We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food- long wait” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q

Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q
1236 S Federal Hwy, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316-2067
(954) 522-5046
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 1,126 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food- long wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food was really good and the place smells amazing. Had to wait quite a while to order and the place was packed. Hard to have a conversation but I would say it was worth it. The food hit the spot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    74
    21
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Great BBQ - amazing flavor! Get their early for lunch as it gets so busy! Chopped pork is my favorite!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“GREAT BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just Good BBQ... Southern Smoked Sweet.
Been going for many years. I drive 10 miles out of my way to go there, I don't live near there.
Everything is very good,,, Ribs, Mac, greens and lemonade my favorites.
I dream if there food. Not the greatest Atmosphere. ..Just good food.
Avoid rush hours, And I think they are closed on Mondays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toa Baja, PR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sooo delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a great, if not the best bbq ever. I always get the spare ribs with colaslaw and mac and cheese. It is casual and family friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Barbecue in South Florida!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Whenever my family and I are in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, we stop by this restaurant to get some of the best barbecue around. I always chose the rib platter with greens, beans, Mac and cheese and ice tea. The only negatives are slow service and the restaurant's seating arrangement. But those negatives are more than mitigated by the great food. So I will give Tom five stars.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q also viewed

 
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Fort Lauderdale, FL
 

Been to Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Jenkins' Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.