We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food that truly embodies a real German meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Heidelberg Restaurant

Old Heidelberg Restaurant
900 W State Road 84, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33315
(954) 463-6747
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #173 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: European, German, Bar, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food that truly embodies a real German meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I stopped here with a friend for dinner on my first night in Fort Lauderdale with a friend. I ordered the Sauerbraten with red cabbage and spatzle ... It was excellent!! ... They also had my favorite beer --- Spaten Oktoberfest. We were provided with a complimentary Apple Strudel due to wait issues when we arrived .. Everything was delicious!! ... I am back tonight on my last night in town for another great meal... Duplicating my order!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    78
    36
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good service, magnificent ambiance,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

good hearty German food.

good German folkloric music on week-ends.

enough food to satisfy hungry family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Welcome to food paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

There is no one way to define German food. The cuisine is as diverse as the country itself - with each region having its own specialties. German food is very tasty; it is rich in tradition and history; and it can satisfy even the most discriminating of palates.

This restaurant is full of German feel, from the live music to the large pitcher of Warsteiner. You are sure to have a great meal and leave happy

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delightful German Food and Music!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Excellent German food, beer and polka music to sing & tap your feet to! My husband spent a year in Europe enjoying German food and thought it was very authentic. We were charmed by the casual, well used style of German décor. Very cozy. The staff was attentive and could make great recommendations. We started with a sausage sampler, then had pork entrees. Huge plates of food so there were leftovers to take away. What a great experience we had!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallandale Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good, but not Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very old established German restaurant, and it looks like it - tired, outdated, minimally maintained. Server was helpful and very knowledgeable of the menu items to assist. Swinehochsen was star of the meal, huge, hot, crisp outside and tasty. Jagerschnitzel was the low point, smelled like and tasted as if it had been cooked in old oil, overdone and not very tasty at any level. Combination platter was "OK", all of the sausages were tasty, but small. Most of the sides were small and over cooked and the red cabbage was way too sweet. Dessert was OK, Draft German beer was another high spot. Have other German restaurants to the North that we find better quality and price to consider returning to here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Heidelberg Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Heidelberg Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Heidelberg Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.