We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just keeps getting better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Royal Palms Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Royal Palms Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304   |  
Hotel amenities
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just keeps getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the RP a year ago. Both pre and post cruise. We were so impressed with that visit we made it our return destination again this year.

From the moment you walk in the door until you check out you are treated to excellence at every aspect of the resort. No request made of any stafff member goes unanswered in a prompt and proper fashion.

Rooms contiune to be clean and comfortable. Housekeeping is in and out while you are eating breakfast.

Bottom line: The RP trumps any nearby property. See for yourself. You are indeed treated Royally at The Royal Palms. We have booked our return visit for 2014.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    82
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
5
217
147
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My criteria for a hotel includes friendly staff, a quiet room, and a healthy breakfast. This was my second visit to the Royal Palms and it meets and exceeds those expectations. It was quite nice to be addressed by name for the duration of my visit soon after checking in. That made me feel like a person rather than just a paying guest. (Kudos to Brian!) There have been some very nice improvements since my last visit, especially with the air conditioners, which are much quieter but just as efficient. I really like the multitude of towels and the really plush bathrobes in each room plus the healthy choices for breakfast. This place just keeps getting better and better.

Room Tip: Stay in the rear section if you want a really quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Royal Palms twice... both before and after a cruise leaving from Fort Lauderdale. Both stays were absolutely wonderful. All staff members were friendly and helpful. It never felt like housekeeping was encroaching on me if I wanted to stay in the room a bit longer. The pool bar/grill was very nice for breakfasts and casual chitchat with other guests. The room was quite comfortable and bathroom was great - a rain-shower that a 6'7" guy can fit under is a win to me!! On arriving for my 2nd stay, I realized I had lost my mobile phone and the reception was very quick to call the cab company and have them do their thing to try and track it down. Only improvement I could see is to put phones in the rooms... I would totally stay here again!

Room Tip: There are 2 buildings; 1 at the front that surrounds the main pool and bar/grill area... and 1 at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were already booked and pre-paid at a different resort. Then we learned about Royal Palms Resort and had so much fun that we got a room for the remainder of our vacation even though we were paying for two places - that's how much we loved it at Royal Palms. The Manager was very talented at running everything smoothly and first class. Thank you guys!!! We will bring our business back again very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I keep returning to the Royal Palms. Friendly and efficient staff assure that your room is perfect, everyday. I love that they prepare delicious, healthy food at an affordable price on the premises, no need to get in car and drive. Grounds are beautiful, rooms are sleek, modern and spotless and there are two pools and a full bar. One block to a beautiful beach. My favorite hotel in Ft. Lauderdale by far.

Room Tip: all rooms are modern, sleek and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Hotel was recommended to me- i was not disappointed .
Great experience from check-in to check-out. Clean premises. Great pool, bar & very cute friendly staff. Would definitely recommend this place. Hope to go back soon.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I was amazed from the moment I walked into Hotel, the staff and services were outstanding. They made me feel like I was royalty. The Front desk staffs were very helpful when I had questions about the area, where the hot spots were and other tours places of interest. One day I was going for a walk around the area, when I was just outside the front of Hotel. One of the staff members walked up and handed me his umbrella. He stated I would need it more than him due to heavy clouds were forming and he felt it might rain during my walk.

He also stated he was already at work so he no longer needed the umbrella, I was amazed at the outstanding service I received at Royal Palms, the only problem I had was when I needed to check out. I really didn’t want to go. The front desk staff where suggesting I stay longer if I wanted. I said no due to family obligations at home. I will miss Royal Palms and its staff deeply until my next stay which I hope will be real soon.

Best Regards, Joseph T

Room Tip: If you want to man watch, make sure your room over looks the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa

Address: 717 Breakers Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What's so amazing about The Royal Palms Resort & Spa and why reviews are so overwhelmingly positive is that we're a truly unique boutique hotel - an all-welcoming, hetero-friendly, gay male resort! Nestled in the heart of Fort Lauderdale beach's breezy, seaside North Beach Village, Royal Palms is a sleek, revitalized 50-room, two-building resort. Our celebrated, round-the-clock concierge-like services will impress you along with our luxurious amenities, full-service day spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and our popular bar & grill that serves scrumptious breakfasts, lunches and dinners. Whether you take a long swim in one of our two heated turquoise pools or just sunbathe in our sunny courtyards, you and your friends will relish Royal Palm's sensual, tropical atmosphere. And if you should ever desire to leave our luscious and intimate oasis you'll find we're nearby to everything fabulous! With just a 4-minute stroll to miles of world-class sandy beaches, watersports, restaurants, entertainment and nightlife - we make it all too easy to relax and laugh. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi, convenient parking onsite and supersized, gay smiles! Best of all - each ultraclean room has a modern European style with a sexy twist and beachy colors. Every room has a 42" flat screen TV, an I-pod Docking Station and are luxuriously appointed with the finest linens and comfy bath towels. All bathrooms feature tranquil rain-showers and natural pebble stone floors to massage your feet. We offer five room types and all are bigger than average - Supreme-King, Deluxe-King, Standard-King, Double-Queen and Mini-Queen. Book a Supreme-King today - at 368 square feet this supremely popular room is spacious, conveniently located near all the action and features a changing alcove. You'll also adore our Deluxe-King with 295 square feet to play around in - like kings on a gay holiday! Royal Palms Standard-King often gets booked up with 291 square feet and located in a more secluded setting. Naturally, our Double-Queen fills a lot of the needs bigger parties may require and at 287 square feet this private room is airy enough for some groovy dancing. If you'd like a room a bit cozier - be our guest and stay in our Mini-Queen which is anything but miniature at 220 square feet. The Royal Palms Resort & Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Royal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Palms Hotel Fort Lauderdale
The Royal Palms Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Palms Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.