We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to be kidding me!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Heidelberg Restaurant

Old Heidelberg Restaurant
900 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315
(954) 463-6747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #140 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: German, Bar, Coffee Shop, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“You have got to be kidding me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We have been going to this restaurant for many years, once or twice a year. Took some friends from out of town last night, food is still good, but everything now is an extra charge. No refills on iced tea or soda. Want mashed potatoes instead of cabbage? - that is an up-charge also. Too many instances of this to identify. Server was good but uncomfortable with the ridiculous rules of the house. We won't go back again. The chef-owner needs to get into this millennium.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    92
    41
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Zer Gut !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Went because my wife and I had cravings for sausages. The building is older , a little small (low ceilings) but very nicely decorated. Service was very good, Wife and I had the Bavarian Bratwurst which came with mashed potato, cold potato salad and of course sauerkraut, it was delicious. The beer was nice and cold. For dessert we had the apple strudel with vanilla sauce and vanilla ice cream which was also very tasty.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We ate here tonight....close to our hotel. Nice hostess and waitress was wonderfully. Authentic German beer...good, and great food. They have other options if you do not German food, but go for it. My husband and I both had more food than we could eat! The stroganoff was delicious...finished all but one piece. Atmosphere is a little overdone, but still felt it was a delightful experience.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Old Heidelberg offers authentic German food, German beer, and German entertainment. Our group of eight thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The food is savory and abundant. Our group always goes to this restaurant the night before we board a cruise ship. It is a fun and delicious way to start our vacation. If you are visiting Ft. Lauderdale, you will enjoy this restaurant and leave feeling like you just had a little bit of visiting Germany.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Prairie, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice German experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Staying at a hotel closed to this restaurant, we decided to give it a try. Lots of entrees even if all of them are not typically german. So we asked our very friendly waitress to help us make the best choices for food and beers. We ended up trying different specialities and it was delicious. Had the pork goulasch (daily special) with tick noodles (I don't remember the name) and my husband had a mix of sausages and meats, the side of red cabbage is SOO yummy!
Desserts are good, black forest cake is full of cherries.
The decor is a little bit on the kitch side but we didn't care.
We had a great time and we recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Heidelberg Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Heidelberg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Heidelberg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.