". Our first impression left a lot to be desired, like customer service! Upon arriving our room wasn't ready, so they said we could leave our bags in the office and go eat lunch by the pool. After our room was finally( 2hrs later) ready no one offered to take our luggage up for us. (Both of us have bad backs and had to carry the luggage up stairs-no elevator) also, they're very short handed on staff. So much so you have to do everything for yourself. Want a drink or food? You have to go to the bar and wait forever to get waited on since there is only 1 person there. No one walking around waiting on you while you are laying out. We even had to go back to the bar to pick up our food twice because there was no one to bring it to us. Want your room cleaned? Better do it yourself! Ours was only cleaned 2 of the 4 days we were there. Even when we told the guy at 4:30 we would be gone in half an hour then he could clean it, his reply was " let me get you some fresh towels since I don't think I can get to it today." And guess what....he didn't get to it! Want a towel for the pool. You'll have to go to the office for it. We've go to FtL few times a year and usually stay at Pineapple Point(didn't at first because we edited to late to book our trip), and went there for our last 3 nights as well as our next trip which we've already pre-booked! Royal Palms could learn a lot from Pineapple Point and maybe they would be fully booked for Christmas and New Years a year in advance the way Pineapple Point is!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My partner Doug and I spent 4 nights there two weeks ago and we always get the best treatment. This is our 5th or 6th stay. Philip, Juan, Carlos, and Orlando always are so nice and accommodating to us. They always treats us like we are special. We had a little issue with a noisy guest and they went out of there way to take care of it and us.
The food and service at the Bistro ,awesome.
Truly a great property, great service, and great people!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here after a cruise to relax and have an extra day of fun in the sun and am I ever glad we did!!! Our ship docked early in the morning and got there around 11 way before check in and were so nice by letting us check in early. Grounds were very well maintained only complaint was there are no elevators in this hotel and have to carry your heavy luggage up and down stairs. Our room was in very back building but wasn't that big of a hassle. Maybe a sexy bell hop boy with no shirt on would help this issue or a bell hop in general. We got to room and was very surprised how nice it was very clean modern design with a huge flat screen tv!!! Beds were comfy and ac worked well which was nice because ship cabin had lousy ac. We went to pool bar and had some drinks and appetizers and service and food were good. Drinks a tad pricey but expected at a hotel bar. The front desk staff was fantastic!!!! Being a hotel manager myself I really appreciated the above and beyond service!!! They were always willing to help you out to call you a cab, recommend bars and restaurants or anything else you may need. Guy even gave us some drink coupons for a few free drinks at local bars in Wilton which was only 15 min away!! We will definitely be back next year and have decided to stay here 2 days before our cruise next year and the day after!!! Can't wait to come back!!! Keep up the great work royal palms!!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

What a seriously pleasant surprise. I stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. So glad I listened to him. The staff at RP is incredibly helpful, from the check-in to the bar service to the cleaning staff. The food and the service at the delightful poolside bar is terrific. Plenty of places to lounge around two sunny pools. The overall resort is immaculate and the rooms are super clean, functional, and comfortable. The only possible criticism I would have is that the wifi is a bit sketchy (but I was told they are working on it) and the fellow at the front desk let me use the hotel's MiFi. I would absolutely recommend Royal Palms and look forward to my next stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I booked Royal Palm because of the design but will definitely return for the service. From the first call to book the room through check out, the attention to detail and level of service was exceptional. The staff is truly passionate about ensuring that you have a great stay. They are friendly, helpful and very professional. The rooms are well designed and very clean. The workout room is basic but had all of the equipment, which was well maintained, to meet my needs. The Sunday afternoon tea dance was popular with a great crowd and a great music. It was exactly what I needed to get away from the Chicago cold. I plan to return soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.