We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best dinner we have had in years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Southwest Cafe

Canyon Southwest Cafe
1818 E Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3040
954 765 1950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night
1 review
“The best dinner we have had in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We weren't sure about this place at first, as we are not huge southwest fans...but we couldn't have been more wrong! Each tapas dish was better than the last, and it was topped off with the white chocolate bread pudding with berries. Best. Dinner. Ever. Going back tomorrow night!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    97
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“Always a great night out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Always welcomed with a smile. Great service, the staff's knoweledge of menu and pairing of food and adults beverages makes it a no brainer. Food is great short rib and rigitoni. grouper with light sweet tomatos over green beans is a favorite. The lobster salad and tuna tartare are a good way to start. Been there over ten times for either cocktails or dinner and never had a bad nite out. Just try it once and you will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
“My new favorite spot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Within the last 2 weeks, I have been to Canyon 3 times. The Pricky Pear Margaritas are enough to make anyone come back. We had a chance to check out the brie and mushroom quesadilla + the pork pasta type appetizer. Both AMAZING! The Filet entree and Seared Tuna entrees are out of this world. I took my bf here for his bday dinner, and he wanted to go back the next day!!

Bottom line, high end food/taste for reasonable pricing. This will definitely be my go to spot from now on!! Our server was very knowedgable abd fun to hang with. Thanks for a great time Canyon!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Two out of Three ain't bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our second time at Canyon. The first time we had the Schezuan beef and filet mignon burrito and both were to die for.
This time we sat at the bar and took advantage of their happy hour prices. The service from the barmaid was excellent, as we're the prickly pear margaritas. Our first two appetizers, the chicken goat cheese tostada was good, and the second, shrimp and pork stir fry served over pasta, was the best of the two. We decided to order one more, the manchego tamale , which was a mistake. It was literally tasteless. I couldn't believe that this came from the same restaurant. So, because of that dish, our visit was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Food was great! Service was ok. I had the grouper. Prices were a bit high. But food quality was very very good. I also had the pecan pie. Wow!!

I will go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.