We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Visit, But Must Have if in the Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Lauderdale Beachfront

Fort Lauderdale Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six Resort & Spa, 2301 S.E. 17th Street, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
(888) 761-8045
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$16*
and up
Fort Lauderdale Water Taxi
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Beaches! That's why you came to Fort Lauderdale and its 23 miles of beachfront are some of the best in Florida, whether you're here for the sun, ocean or people watching.
Standish, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Short Visit, But Must Have if in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had to pick up a family member and drive them to New England. Since I was in the area, I made a short detour and decided to stop at the beach. Keep in mind, it was December 4, 2013. I arrived at 11am. There is parking right in front of the beach. I paid $2.00 to park for 1 hour. There were plenty of spots. There were also bath houses along this area. However, given the amount of high rise hotels and all I have seen on tv about this area, I can see how the parking spots would fill up early in the morning, during Spring Break and summer time. The beach is typical east coast sand. I actually prefer the beaches on the west coast - as the sand is much whiter and finer. The day of my visit, it was the mid 80's - yes on 12/4/13. The water was warm. And a New Englander - I was in Heaven for 60 minutes just soaking up the sun and the warmth of the water. As we left, I continued to drive down the "main drag" to soak it all in. Having the ocean at my side as I was driving - was enjoyable. I can see how this beach could get very crowded and parking be difficult during peak times. But for a mid December visit, it could not have been more perfect.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,165
    671
    169
    35
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
metro area Washington, DC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“My favorite beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Ft. Lauderdale Beach is my favorite beach in Florida. I have been to probably all beaches on the east coast from Jaxville to Key West, and some on the west coast of FL. My family drove the length of A1A then on to Key West every year to see family in KW, before we moved to FTL. We would stop at different beaches on the way down. Unlike most beaches in south FL where you have to park and then walk a distance to the beach, FTL Beach you drive by the ocean and park by the beach. The clean, white sand beach is miles long and wide. The drive along the beach is exceptional. The south end has restaurants, shops, hotels, bars, and parking is harder to find. The north end is spacious beach overlooking the blue ocean. Parking is metered and very reasonable. Walks on the beach, wading in the water, or swimming is great fun at this tropical beach. We go to Miami every year and will drive to FTL just to go to the beach, because we love it! Don't miss the beautiful drive along Fort Lauderdale Beach. You won't regret it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small shore full of people”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Parking is costly and walking to get to the beach is horrendous. Too many people everywhere, very over-crowded. Sea-weed covers the shore. Don't even think about visiting here during holiday weekends, wait in traffic for hours, single lane streets everywhere, too much development.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Clean sand and clear water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We visited in November 2013 and the sand was clean with only one jelly fish sighting. The water was clear and really warm! Loved playing in the waves at high tide and also walking the long length of the beautiful beach. Right by our hotel it was shallow for a few feet, then a drop off for about twenty feet, then a sand bar so you could be out yards from the beach and be once again in waist deep water.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“My Favorite Urban Beachfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I love sitting at Spazio's at A1A & Las Olas sipping a cold one at happy hour and watching the world go by. And what a world it is there!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Lauderdale Beachfront also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Fort Lauderdale Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Lauderdale Beachfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.