We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't drop anchor here!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shooters Gift Shop Cafe - CLOSED

Shooters Gift Shop Cafe
3033 NE 32nd Ave, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308-7220
954-566-5511
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Golconda, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't drop anchor here!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our meal was good but the owner needs to clean this place up. Carpets dirty, restrooms not in the best shape, fish tanks deplorable and that is what we can see. After a brief glimpse of the kitchen...that was a show stopper for me. Wish I hadn't ordered my meal. Great view of yachts and boats in the Inland Waterway.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    29
    19
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“This place needs a complete makeover!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Have visited this establishment a number of times in the past but am NOT going back. This place has gone down tremendously over the years but the breaking point for me was the bird dropping on all exteriors chairs. The staff milled around oblivious to the lack of cleanliness. There were few people in the place at noon on a Saturday. That should have been our first clue.

The meal was not great. I had the chicken salad. There was way too much salad dressing although the spinach was fresh. I did not expect that the chicken would be battered and fried (I don't eat fried food) so because I didn't ask I felt I couldn't return my food. My spouse ate a club sandwich which he did not finish. he did not like it (all pressed meats! - way too much of it). It appears that they want to make up on quality but giving you quantity but it doesn't work!

The lady who served us was dressed in a manner more suitable to a Hooters restaurant. Perhaps Shooters will become a Hooters!!

The restrooms are at the end of a long hallway that would be difficult for people in wheelchairs. The washrooms could have been much cleaner!

All in all an experience we hope to forget,

It's really too bad as the location - on the inter-coastal is great and there is so much potential here.

I'm with 'beentherejohn' and I can see that we are not the only ones feeling the way we do with Shooters which, in the past, was a must visit.

We'll go back only in the revamp the whole restaurant, clean up the place, improve the menu and make the washrooms the best they can be!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A great water front spot to have a drink before going next door to the Chart House for dinner. Drinks are really good and generous, the scenery beautiful with the Intracoastal Waterway at your feet. Happy hour from 4-7 and since it's a "Water Taxi" stop, you can take the boat home instead of driving. They also have a great menu at elevated prices ( still less than the Chart House next door), but look where you are! :) Friendly staff and good music as well.
Recommend it highly.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax NS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“delightful setting, great food, reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

this place is on the intercoastal--indoor outdoor which puts you right at the waterside --fun service and wonderful food--always a bit creative in menu but in a delicious way. right at the northernmost water taxi stop, and a delightful place to enjoy the food and the peace of the water--I winter in fort lauderdale and it's one of my favorite places to take visitors to the city and they love it. again, very reasonable priced for the delightful time you have there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“won't go back soon or maybe ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Been there before and it was just OK. Right on the water is nice but slow service and mediocre menu make it ho hum. DO NOT go on a Sunday! What's up with a $39 brunch in a low key water front cafe. Came on the water taxi for a leisurely Sunday lunch and drink. Back on the taxi right away and on to another place down the river. Hope this fails for them miserably and soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shooters Gift Shop Cafe also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooters Gift Shop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.