We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gay resort for men, with women allowed? Really!!?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added The Royal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A gay resort for men, with women allowed? Really!!?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Royal Palm has been the white glove of gay resorts in Fort Lauderdale. Now they are allowing women to frequent the bar, and stay at the resort. This is unacceptable. It is no longer a place for just men. I may as well go to a hotel elsewhere on the beach, where I can get similar service, and clientele. It's just not a special place anymore. Yes, because of women. Time to take off the white gloves.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    395
    65
    17
    13
    2
See reviews for
5
207
130
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you're looking for fun on a Sunday, the Royal Palms Sunday Funday is THE place to be. It's great for both locals and for visitors. The staff is so friendly, the food is delicious, and the rooms are new, bright, and very clean.

There is always a great mix of locals and vacationers which makes for a fun, vibrant crowd. Mike gives the best massage I've ever had. The Royal Palms is a great place to hang out any day of the week.

Room Tip: For convenience, try to get a room around the front pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Gay men are so wonderful! Now, there is a gay resort for men where women are also welcomed!! I love it so much! The place is clean, I don't worry about getting hit on, hassled, orpicked up. I'm planning a "staycation" with me and my girlfriends at this great resort. PS....The eye candy is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Mike and Tony are the best massuers in Ft Lauderdale. I have had a vacation home in a 5 star condo hotel in Ft Lauderdale since 2006 that bosts one of the top 50 spas in the US. They DO NOT hold a candle to the very knowledgable team of Mike and Tony at the Royal Palm Spa. They assess your problem areas very quickly and work on them in such a well thought out theraputic way that I feel like a new man, Mike literally has MAGIC FINGERS!

Juan the pool side bartender makes everyone feel at home and provides his guests samples of his best creations such as a banana daiquiri. In addition the food is fantastic especially pool side.

Philip Lapond, the manager, over seas all to make sure that every detail is attended to for every guests vacation enjoyment. He even came by and cleaned my poolside table. Clearly he is not affraid of getting his hands dirty to please his guests.

Thanks for always showing us a great time team at the Royal Palms.

Austin W. - Washington, DC

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport Massachusettes
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Just read that this is no longer just a gay men's resort. This explains why the clothing optional at the pool was put to rest, even though they claim other reasons.
Our first time here about a year and a half ago was awesome!! This time, just average, room was clean in the common areas but had many cobwebs around the ceiling areas.
Now with the policy change, why can't this be offered in the new addition next door to the resort??
I have to say, I felt this time business was down because there were hardly anyone around although it was midweek.
I will definitely think twice about returning now that this policy has changed to gay friendly.
This could of been mentioned to us and all others if they were honest by email or a letter.
Look at the reviews, I already see the 5 bubbles decreasing, too bad, what a shame. :(

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have stayed 4 days in this hotel and we liked the bedrooms, fitness and the pools. The fitness room is a bit small but that is to be expected in a smaller hotel. However, the fitness room needs some maintenance though as there were no towels, no water and airco did not work. Service is friendly and the breakfast (not included) and lunch are good.

During our last stay we also noticed that women now are staying in the hotel while the hotel website still mentions that it is a gay men hotel. The front desk confirmed that they have changed their policy.

By this policy change the hotel should now be regarded as "gay-friendly" and considering this there are more "gay-friendly hotels" in the neighbourhood that have better value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went for the first time within 20 days of opening, gay, clothing optional, and the same the next 2 times. Then it change to a clothed resort and on my last visit and I mean last it is now all welcome. We walked in not knowing it had changed to all welcome and had to listen to a group of women talking, laughing and screeching with a gay friend, till mid night.
Next visit if I want to stay at a straight place I will go to the B for the same price but get a great view.

Room Tip: Stay in the back building away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What's so amazing about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa and why reviews are so overwhelmingly positive is that we're a truly unique boutique hotel - an all-welcoming, hetero-friendly, gay male resort! Nestled in the heart of Fort Lauderdale beach's breezy, seaside North Beach Village, Royal Palms is a sleek, revitalized 50-room, two-building resort. Our celebrated, round-the-clock concierge-like services will impress you along with our luxurious amenities, full-service day spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and our popular bar & grill that serves scrumptious breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Whether you take a long swim in one of our two heated turquoise pools or just sunbathe in our sunny courtyards, you and your friends will relish Royal Palm's sensual, tropical atmosphere. And if you should ever desire to leave our luscious and intimate oasis you'll find we're nearby to everything fabulous! With just a 4-minute stroll to miles of world-class sandy beaches, watersports, restaurants, entertainment and nightlife - we make it all too easy to relax and laugh. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi, convenient parking onsite and supersized, gay smiles! Best of all - each ultraclean room has a modern European style with a sexy twist and beachy colors. Every room has a 42" flat screen TV, an I-pod Docking Station and are luxuriously appointed with the finest linens and comfy bath towels. All bathrooms feature tranquil rain-showers and natural pebble stone floors to massage your feet. We offer five room types and all are bigger than average - Supreme-King, Deluxe-King, Standard-King, Double-Queen and Mini-Queen. Book a Supreme-King today - at 368 square feet this supremely popular room is spacious, conveniently located near all the action and features a changing alcove. You'll also adore our Deluxe-King with 295 square feet to play around in - like kings on a gay holiday! Royal Palms Standard-King often gets booked up with 291 square feet and located in a more secluded setting. Naturally, our Double-Queen fills a lot of the needs bigger parties may require and at 287 square feet this private room is airy enough for some groovy dancing. If you'd like a room a bit cozier - be our guest and stay in our Mini-Queen which is anything but miniature at 220 square feet. The Royal Palms Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.