We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible gay men's resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredible gay men's resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I just retuned from spending Memorial Day at this amazing place.I was with my great friends Craig and David. We had a blast!! We always have our next trip planned before the current one is over!! We are going back for the Fourth of July. The place is a gay mans paradise. The reason we always stay there is for the amazing staff.Headed by GM Phillip and assistant Brian along with Juan Carlos and Juan your every need is met with a smile.They truly have passion for the needs of the guests and it shows.The restaurant and bar make me never want to leave the resort.Each time I go I make lasting friends. The atmosphere is filled with positive peaceful energy. if you can't tell I love this place and can't wait for the fourth.For an amazing time visit and see why this place is soooo special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L, General Manager at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and incredible review of the Royal Palms Resort & Spa. We know we are doing a great job of fostering a culture of love and happiness when we hear that our guests are planning their next visit before their current visit has come to an end.

We look forward to your return on July 4th and wish you more positive peaceful energy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    92
    26
    23
    13
See reviews for
6
241
163
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at the new Royal Palms 5 times now after almost 10 stays at the "old" Royal Palms, now the Lush Royale. While the resort has a perfect location, great rooms and architecture, wonderful food and drinks, and great clientele, where Royal Palms really excels is in service! General manager Phillip and assistant GM Brian are always around to smile at every guest, chat them up and make sure everything exceeds expectations. Bartenders Steve, Juan and Carlos are the best and the front desk and housekeeping guys cannot be matched. Everyone on staff makes you feel exactly like you are staying with your best friends. If you are looking for a fun, gay resort that is first class in every respect, book Royal Palms now!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms in the front of the property near the pool and outdoor bar/restaurant. For a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L, General Manager at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
WOW!!! Thank you for being a five time guest at the Royal Palms Resort & Spa and for letting us know that we have a perfect location, wonderful food and drinks as well as great clientele. We are even more ecstatic that you have such kind words to say about our staff and that we "excel" at service.

On behalf of all of your friends here at the Royal Palms Resort & Spa we send our best wishes, love and happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I just returned back to NYC after spending Memorial Day weekend here. I have stayed at the Royal Palms 4 times earlier and plan to return for July 4th weekend.

Philip, the General Manager, and his assistant Brian do an outstanding job of making all their guests feel special and attend to their every need.

The rooms are great, two beautiful pools and an on-sight restaurant/bar that is top notch.
I've stayed at other gay resorts in Ft. Lauderdale but this one has them beat by far. This place also attracts a really nice clientele - professional, fun, friendly people.

I look forward to many more visits. Do not hesitate to book here.

Howard, Forest Hills, NY

Room Tip: If you want it a bit quieter at night, stay in the building by the rear pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L, General Manager at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us over the Memorial Day weekend and for planning another stay with us during the upcoming July 4th holiday. We are especially happy to hear that the Royal Palms Resort & Spa is now your favorite resort in Fort Lauderdale. Your review has made our entire staff feel valued and appreciated and we send you much love and happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a gay property. If you are looking for the best place to stay they are only one block off the Beach. The staff is amazing. Carlos will make you an incredible mojito! They have a live DJ on Sundays poolside.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L, General Manager at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff at the Royal Palms Resort & Spa and for writing about our amazing Mojito's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuqerque,NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

It was our first trip to South Florida. We were staying nearby this cute and modern little resort. It had everything you could ask for. It serves excellent breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Also hosts a very fun daily happy hour with bartender "Carlos" making the best mojitos ever. And also on Sunday, the Royal Palms hosts a fabulous Sunday Pool Party in the late afternoon. We were very happy to have found this place and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip L, General Manager at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
We are very happy to hear that you found the Royal Palms Resort & Spa on your first trip to South Florida and that you are recommending us to others. The Mojito's made by Carlos at our daily Happy Hour are quickly becoming world famous and another great reason to come stay with us on your next visit to South Florida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are looking for a clothing optional all male vacation, this place is not for you. It is NOT clothing optional nor is it all male. 'Nuff said.What is even more disturbing is the fact that their website specifically states that this is a clothing optional resort and gives the distinct impression that it caters to the gay male population.....when in fact that USED to be the case, however, apparantly no longer is the case. What gay male wants to spend his hard earned vacation money only to sit by the pool with a group of gaggling women? Beware............

Room Tip: You might as well saty at the W or any of the newer "mixed" beach hotels. For a terrific c...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

recently my partner and I stayed at this resort and we have to say sorry but we will not be returning until changes are made. We actually are returning guests and things seem to be so different and not in a great way. The staff seems to be different... along with the "mens" resort. It really would have been nice to know all of these changes before we came.... If we knew we would of stayed at the W with a better staff, atmosphere, and experience! Thanks Philip for everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rp3127, General Manager at The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
We appreciate your honesty and sincerely thank you for voicing your opinion so that we can answer your concerns and become an even better resort. It is always a pleasure to have our returning guests join us and your patronage is greatly appreciated.

As you know, we are a gay resort catering to men but we have recognized that from time-to-time straight men and women would like to enter our resort and enjoy our hospitality as well as experience our culture of love, happiness and equality. In keeping with the quickly changing national awareness and acceptance towards the gay community by all people, we have decided to welcome these occasional guests and have embraced this new policy.

We would love for you to give us another opportunity to experience all that we have to offer at Royal Palms and also let you know that we have four sister properties here in North Beach Village which cater exclusively to gay men should you decide to look for another property for your next visit. The Lush Royale, Flamingo, Shubert and the Palm Plaza are all within walking distance and you can use all of the facilities here at the Royal Palms when staying at any of our sister properties. We hope that you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical sensuality meets chic urban design at The Royal Palms Resort and Spa in Fort Lauderdale. Nestled in the seaside neighborhood of North Beach Village, the sleek, stylish and sexy 66 room resort creates an intimate oasis just one short block from Ft. Lauderdale Beach. Stellar round-the-clock service and luxurious amenities such as a Bar, Grill, Spa and Fitness Center, all enhance the boutique-style enticement. The Royal Palms celebrates diversity by maintaining an all welcoming, atmosphere where creative minds and bodies can rejuvenate. We offer travelers who are twenty-one and older the opportunity to enjoy kids-free environments that encourage a higher level of relaxation. Following the mission of North Beach Village, you will be sure to gather feelings of love and happiness, while creating lasting memories of your time in this seaside destination. Play hard, rest well and indulge in all the Royal Palms and North Beach Village has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.