We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school experience at its best.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Acres Restaurant

Tropical Acres Restaurant
2500 Griffin Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
+1 954-989-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,123 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $16 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: South Florida's oldest and finest steakhouse, featuring superior cuts of prime rib, filet mignon, Maine lobster, fresh fish, New York strip and other fine specialties. We offer a nice selection of seafood and Italian entrees as well. Tropical Acres is open for banquets, wedding receptions and company events or you can join us for cocktails in our intimate lounge.
United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Old school experience at its best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I just paid another visit to this local spot. We have to stop for dinner if we are anywhere near Miami. They are celebrating sixty years in business. Love the wait staff, they always take care of us. Steaks are tender and flavorful, always cooked correctly. I had pork chops that we're the best I've had. Love the hash brown potatos. Nice fresh salad, house made breads are tasty. If your near the landmark, take the time to stop for dinner. You won't regret it. The key lime pie and apple blossom are are great finish to your meal !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    58
    32
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Steak House”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a very busy, popular restaurant in Fort Lauderdale - best to make reservations. Good, friendly service but waitstaff is somewhat harried. We were four for dinner, tab of $220.00 including one cocktail, one bottle of red wine plus two additional glasses, tax and tip of 18%. Meals include house or Caesar salad and choice of potato. My husband and I shared the crab cake appetizer - very good. Two of us had the prime rib - very good, one guest had a small filet mignon with mushroom sauce - very good. My husband had the special cut filet mignon (eye of the t-bone) - good size but he found the taste bland. Finished dinner off with regular coffee for one and decaf expresso for another. Good choice for those in the mood for a steak or prime rib.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just so so......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

First I'll start out by saying that this place is old, feels old, looks old and smells old. With a 7:15pm reservation we were seated on time, in old wood chairs that I think were original with the building. They wobbled, so we were moved to another location. The food was hot, and tasty, overall I'd have to say use your money at places like Houston's or Outback at least they are in better shape.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“BEST PRIME RIB EVER TASTED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I recently arranged a birthday party for approximately 40 people at Tropical Acres. The food and service were both exceptional. Some said it was the best prime rib they have ever tasted in a restaurant. I highly recommend this place with a homey atmosphere and easy to get to location.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
simi valley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Old School Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Came in for a light bite to eat and a cocktail. Our bartender, Tommy recommended the sliders as an appetizer. Three good size sliders packed with filet minion beef. A real treat! The hand made fried mozzarella was good also. Met some nice people on vacation like us. Mixed in with the locals. Tommy totally took care of us with some great tips on Ft Lauderdale and made us feel like family. Will come again on of visit trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Acres Restaurant also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Tropical Acres Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Acres Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.