We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks to your Saves list
Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   77 Hendricks Isle, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 (Formerly Beach Villas Apartments & Marinas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 133 Hotels in Fort Lauderdale
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Centrally located within reasonable walking distance (for the reasonably mobile!) to all of Fort Lauderdale's central attractions, the main positive of this family run hotel is that it is an oasis of tranquility. The self catering rooms Apartments) are spacious, and it has everything that's needed. Staff there VERY helpful and friendly. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
69
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We chose Kira-Mar when we had a change to our vacation plans and needed to find a place in Ft. Lauderdale that had units with kitchens. After seeing the reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to give Kira-Mar a try. We were not disappointed at all with our experience. The property is nicely updated and well-maintained, but still has the feel of a mid-century Florida motel. Situated in a residential area a little more than a mile from the beach, the place is not for those who are looking to be in the middle of the action. However, it's an easy drive or bike ride away from the beach (and there are beach chairs and umbrellas for you to borrow). It's also convenient to the restaurants and shops of Las Olas Blvd.

We stayed in room 8 on the second level. It had a nice living and dining area with flat screen TV, a huge bedroom with a large closet and king-sized bed, and a well-equipped kitchen. The room was cleaned every day except Sunday, and we were always provided with fresh beach and bathroom towels. Nice bathroom amenities and a hair dryer are provided.

The daily (except Sunday) continental breakfast served by the pool included pastries, bagels, cereal, yogurt and coffee. Nathalie and Reggie, the managers, are absolutely lovely people who are very accommodating. When I stopped by the office on Saturday afternoon in search of extra toilet paper, Nathalie kindly offered me a couple of extra bagels since the breakfast isn't offered on Sundays.

The pool area is a beautifully landscaped oasis, and has plenty of loungers available. The pool itself is really nice too; a fairly large size given the small size of the hotel. There are also outdoor grills and picnic tables available for guests' use, as well as on-site laundry.

There is a large construction project underway across the street from the property, and they get started pretty early in the morning. This never bothered us (and we could barely hear it from the inside of our unit) but may be problematic for light sleepers who like to sleep late. Also, if you're a fan of hanging out by the pool or on the balcony outside your room, keep some bug spray handy to keep the mosquitoes at bay. Deep Woods Off did the trick for us.

Kira-Mar was a great experience and I hope we get the chance to go back someday. Thanks, Nathalie and Reggie, for a great vacation!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

When I first heard about this place through tripadvisor, I couldn't believe how many good reviews there were. I was hard pressed to find one person say something bad about the place. And it took one moment from when I first arrived to realize how much of an ease this place was. I arrived a little after the office hours, dead tired from driving and being on a boat all day. When I walked around to the office, there were instructions taped to the door on which room I was in and how to get in. Since I had already paid for my stay in advance online, all I had to do was go to my room and crash. I didn't have to deal with standing at a counter and signing paper after paper.
Kira itself is really quiet. All the other guests weren't loud, late night partiers, but respectable mature people who just wanted to read books in the shade around the pool. And speaking of the pool, it was perfect! They have lots of places to sit around it, as well as surrounded by the building and trees, so it is nice and shady. At night, they have the pool, trees, and outlined walkways all lit up. Also, there is an area where you can have a shaded picnic or cookout on the grill. The pool area does have one section that isn't covered by the building, so you can still see out to the canal that runs by it.
The room itself is just perfect. They have hardwood floors, however, they are not slippery which is awesome. The bedroom and living room have nice size flat screen TV's with way too many channels to choose from, which was nice. I liked the kitchen, it was big enough to cook in and the refrigerator was more than decent size.
The only tricky part about the place, is that you have to go through downtown Ft. Lauderdale to get to it. US1 goes under Las Olas as a tunnel, so if you are driving North on US1 to get to Olas, you have to double back on a side street. There are signs for all this, but simply looking up google directions can get you there easily. You will go right down the heart of Las Olas, which is a Keys style street where people just park wherever they feel and there are many nice restaurants, clubs, and places to shop. It gets packed on the party nights, so just be prepared. I think SE 15th Ave (which is a little further towards the coast) is an easier side street to take to avoid all the people on Las Olas. But sometimes it is fun to drive down it to see all the expensive cars, crazy people, and unique modes of transportation. It is hard to believe that after going through downtown, riverwalk, and Las Olas, you get to a quiet place like Kira, which is only two streets down from all the hustle and bustle, but you do.

Room Tip: Bring your jogging shoes if you like a scenic jog in the morning down Las Olas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MI
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Everyone staying at Kira-Mar, including us, is a repeat guest. That obviously says something. Quiet and clean place, great pool, BBQ grills, picnic tables, free laundry. Since it is a small complex, everything is within 10 steps from your room. Managers Reggie and Nathalie live on site, so you know they are going to be make sure their own "home" is nice, and they achieve their goal of making everyone feel like they are family! Room security not even an issue since Natalie is the only one who ever cleans our room! Can walk to downtown or beach. Always take advantage of the breakfast that they set out by the pool. Already planning our next trip from Michigan to Kira-Mar!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We thought the place was nice and decorated well. But we didnt get a decent nights sleep and forget about sleeping past 6am...the noisy from the street and construction was so bad that I could never stay there again. It also caters to the older crowd. There wasnt an ice machine or a soda machine to get a drink if you needed one. The pool was heated tho and that was a plus. Overall not bad, but if you are a light sleeper or like to sleep in or party around the pool, this isnt the place.

Room Tip: There are no one bedrooms that dont face the street. So unless you are renting a two bedroom suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moriii2, Manager at Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and we are sorry there was so much noise from the neighboring properties during your stay. This usually is never a problem but unfortunately the property across the street was doing major construction during your stay with us and we look forward to it being complete soon. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when the construction is complete and we will do everything in our power to make sure your stay is fantastic. All the Best, The Kira-Mar Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Our third stay at Kira Mar and it gets better and better.
Location is just great, walking distance to Las Olas shopping and dining, walking distance with gorgeous views to the Beach.
The apartment is decorated really nice with lovely details. The grounds are well kept, nice vegetation, lovely views.
Reggie and Nathalie are there to make sure you have a perfect relaxed vacation.
But above all, there are such good vibes and positive energy that we can't think of a better place to stay when visiting Fort Lauderdale.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, actually it is a diamond without any flaws. Natalie and her husband, Reggie are the most wonderful, and accommodating hosts that I have ever met. Many times I travel alone, and I always feel safe and secure. This is very important. Breakfast is free, and it is amazing! The rooms are impeccably clean. If you need a beach chair, extra towel,. doing your laundry is free. It is a little sanctuary, and the prices are most reasonable. You are on Las Olas Blvd. Great shopping, food, and just a beautiful place. I treasure my time here, and have been to Fort Lauderdale several times. A friend stopped down 4 years ago, and loved it. It is warm, beautiful, cozy and inviting. Love this place, and Natalie and Reg. You are a stones throw away from South Beach, Boca Raton Town Center, and Miami, but Ft. Lauderdale has so much to offer. Treat yourselves, because Southwest has one direct flight to and from Ft Lauderdale form Albany, NY. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you choose to cook outside there is an outstanding outside area, and a covered huge table for eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks

Address: 77 Hendricks Isle, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301 (Formerly Beach Villas Apartments & Marinas)
Location: United States > Florida > Fort Lauderdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Fort Lauderdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kira-Mar consists of spacious one and two bedroom vacation apartments along with a deep-water marina that can accommodate boats up to forty-eight feet. Each unit has new hardwood floors and island-inspired decor. Traveling for business or pleasure, Kira-Mar is committed to providing each of our guests with superior service and accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks Hotel Fort Lauderdale
Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas And Docks
Kira Mar Waterfront Hotel Docks
Kira Mar Waterfront Motel Docks

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kira-Mar Waterfront Villas & Docks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.