We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Fort Lauderdale!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Southwest Cafe

Canyon Southwest Cafe
1818 E Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3040
954 765 1950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,123 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Fort Lauderdale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My night at Canyon was amazing! The service was impeccable. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly. The bartender started us off with prickly pear margaritas (a must have)! The bread was so warm and delicious. You have to order the Tuna Tartare for an appetizer. It comes on chips! i was craving mussels and I was blown away. The mussels were large and in a savory sauce. I dipped my bread in it and it was perfect! My boyfriend had the Homemade Rigatoni and was also blown away.

Save room for dessert, the chocolate bread pudding was mouth watering! We finished every last bite.

Hands down, best restaurant in Fort Lauderdale!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    84
    23
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Manager needs some customer service training, no manners”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Though food was good, the overall impression given by a guy who seemed to be owner/ manager was poor. He actually said a frase: DON'T BE LAZY, after I asked him to call us in when there will be free sits at the bar, because we couldn't stand on our high heals and went just outside the door to sit.
Because of their lasting all nite happy hour, this place get crowded to a ridiculous point. It's a tiny caffe with not more tha n 40 sits, and a bar with I think 8 sits. after we waited half an hour, he actually sat a couple right before our eyes who just walked in,friends may be? Then he bought drinks for another couple, and announced it loudly so everyone could hear. What a joke.
I even wonder if it is alowed by fire security standards to get this place so packed with people. Overall this situation with specials that they are running I think gets ridiculous. Either be sure you provide space for people, or limit amount of people standing behind you, waiting for you to leave already.
We won't be coming back because of it. Margaritas were good, but premaid and poured from a pitcher

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, United States
1 review
“excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were dining with my 92 yo mother and wanted something special for dinner. They don't take resos, so we were worried that she would not be able to wait very long for a table. I emailed the rest. and was advised the best times for arrival to avoid a long wait. We were seated immediately when we arrived, the food was well prepared, esp the lobster and chorizio flatbread.. The lobster bisque with the grilled manchego cheese sandwich was also very good. We had 4 small plates and shared them between the three of us. We also had two desserts and they were so large we couldn't finish them, even though we tried very, very hard. The creme broule was almost a double sized dessert. Will defintely go back. . , ,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Neighbourhood Gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Excellent Food, Great Ambience and Awesome Service. Canyon has the perfect mix for a business dinner or date night. Throughly enjoyed my first visit here. Plan to visit again soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Located next to the Gateway Cinema on Sunrise Blvd. in Fort Lauderdale. Its a small intimate restaurant with great atmosphere, very attractive & attentitive staff and most importantly with imaginative food! You choose from a great selection of tapas style dishes that are beautifully presented, we had Venison in a Blueberry/chilli sauce that was to die for! Along with a bowl of Calamari that was one of the best I have ever had plus shrimp/chirzio dumplings that were absolutely delicious followed by a Bread Pudding topped with cheese on a bed of Blackberries & warm sauce WOW! You wanted to try everything on the menu too, it all looked amazing, a really special & memorable evening, what a great find!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.