We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Merriweather Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Lauderdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Merriweather Resort
Save
You added The Merriweather Resort to your Saves list
115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304 (Central Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
nyc
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, terrible management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My family have stayed at the Merriweather on vacation for the last couple of years. We love the location, it's right across the street from the beach and walking distance to restaurants. It's an old place but that didn't bother us because the rooms are pretty clean and maintained. My only complain is the rudeness of the resort manager Mary Jo. I think if she's having a good day, then she's ok with everyone, but cross her on a bad day, get ready for rude words and bad attitude. I was shocked but when I read a couple of other negative reviews about Mary Jo here, I knew it wasn't only my family who experienced this bad attitude and rudeness. So if you're planning to stay at the Merriweather I hope you cross her on a good day! You've been warned!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your valuable feedback. We (especially the manager Mary Jo) take great pride in the Merriweather and aim to always be courteous and hospitable to all of our guests. We are sorry you feel as though you didn't receive this service at some point during your stay. Unfortunately we are unfamiliar with this particular situation. We encourage all guests to let us know if there is a problem when they are here so we can address it at that time. As you stated, we do have the best location in town and our rooms are clean and well maintained. Our door is always open for you to come back and enjoy your vacation again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    21
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
34
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupecoy Bay, St Maarten-St Martin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Every organisation has a personality that is reflected through its' management and staff. The resort manager, Mary Jo, sets the tone and personality for the Merriweather: splendid !
The entire staff is more than pleasant, accommodating and willing....you truly feel welcome and at home here. The location is superb ! If you like beachfront in a comfortable atmosphere....this is it !! We really enjoyed meeting all the wonderful animals, too......they are so clean, content and well behaved. Grace particularly touched our hearts (: The units are spacious, well-equipped and very clean. Housekeeping comes by daily with a warm smile and you wish you could take her home, too (: We highly recommend the experience.....so enjoy !! Mickie and Pierre Bigiaoui
from the beautiful island of St. Maarten !!

Room Tip: We only viewed one room, but all look great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Many thanks for your review of the Merriweather. we can't tell you enough how happy it makes us that you enjoyed your time here and especially that you enjoyed your time with our pets! See you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed many times and the staff ( mary jo) and everyone else there are so very helpful and nice. The location could not be any better!!! I have stayed in almost every room here are they are all great !!!

SWEDE

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
What a wonderful review! It's very rewarding to know our guests are so happy. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Recently stayed here and was pleasently surprised. We chose this facility as our 'timeshare' swap. Although it is an older facility, with two full floors and a couple of 'penthouse ' rooms on the third floor, it is directly across the road from the beach in an area where there are no buildings on the beach side of the one-way road. It was also no problem to cross the road to the beach as there are numerous cross walks. Our room was a one bedroom unit with a living room and full kitchen with two full baths. My only concern with the room was that the sleeper sofa was not very comfortable to sit on. (cushions were breaking down) The person at the front desk was very helpful and even printed out our airline boarding passes for us so that we would would not have to do this at the airport. If you do not have your own beach chairs, check the office for borrowing them (they have a few) because we rented three chairs and an umbrella for one day for $50, to steep for us... didn't do that again. You'd be better off to go to the store, buy a couple of chairs, use them for a week, and leave them in the office upon checkout for others to use in the future. Merriweather is also close enough to walk down the street to multiple resaurants, bars, entertainment, stores...Bubba Gump being one of the reaataurants. :) We'll be back !

Room Tip: Get a room on the second or third floor so that you can see over the pool and landscaping. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We enjoyed having you stay with us and look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Merriweather Resort is HOME toThor and Zeus, my Labrador Kids. There is no place they would rather be than at the Merriweather. The Labrador tails start wagging as we approach the Resort and they are crying by the time we pull into the driveway of the Merriweather. Mary Jo, the Manager of the Resort, sets the tone by greeting all of us as we exit the Suburban. The Kids are free to walk around the grounds and it is clear that they are indeed welcome. Our apartment is spacious and fully furnished with everything from wine glasses and opener to a water bowl and blankets for my Labrador Kids. At the Merriweather the STAFF are the best, Mary Jo is an ANGEL, and the location is UNBELIEVEABLE!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a place to bring your four legged friends, THIS IS IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
We love Thor and Zeus! Thank you for kind words and review of the Merriweather. As much as we love all of our guests, there's something about the cute four legged ones that steal our hearts. Thank you again and, as always, we look forward to seeing you here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

the best staff you can find from management MaryJo and Missy to the cleaning staff. They helped me with my 2 am arrival. A small resort very clean the pool very nice the grounds are well kept our room was complete with a full size kitchen all the things needed to cook full meals. When traveling with a family even though on vacation cooking meals in our complete kitchen saves lots of money. Have been going for years and each time it just gets better and better. MaryJo and Missy are very helpful ladies with local hot spots to visit and great local restaurants to visit where the locals go so the prices are not the prices of the restaurants on the beach side. During the recent hurricane Isaac the staff assured us we were all safe and no evacuation was necessary. which felt very assured since they are accustomed to all the tropical storms and hurricanes they go through each year. Hey Ladies Keep up the Great WORK a JOB WELL DONE!!! Can not wait till we meet again. M. Kennedy Lyons IL

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for this amazing review. You're right, the kitchen is a blessing in the unit and we love sharing our favorite local spots with our guests. We can't wait to see you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Best location!! Mary Jo (manager) was so helpfull. She made checking so easy. Thanks to her I was able to check in late with NO issues! The resort is very nice. The room was big, comfortable and clean. The kitchen is full of cookware, along with a refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher! I was amazed by how much money I saved by some in room cooking. They have FREE wireless internet with good connection and speed. I can't go anywhere without my laptop! The pool is beautiful and what a great view. They also have chairs to take down to the beach in the office. We will always stay there when we go to South Florida. Best of all I was able to bring my dogs. I loved taking them for walks with view down there.
Thank You Mary Jo & Missy!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelcruzer99, Manager at The Merriweather Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you! What an amazing review and compliment to our hotel. We are glad to have you as our guest on your trips to Ft. Lauderdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Merriweather Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Merriweather Resort

Address: 115 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale > Central Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of beautiful Fort Lauderdale Beach where everything from a swim in the sea to an adventure in the Everglades are at your fingertips. The hotel is located just blocks north of the famed Las Olas Boulevard where exciting nightlife, eclectic shops and fantastic dining are plentiful. We pride ourselves in our cozy home away from home atmosphere. Whether you are a family with children, traveling for business, or just looking to relax, you will feel as though you are at your second home at the beach. We offer free Wi-Fi, daily housekeeping, and a full kitchen in every room. We are confident that you will enjoy our little piece of paradise for your next trip to Fort Lauderdale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Merriweather Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merriweather Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.