We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Sushi

Tokyo Sushi
1499 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-1719
954-767-9922
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #293 of 1,064 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Affordable Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I like this place. It's kind of a hole in the wall but the food is good and the staff is all business. I like their robbie appetizer and holiday roll. Good shrimp shumai. Great steak teriyaki. Salad and soups are very reasonably priced. If you like sushi and want to be satisfied but aren't looking for fancy decor try this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coral Gables, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unique and Different Sushi Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I love Sushi and always try to find new places which have the best fish. Recently I came across a Zagat rated sushi restaurant in Fort Lauderdale. The restaurant is very clean and the sushi is out of this world. One of my particular favorites is the Holly Day Roll 2 which has salmon, along with a multitude of other ingredients. On top of it is fresh shredded tuna along with some of their special sauces which makes this particular dish a sushi lover's delight.
Now, if you're not into sushi rolls, they have a large menu with a variety of other types of sushi and sashimi dishes along with some traditional Asian food which do not contain fish. The chicken yaki soba is very good if you're not in the mood for something more conventional. This place is very popular with locals.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good quality Sushi Rolls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

For a Wednesday night Tokyo Sushi was very busy, not only with tourist but also with lots of locals, ordering in and to go. It is well located, near the beach and also close to Fort Lauderdale’s airport. The quality of the sushi rolls was excellent, the service was quick and the atmosphere very warm. We definitely will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Quality Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in Fort Lauderdale for a couple of night and decided to give Tokyo Sushi a try after driving by a couple of times. I found the sushi to be very good quality at a very reasonable price. I was not crazy about the Spicy Tuna roll, but I think it had more to do with me preferring traditional rolls rather than rolls wrapped inside out. The JB roll I ordered was delicious and the fish was extremely fresh on both rolls. They seemed to have a good selection of specialty rolls but I decided to go with the basics on this trip. There ambience and atmosphere is average, and I found the service to be of good quality, nothing extraordinary. I would recommend this restaurant if you want a quality sushi meal at a good price, however, I would steer away if you are looking for a nice night out or a special occasion because restaurant could get crowded and noisy. I would eat here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Inventive sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Coming to Tokyo Sushi made me realize that we've been in a sushi rut. Same places, same sushi. This was great. It felt fresh. New, creative and delicious rolls. Not inexpensive. We chose three rolls and also the chicken yaki soba. The yaki soba was great, more authentic than other places we've tried. The sushi was very good, different. We tried a different sushi restaurant a couple weeks ago and were disappointed. This experience was the opposite. We liked it and look forward to returning next time we go to Ft Lauderdale.
The tables were full but the wait on our order was not long. Everyone seemed happy with their orders and it was fun seeing what everyone else was getting.
Nothing much to look at, it's located in a strip mall close to the cruiseport. No view, except for the satified grins on the faces of the guests.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Sushi also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Tokyo Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.