We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1150 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #31 of 133 hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice home base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for five nights, using it as a base for exploring the Ft. Lauderdale, Miami and Everglades. Booked a Jr suite with lots of room, which made it very nice. Breakfast was HIEx standard - always good. Pricey by HIEx standards, at least in my experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    179
    52
    13
    7
See reviews for
122
148
20
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 3rd time prior to a winter cruise. As usual, found the staff helpful, the rooms clean and breakfast generous.

Room recommendations:
Unlike previous stays - this time was traveling with elderly parents and 2 sons. We booked the handicap accessible room for my parents. They are not in wheelchairs, but do use walkers and have difficulty with balance and stairs. They were disappointed to see the shower is not a walk-in - but is a regular tub. Although it does have lots of grab bars - still is an issue to navigate the climb into the tub.

My adult sons stayed with us in a suite style room and slept on the sofa bed. I should have booked a room with 2 beds - they were quite uncomfortable on the sofa bed as it was hard and short - so their feet were hanging over the edge. I am not saying this was any fault of the hotel - just would not recommend this arrangement for adults.

As previous trips - we walked down to the german restaurant to eat dinner. The hotel does not provide shuttle service other than to and from the airport. There is a handy strip mall across the street - with liquor store, groceries for those last minute purchases. The shuttle service to the airport is an extra cost provided by a local company - but extremely efficient and less than a taxi. They will also allow you to prepay for the return trip to the airport - highly recommend this as - again - often cheaper than a taxi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We enjoyed the breakfast area and the lobby. It was great space to connect with the parties we were traveling with to coordinate our schedules and just kick back. We also appreciated its proximity to the port.

However, the rooms were small, not clean, and the beds were really saggy. We got a bad nights sleep before taking off for the Bahamas. We arrived very tired and frustrated because of our poor room experience at this facility was sub-par.

My recommendation, look for another hotel in the same area. You cannot walk to the port anyway so might as well at 5-10 minutes to your travel time and get a good night sleep before you leave or after you return.

Yes, our experience was so bad that we canceled our reservation for the return and scheduled elsewhere!

Room Tip: Good luck with that one. The rooms are so narrow that you cannot even wheel a bag from the door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Tamara F,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We are pleased you were satisfied with the breakfast, our lobby and the location of our hotel. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had with your room accommodation. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGcare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had a great location and the staff was so nice. We would stay there again. They also provide an airport shuttle. The room was very lean & the beds comfortable. We liked the morning breakfast too.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers,Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were on a HAL cruise when my husband had a medical emergency so I stayed here while he was hospitalized at Broward, the staff were very supportive and helpful, always smiling. They also served a great complimentary breakfast and a complimentary shuttle to the airport

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night prior to leaving on a cruise from Port Canaveral. It was only about a 10 minute shuttle to the ship. Hotel as clean and accommodating. Two queen beds was a big selling point since we were traveling with our kids. Nice breakfast in the morning. Helpful point...cabs can be called at 777-777-7777. This might be cheaper than using the shuttle from the hotel both to the cruise ships and if you want to go out at night. The Hard Rock Hotel is about 10 minutes away which was a good evening activity and was $10 cheaper by cap than hotel shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Traveled to Florida for the 2013 ORANGE BOWL and needed to BUDGET to make the trip. Used Trip advisor for hotel reviews and location to and from airport, relatives, beach, and Sun Life Stadium. This hotel was everything and more ! CLEAN, good size breakfast buffet area and not only a hearty breakfast but a great place to gather overlooking the pool, clean and maintained pool and grounds, walking distance to fast food and forgotten travel items, clean rooms and common areas, helpful desk staff, grounds/building well maintained. Perfect for families and groups.

Room Tip: we stayed on the first floor and this room had tall ceilings (room seemed brighter and larger). Qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise

Address: 1150 W State Rd 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#29 Family Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
#34 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port is located near the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport, Port Everglades Cruise Port & Broward County Convention Center - the perfect choice for a business or leisure stay. The beaches, Shops of Las Olas, Riverwalk Arts & Entertainment district, downtown, Museums, Theaters, Malls and a variety of restaurants & local attractions are all within a short drive.The hotel pampers guests daily by serving a complimentary 'Express Start breakfast bar' along with USA Today news. Free high-speed Internet access is available in all guest rooms & suites plus free local calls, microwave/fridge, & coffee maker. The Marina Mile Meeting Room, Express Board Room & business center features high-speed Internet access. Adding to the many guest amenities & services to assure your stay is comfortable & pleasant an exercise room with state-of-the-art equipment, Coin laundry room, and outdoor heated pool in a tropical garden setting are on-site.A complimentary shuttle is available from 5:30 AM to midnight to and from the Ft. Lauderdale/Hollywood Int'l Airport. Drop-off transportation to Port Everglades cruise port is available on a complimentary basis. 'A completely non-smoking hotel.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Fort Lauderdale
Holiday Inn Fort Lauderdale
Fort Lauderdale Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.