We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Acres Restaurant

Tropical Acres Restaurant
2500 Griffin Rd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312
+1 954-989-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $16 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: South Florida's oldest and finest steakhouse, featuring superior cuts of prime rib, filet mignon, Maine lobster, fresh fish, New York strip and other fine specialties. We offer a nice selection of seafood and Italian entrees as well. Tropical Acres is open for banquets, wedding receptions and company events or you can join us for cocktails in our intimate lounge.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Old school restaurant in Fort. Lauderdale - been there for nearly 50 years.

Good steaks and drinks, great service and location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    59
    32
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cooper City, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hollywood Firefighters Love Tropical Acres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

For the past eighteen years, the Hollywood Firefighter Retiree Association has held their annual spring banquet dinner meeting at Tropical Acres. The fact that the restaurant is family owned and passed down to Grandson and current manager, Jack Studiale, probably has a lot to do with the consistency of quality food and good service we've enjoyed every year! This past April 19th, we had our largest crowd with 121 folks attending. The service was just as prompt as always and the food was excellent. There was a family atmosphere conducive to people gathering and sharing good times. We are proud to call Tropical Acres our "home away from the Fire House", and plan to continue coming back every spring.
Bob Madge, President HFRA

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, Manager at Tropical Acres Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Bob, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Needless to say, Tropical Acres loves Hollywood (and Dania) firefighters as well. We are honored that the HFRA has chosen Tropical Acres as the venue for their Spring banquet for the past 18 years. We look forward to many more years of being a part of your organization. On behalf of the Studiale, Greenlaw and Tropical Acres family, we are forever grateful for risks and sacrifices that you and your fellow firefighters took to keep our city safe. Hope you have a great week!

Best Regards,
Michael Greenlaw
Tropical Acres Steakhouse
4th Generation Management
Michael@TropicalAcres.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So we gave a second chance.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After a bad first experience we tried this restaurant again. We did not take advantage on the offer from owner since we were not looking for handout. What a difference. The service was excellent and the food was great. We will be back soon. Nice to see local business take pride and appreciate customers. Good job!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Long time traditional family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're looking for great tasting food, excellent service, and a place to take your loved one(s), then Tropical Acres is the place. Piano music in the background provides a bit of class to fine dining. The "dress" ranges from business attire to sharp casual. All the entrees are tasty, but if you enjoy a great steak ... go for it! I had the house salad, with Gorgonzola cheese, followed by a 10 oz. Filet Mignon, cooked to perfection. Reasonable pricing for what you receive. I have also been there for many large group dinners, and the staff always catered to everyone. Hope you find this helpful for your next restaurant selection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“South Florida Fav Since the 1950s Stands the test of time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Our family hsa been going to Tropical Acres for decades and consider it a tradition. Love their steaks, seafood and ultra friendly service. It is a real gem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Acres Restaurant also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Tropical Acres Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Acres Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.