We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Breakfast With Breezes and Palm Trees” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Relaxing Breakfast With Breezes and Palm Trees”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Royal Palms has creatively set up a sidewalk cafe which is open for breakfast on weekends. The tables, a few of which have a view of the ocean, are set amid several palm trees. I enjoyed a great breakfast which consisted of a perfectly prepared omelet, a bowl of delicious fresh fruit and a bottomless cup of coffee. The food, the setting and the wonderful service were a great way to start the day. Keep up the great work RP!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    82
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
5
217
147
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellington, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We walked into the beautiful lobby to check in and were greeted immediately with smiling faces and professional ambience. The staff makes it a priority to ensure your complete satisfaction and we enjoyed getting to know all. The rooms are spacious, beautifully decorated and immaculate. The grounds are beautiful with 2 heated swimming pools and the poolside bar was a great place to meet new friends with a lot of laughs. At night we ate at their beautiful moonlit restaurant named The Plaza Bistro, which served outstanding entrees. The Royal Palm is a truly a rising star that we look forward to visiting again and again. A special thank you to Phillip and his staff who made this so enjoyable. See you next year!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As a meeting planner, I must admit to being pretty picky about places I stay. I heard great things about The Royal Palms from friends in Toronto and from the reviews on tripadvisor, and when it came time to visit Fort Lauderdale, there was only one choice.
All the positive reviews are true! This is a fantastic place ... clean well appointed rooms, excellent amenities, and incredibly helpful staff.

The hotel is located just steps away from the beach on a quiet street which was great for relaxation and lounging around the pool(s) (there are 2 heated pools). The rooms are very well decorated, clean (thank you Luis) and comfortable, the breakfasts were fantastic and the staff was incredible!

If you are looking for a great place to stay, and do not want to be in a huge box, this is the place for you. A special thank you to the General Manager Philip and his staff for making us feel special and welcomed. A HUGE recommendation for anyone wanting a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Ft Lauderdale and generally stay at 5 star corporate hotels or the higher end gay properties. Royal Palms surpassed my expectations with fabulous design, wonderful facilities and a great ambiance with the Sunday Fun day being a great way to spend the day. The hotel provides a great experience whether it be the modern rooms with funky art, the spa, the gym, two pools and a great bar. Perhaps the greatest asset are the staff from the room boys to bar staff and reception everyone smiles, all exude professional friendlies and all want to meet your expectations. The hotel is large enough for a great product but small enough to offer a genuinely personal service.

A great stay thoroughly recommended and I look forward to visiting again

Room Tip: Choose the back pool rooms for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were there from Wednesday last week. We were greeted warmly by the staff. Very nice grounds, excellent Spa services and a great pool bar. The people that were staying there seemed very relax and happy to be there. Can't wait to return next year to spend a least a week. So close to the beach. All in All had a fantastic time

Room Tip: We stayed next to the bar on the ground floor. No complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I had a friend recommend this hotel, so we changed our reservation at the last minute. I am so glad we did. The rooms and pools were immaculate and the location could not have been better. The staff is very attentive to the needs of the guests from the management to the bartenders. We left feeling like we had stayed with friends. We cannot wait to go back down.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

From the moments I booked to my last day there, the staff was attentive and gracious. The General Manager, Philip LaFond couldn't have taken any better care of me. Orlando was a doll and all I can say about Carlos was that he was the best bartender anywhere. The rooms were clean and quiet. The pools were wonderful. The Sunday afternoon Tea Dance was a blast!

Room Tip: The 2000 building on the back pool is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What's so amazing about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa and why reviews are so overwhelmingly positive is that we're a truly unique boutique hotel - an all-welcoming, hetero-friendly, gay male resort! Nestled in the heart of Fort Lauderdale beach's breezy, seaside North Beach Village, Royal Palms is a sleek, revitalized 50-room, two-building resort. Our celebrated, round-the-clock concierge-like services will impress you along with our luxurious amenities, full-service day spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and our popular bar & grill that serves scrumptious breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Whether you take a long swim in one of our two heated turquoise pools or just sunbathe in our sunny courtyards, you and your friends will relish Royal Palm's sensual, tropical atmosphere. And if you should ever desire to leave our luscious and intimate oasis you'll find we're nearby to everything fabulous! With just a 4-minute stroll to miles of world-class sandy beaches, watersports, restaurants, entertainment and nightlife - we make it all too easy to relax and laugh. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi, convenient parking onsite and supersized, gay smiles! Best of all - each ultraclean room has a modern European style with a sexy twist and beachy colors. Every room has a 42" flat screen TV, an I-pod Docking Station and are luxuriously appointed with the finest linens and comfy bath towels. All bathrooms feature tranquil rain-showers and natural pebble stone floors to massage your feet. We offer five room types and all are bigger than average - Supreme-King, Deluxe-King, Standard-King, Double-Queen and Mini-Queen. Book a Supreme-King today - at 368 square feet this supremely popular room is spacious, conveniently located near all the action and features a changing alcove. You'll also adore our Deluxe-King with 295 square feet to play around in - like kings on a gay holiday! Royal Palms Standard-King often gets booked up with 291 square feet and located in a more secluded setting. Naturally, our Double-Queen fills a lot of the needs bigger parties may require and at 287 square feet this private room is airy enough for some groovy dancing. If you'd like a room a bit cozier - be our guest and stay in our Mini-Queen which is anything but miniature at 220 square feet. The Royal Palms Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.