We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and great tequila” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Southwest Cafe

Canyon Southwest Cafe
1818 E Sunrise Blvd, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304-3040
954 765 1950
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,062 Restaurants in Fort Lauderdale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Late Night
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun and great tequila”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went here for my birthday dinner. Amazing margaritas. And fantastic tequila. The wait was over and hour but well worth it. We sat at the bar, ate some calamari and drank a few margaritas. The calamari was some of the best I have ever tasted!! The bar tenders were very attentive and great. The food was delicious. I would come here again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    97
    26
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ft lauderdale, florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Birthday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere is excellent, Service was amazing by Jeff. Food is always top quality. Was a bit surprised they didn't do anything for birthdays though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“My "go to" place for a great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have been to Canyon numerous times and it never disappoints! The food seems to be prepared with love, quality and creativity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“A true gem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Canyon is a quaint, cozy southwestern cafe on busy E. Sunrise Blvd. The restaurant has about 12 tables and maybe 10 bar stools. The ambience is great, food fantastic and service is warm but professional. We had a hard time choosing what to eat - the menu is so creative. The poblano stuffed pepper and tuna tartare were delicious; followed by the tenderloin burrito and short rib - yum! The prickly pear margaritas are outstanding - hard to not have more than one! Canyon is a great choice for a cozy dinner - you will get beautifully prepared and presented food in a wonderful environment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I ate here my last night in Fort Lauderdale. I started with roasted Maine lobster bisque which came with a gruyere grilled cheese. The bisque was excellent except for two chewy pieces of lobster. For my entrée I ordered Black Florida grouper (Serrano chili, lime marinated tomatoes, Serrano ham, and lump crab meat). The grouper was very good (slightly over salted). For dessert I had their chocolate bread pudding which was also very good. The restaurant was loud as the bar was very busy; however, this was part of the experience and I'm sure a great place to meet for drinks. Also, the wait staff was very attentive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Southwest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Southwest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Southwest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.