We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent basic hotel & Fort Lauderdale visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   1441 Cordova Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent basic hotel & Fort Lauderdale visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here a night before our cruise, and for two nights after we returned. We were picked up at the airport within 15 minutes after we call when we arrived. That is included in the price of the room . Our room was very clean and the towels looked new. Jorge, The owner, is very cheerful and does all the driving, He charges six dollars a person to the cruise terminal for either pick up or delivery, which is half the going rate officially posted at the cruise port terminal.

True, there were things to be desired as far as appointments in the room were concerned. The clothes hangers were few,and certainly not matched sets. In contrast to the new towels and washcloths, the shower curtain was decrepit And there was no bath mat. The plumbing fixtures should be replaced, but the shower functioned perfectly well. It was quiet at night and we slept well.
In the balance, the friendliness of the staff and the basic continental breakfast with excellent orange juice more than offset the lack of other amenities.
Barry, one of the managers, and Tom, another, helped us with the choice of nearby restaurants. The Southport Raw bar was a fun beer joint recommended as one of the best two inFort Lauderdale. Just a block away.
They also recommended taking a water taxi tour of Fort Lauderdale, for $17 a day for seniors. You get on and get off anytime you want, and get to see all sorts of parts of Fort Lauderdale. It will take you all the way down past the best beaches, or the other way into the shopping centers on Las Olas blvd. The endless mansions and enormous yachts viewed are enough to turn one into a full-blown Communist! You can get off in the downtown area and go to the excellent Science and Discovery museum which has an enormous selection of hands-on fun things to do. A simulated Airboat ride through the swamps is an experience not to be missed! And my 80-year-old husband had to be pried out of a simulated pilot seat in the passenger airplane which he was trying endlessly to land.
Two blocks away from the Bridge there is an old-fashioned trolley which cost $.50 per person . It goes to the beaches.

Room Tip: room D, Ground level with a little patio and hammock was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    46
    24
    15
    31
See reviews for
29
76
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The Bridge at Cordova was great for the nights we stayed before and after our cruise. We didn't want to pay $150-$200 a night like other hotels in the area so it was right in our budget. The Bridge is a quaint, family atmosphered hotel and exactly want we expected. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly, especially the owner Mr. Ramos. Whenever we pass through Fort Lauderdale again we will only stay at The Bridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beside the friendly owner and staff, this "motel" is not good at all and not worth your money.
The bedding linens were not clean, so as the room overall. Water tap and bath tub were as old as 70s. No toiletries provided except bar soap, no hair dryer. The so call complimentary breakfast were only bread, cereal, milk, juice. Definitely won't come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

In spite of the (mostly) positive reviews, our stay here in late November for 1 night was not as good as we had hoped.
When we checked in, our room had the TV already going, the bed was mussed up, and it smelled awful. No towels or wash clothes, the curtains were stapled to the walls in the closed position, and the advertised King bed was 2 twins shoved together. Plenty of width, but considerably shorter than required. The faucett in the tub was dripping steadily, and as the only white spot in the tub was where the drip was, I would guess it had been leaking for a rather long time. After 2 weeks in Florida, we had stayed in quite a few hotels, and this was hands down the poorest example (not the cheapest, mind you!). 2 closets, but the one with the clothes hangers in it, the door would only open half way because of interference with the night stand. Oh yeah, the bed(s) were on wheels, and tended to move every time you did. This room was OLD and in serious need of an over-haul.

Room Tip: pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelsmartone, Owner at The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Wilcox. Please accept my apologies for not being a perfect ending retrieve for your terrible vacation you had in Florida, as you mention directly to my managers, not only us, your whole vacation experience as you quote ". My whole trip has been a disaster ". I accept that I will never have a perfect place, my property is not in competition to other hotels, I do describe this all over the world in my emails and marketing. I do not intent to false advertise my place, which is lovely, it is an old Florida building, but clean, practical, and beloved by hundreds and hundreds even if you would never believe it, and the reason is a difference in characters of the ones who understand the reality.
I do really like to ask God and Santa for this Christmas and the New Years to come, not to send rich people, please God no rich people, this Boutique Hotel will never fit with them, they will be always looking for a budget $85 a night property and then they will be very upset. I hope the best in this new year and future in your life.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights before our cruise, staff was excellent even in the pouring rain they helped with our luggage, our room was nice, we were there the same weekend of the boat show, so there were a lot of young people at the hostel either working the show or trying to get on with many of the yachts, we met some at the continental breakfast and it was a great experience, Jorge was a great host, after our cruise he came and picked us up and brought us back to the hotel because our flight was later in the afternoon, and then took us to the airport closer to our flight time. Would stay here again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was sceptical about staying here at first but I had no reason to be. Despite the fact we weren't staying in a private room, we got a free shuttle from the airport in a spacious van equipped with TV screens and a crazy sound system. They took our bags off the van for us and delivered them to our room - which was a little small because they'd crammed so many beds inside, but for the price we paid it was perfect. Less than £30 p/n each, we got our own kitchenette, all had double beds, our own bathroom, free breakfast in the morning and we practically had our own villa. Would definitely recommend this to anyone. Getting into Ft Lauderdale from the hostel also isn't a problem either as there's a $0.50 shuttle to town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Bridge at Cordova is a well placed hotel/hostel in Fort Lauderdale. I stayed there only one night in August 2012. Our room was clean, well equipped with private bathroom, kichen and a king size, extremely comfortable bed (I will never forgewt that bed :) ). I read in some reviews that there is no transfer from the airport, but I can assure you this is not true. When we arrived, the shuttle bus was busy, so we took a cab, but Barry, the manager paid the bill. The Bridge at Cordova has really cheap room rates, but the main thing I will remember the place and recommed it to others is the friendly and helpful crew. We had a smaller problem during our stay there, but Barry and Tommy were helping us in everything. We couldn't have solved the problem without them. If you want to get the most for your money in a safe, clean, affordable place, with the best staff ever, you must consider staying at the Bridge at Cordova.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel

Address: 1441 Cordova Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Key West experience in Ft Lauderdale.We weekly cater dozens of people coming to the convention center only 8 minutes walking away and people using Port Everglades on their way to cruises who use our property as a bridge; The rooms are spacious with their own bathroom, kitchenette, patio, plasma TV and on top of that breakfast and transportation included. Were are a family small budget hotel with 22 suites with jacuzzi surrounded by 40 restaurants, convenience stores, water taxi, shopping center, all walking distance. The beach is only 8 minutes away by bus, plenty of transportation. Port Everglades is only 4 minutes away and there is a fee of $6.00 per person. It will be a pleasure to prove my word as owner of this property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge At Cordova Hotel Fort Lauderdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge at Cordova Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.